We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property was under renovation when we went so....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Banff Aspen Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Property was under renovation when we went so....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

If it weren't for the renovation going on, our experience could of been much better.
But all in all, it was a good place to stay.
The staff was friendly.
Pros
1. great location
-only 10 minutes walk from the city center and 2 blocks to SAFEWAY for groceries.
Close enough to town, but not so loud.

2. rooms - no complaints!
I found it convenient that the vanity sink was located outside of the bathroom area

3. great continental breakfast
-had a variety of pastries, bread, yogurt, fruits, cereals, boiled eggs, juices, and great staff!

Cons
1. The parking area and outside of the property was under renovation when we visited.
So the parking spots were limited.
If you are not back early, you will need to find a spot on the street to park, which we really didn't have a problem with, however will become a problem if you have a lot of luggage to haul to and from your car.

2. the wi-fi was a problem.
It was hard to get any connection in our room.
Ours was on the 3rd floor, closer to the pool area.

3. NO air conditioning
We were there unfortunately on unusual hot summer days.
The first night we had our windows open, made our room somewhat cool, in exchange with interupted sleep all night! Seems like the hotel is close to the train station, and every time a train passes, you can hear the sirens, problably to warn the animals to get off the tracks!

4.elevator didn't work sometimes.
this probably had something to do with the renovation going on

5. the laundry room was out of service- again connected with the renovation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for the review. The hotel did go through a week where some of our amenities were out of order as we were waiting on parts. Everything is working now and the back parking lot is open, along with our underground parking garage. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s complimentary continental breakfast, guestrooms and central location!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    335
    82
    29
    18
See reviews for
157
407
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The elevator was not working during all my stay, 2 nights. There´s no air conditioner and it was really warm. The parking garage was very difficult to park, very small spaces. I spent 13 nights in Canada, 6 different hotels, and definitely this was the opinion of every one in my group.
The good point would be just the location, which is good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. The Banff Aspen Lodge is an environmentally conscious property, therefore we do not offer air conditioning as the temperature generally cools off in mountains at night. I apologize that the elevator was not in service during your stay. Our Front Desk Team would have been more than happy to assist you with your luggage if you required it. Thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel itself is not what I would expect for the price. It is in a good location, but the management of the hotel itself is another matter. In winter they have heating but it was terrible on a hot summmer day to have only a very cheap desk fan to keep cool. For the price you pay you would expect air conditioning. We couldn't open the balcony door because it only had a cheap flimsy flyscreen, which shows a lack of security concern. There were other issues with the hotel that were not satisfactorily resolved. There was construction going on everywhere around the hotel which they didn't inform us about. I've recommended many places around the world but I personally would never go here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We take the environment we live in very seriously and thus our hotel does not offer air conditioning as the temperature is quite cool in the mountains at night. If there were any concerns about safety, we would only ask that you let the hotel know so we can ensure you are comfortable in your surroundings. I invite you to contact me via email at gm@banffaspenlodge.com should you wish to discuss the other concerns you had with your stay.
Sincerely,
Chris Barr- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very poor hotel, dingy dark. desperately needing renovation. Very small rooms, huge price (as is all of Banff to be fair). Breakfast was in a windowless dungeon, and not great. Staff run off their feet, trying their best. However two young people sat behind a desk watching two more senior citizens struggle with luggage without offering to help was not a good start. Bed very uncomfortable, and the fan was the smallest they could probably purchase. We were advised to keep the room cool by opening a window. However we were on a ground floor with direct access to the street, and construction work. Part of the spa was out of action, as was a laundry room and (we didn't need it - but an elevator too).

Room Tip: just dont do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I am sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations. Please know that the entire hotel has been renovated within the past few years to have a fresh, modern feel. Thank you for the feedback on our Front Desk Team. We pride ourselves on customer service and your comments will be utilized to remind our staff of our service expectations, as assistance most definitely should have been offered to these guests if it was required. Our guestroom patio doors can be left open with the screen door closed to allow for fresh mountain air flow; there is a secure lock on the patio screen door. We have also received the parts which have allowed us to reopen our guest laundry, small hot tub and elevator…boy it sure was a tough week waiting for parts! :)
Sincerely,
Chris Barr – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at Banff Aspen Lodge for 2 nights in June. There was outside driveway construction going on in the day, however the hotel clearly communicated this at time of booking. Since we were booked for the weekend, construction halted around 7pm on Friday.

The decor of the hotel was warm and chic, modern without losing coziness.
Staff were very freindly and helpful.
Our room was corner in the front and was very large with a nice balcony and big windows.
It seemed to be recently decorated (the clue was the LED lighting and the new look to everything)
Some other reviewers commented about noise in the front. Since the nights were still chilly in June, with the patio door closed, we didn't hear anything. When opened, however, late night partyers could be heard.

Breakfast was OK
Parking was easy

Summary
What we liked:
- Size of room (large)
- Very sound-proof
- Very comfortable bed
- The mini-fridge/coffee maker
- The great view out the front
- Water temperature and pressure
- General layout and feature of the hotel
- Overall value (compared to other properties in Banff)

To Improve:
- Change the old style CRT tube TV for flat screen
- LED lighting - some not working (maintenance)
- Add a kettle (small coffee maker poor at tea making)

This was our fourth hotel property stay in Banff and the Aspen is our favourite so far.
It's closest competition (for us) is the Ptarmigan Inn (which I reviewed last year)

Comparing Aspen and Ptarmigan
Ptarmigan wins on breakfast, but (as of last year), the rooms at Ptarmigan are not as nice (or sound-proof) as @ the Aspen
Aspen wins on quality newness and luxury of rooms
I was surpised to find when booking, that the Aspen came out cheaper compared to the Ptarmigan - Very good value!!

It's highly likely we'll return next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The road in front is noisy. Staff were amazingly accommodating and helpful. No AC but they do have a fan in the room; I only wish it had been larger. I'd absolutely stay here again -- but I'd also look for a hotel off Banff Avenue. I al;so wish they'd stop heating the pool in the summer. I went down hoping to cool off but it was like a bathtub.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that our team took care of you during your time at the hotel! The hotel does not have a pool; we have two outdoor hot tubs with fireplace. The hot tubs are kept heated year-round and are a very popular way for our guests to relax and rejuvenate their muscles after exploring Banff National Park. Look forward to seeing you on your next Banff Getaway~
Cheers,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My boyfriend booked a room for us for a weekend getaway for mid-July 2013.

Pros:
- The room was very nicely set-up, pretty big, and the beds were very comfortable
- The large hot tub was nice -- not that hot, but decent. This would be awesome in the winter or in colder weather. The small hot tub was under reno when we were there. No big deal.

Cons:
- THERE IS NO IN-ROOM AIR CONDITIONING. The room was probably 26ish degrees at night, and it was hard to fall asleep. The front desk staff were nice and gave us 2 fans to use, but it was really not enough. We were on the main floor facing the street, so opening the slide door resulted in a lot of street noise including drunken people yelling. Opening the slide door was a must to cool the room down a bit though.

Overall:
- I would recommend this place for the winter or in cooler weather, but definitely not for the summer. Even motels have in-room air conditioning, so I feel like for a $200/night room, it's kind of expected that my room shouldn't be an uncontrollable 26 degrees.

Room Tip: Do not stay here during the summer unless you want to roast. If you must stay here during the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and just a short stroll to downtown Banff. All rooms are carefully furnished and decorated with panoramic mountain views. Amenities include 2 outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, gift shop, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, wireless internet ($), internet access terminal ($) and laundry facilities ($). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.