We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid stopover spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Banff Aspen Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A solid stopover spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you're looking for a destination hotel, the Banff Aspen Lodge probably isn't what you want, but if you're on your way somewhere and looking for a solid stopover spot for a night along the way, this place is it -- clean, comfortable and accommodating.

The hotel, despite some pretty extensive renovations to the rooms and the lobby and pool areas, remains somewhat dated -- old TVs and in-room refrigerators, a single small elevator and a steam room and sauna that won't have anybody thinking "spa." Parking is limited and the spaces are tight. The restaurant is downstairs and serves a complimentary continental breakfast to stay or to go.

That said, the people at the Banff Aspen Lodge are first-rate. They aim to please and they make the most of what they have to work with. We stayed twice within a week -- coming and going to our destination -- and the stay on the way back was far better than our first experience.

When I mentioned we had a very noisy room during our first stay -- it was either the ventilation system or some other inner mechanical working that weezed and howled like Darth Vader all night long -- the young lady at the front desk apologized profusely and informed the manager right away. Shortly after we settled in our room, she provided a note wishing us a better stay and two chocolate bars (winning our six-year-old son over) and checked to make sure there was no such noise this time around. That gesture went a long way.

The Banff Aspen Lodge isn't trendy, it isn't upscale and it offers no pretentions about being either. It is what it is: reasonably priced, clean and the service, at least for us, made up for the lack of amenities.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that the Banff Aspen Lodge team was able to take care of you during your time at the hotel. We pride ourselves on offering outstanding customer service and I appreciate you giving us the opportunity to show you this! Look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    340
    84
    29
    18
See reviews for
158
414
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carefree
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Like other reviewers, I don't recall realizing that this hotel did not have air conditioning when I made my reservation, but, then again, perhaps many hotels in Banff do not because of the climate. The first room we were given was on the west side of the hotel, so the sun beaming in all afternoon made the room very hot. Even a second fan did nothing to drop the temperature. However, the staff was very accommodating after our complaining (especially since the elevator had been broken for a week and the washer was out of commission for about that long as well) and gave us a room on the east side which, with the use of two fans, was comfortably cool for sleeping.

We found the staff at the front desk, especially Craig, to be very accommodating; even carrying our bags three flights upstairs when we checked in and then one floor down when we changed rooms. The breakfasts were good, although the same every day except for a change in the bread and muffins.

The rooms were clean and comfortable; perhaps a little dark, but who stays inside when you go to Banff, anyway? If you're driving, parking spaces at this property are tight and too few. The proximity to the center of town is a real plus for this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the East side.....it will be a lot cooler (the hotel has no A/C)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for the review! The hotel does not have air conditioning as we are an environmentally conscious property and our location in the Canadian Rockies means that the temperature generally cools off in mountains at night. I am happy that our Front Desk team were able to take care of your requests and that you enjoyed your sleep at the hotel.
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our first place to stay on our 4 week trip in June and we were delighted. It was friendly and comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful - plenty to keep you going for the day. The granola was particularly delicious, although maybe a little sweet for some.We loved coming down each morning to discover what the days muffin and cake were. The breakfast staff were extremely friendly and helpful even when it was busy. We managed to lock ourselves out of our safe and it was dealt with promptly and efficiently. The position is ideal, just a short stroll to everything. We had been warned about the construction work but didn't find it a problem at all. Our only complaint was that the room was a bit warm and leaving the patio for ajar at night meant being disturbed by the train whistles.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room near the back exit facing a side street. Was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Banff Aspen Lodge experience. I have passed your comments onto the Breakfast Room team and I’m glad our homemade granola lived up to its reputation :)
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

If it weren't for the renovation going on, our experience could of been much better.
But all in all, it was a good place to stay.
The staff was friendly.
Pros
1. great location
-only 10 minutes walk from the city center and 2 blocks to SAFEWAY for groceries.
Close enough to town, but not so loud.

2. rooms - no complaints!
I found it convenient that the vanity sink was located outside of the bathroom area

3. great continental breakfast
-had a variety of pastries, bread, yogurt, fruits, cereals, boiled eggs, juices, and great staff!

Cons
1. The parking area and outside of the property was under renovation when we visited.
So the parking spots were limited.
If you are not back early, you will need to find a spot on the street to park, which we really didn't have a problem with, however will become a problem if you have a lot of luggage to haul to and from your car.

2. the wi-fi was a problem.
It was hard to get any connection in our room.
Ours was on the 3rd floor, closer to the pool area.

3. NO air conditioning
We were there unfortunately on unusual hot summer days.
The first night we had our windows open, made our room somewhat cool, in exchange with interupted sleep all night! Seems like the hotel is close to the train station, and every time a train passes, you can hear the sirens, problably to warn the animals to get off the tracks!

4.elevator didn't work sometimes.
this probably had something to do with the renovation going on

5. the laundry room was out of service- again connected with the renovation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for the review. The hotel did go through a week where some of our amenities were out of order as we were waiting on parts. Everything is working now and the back parking lot is open, along with our underground parking garage. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s complimentary continental breakfast, guestrooms and central location!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The elevator was not working during all my stay, 2 nights. There´s no air conditioner and it was really warm. The parking garage was very difficult to park, very small spaces. I spent 13 nights in Canada, 6 different hotels, and definitely this was the opinion of every one in my group.
The good point would be just the location, which is good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. The Banff Aspen Lodge is an environmentally conscious property, therefore we do not offer air conditioning as the temperature generally cools off in mountains at night. I apologize that the elevator was not in service during your stay. Our Front Desk Team would have been more than happy to assist you with your luggage if you required it. Thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel itself is not what I would expect for the price. It is in a good location, but the management of the hotel itself is another matter. In winter they have heating but it was terrible on a hot summmer day to have only a very cheap desk fan to keep cool. For the price you pay you would expect air conditioning. We couldn't open the balcony door because it only had a cheap flimsy flyscreen, which shows a lack of security concern. There were other issues with the hotel that were not satisfactorily resolved. There was construction going on everywhere around the hotel which they didn't inform us about. I've recommended many places around the world but I personally would never go here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We take the environment we live in very seriously and thus our hotel does not offer air conditioning as the temperature is quite cool in the mountains at night. If there were any concerns about safety, we would only ask that you let the hotel know so we can ensure you are comfortable in your surroundings. I invite you to contact me via email at gm@banffaspenlodge.com should you wish to discuss the other concerns you had with your stay.
Sincerely,
Chris Barr- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very poor hotel, dingy dark. desperately needing renovation. Very small rooms, huge price (as is all of Banff to be fair). Breakfast was in a windowless dungeon, and not great. Staff run off their feet, trying their best. However two young people sat behind a desk watching two more senior citizens struggle with luggage without offering to help was not a good start. Bed very uncomfortable, and the fan was the smallest they could probably purchase. We were advised to keep the room cool by opening a window. However we were on a ground floor with direct access to the street, and construction work. Part of the spa was out of action, as was a laundry room and (we didn't need it - but an elevator too).

Room Tip: just dont do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I am sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations. Please know that the entire hotel has been renovated within the past few years to have a fresh, modern feel. Thank you for the feedback on our Front Desk Team. We pride ourselves on customer service and your comments will be utilized to remind our staff of our service expectations, as assistance most definitely should have been offered to these guests if it was required. Our guestroom patio doors can be left open with the screen door closed to allow for fresh mountain air flow; there is a secure lock on the patio screen door. We have also received the parts which have allowed us to reopen our guest laundry, small hot tub and elevator…boy it sure was a tough week waiting for parts! :)
Sincerely,
Chris Barr – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and just a short stroll to downtown Banff. All rooms are carefully furnished and decorated with panoramic mountain views. Amenities include 2 outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, gift shop, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, wireless internet ($), internet access terminal ($) and laundry facilities ($). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.