We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Save Saved
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Banff
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a mid-sized motel located on the main street within the town of Banff. We were upgraded to a suite at no additional cost as there was construction activity going on at the backside of the hotel. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was comfy. The reception staff were nice and accomodating and allowed us to check as early as 10 am. The breakfast was the usual continental type but in ample quantity. Restaurants at walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors and on the side facing the road. Provides a view of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    305
    77
    27
    15
See reviews for
143
364
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I was in town for a conference for four nights. The Fairmont was sold out and so I thought I would give this place a try. I was very impressed. This isn't a luxury hotel, but it really had everything I needed. It was clean, had good sized rooms and the staff were friendly and helpful. The (included) breakfast was a great perk (great home made granola!), as was the free Internet. The hotel is well-located, in the middle of town, and a short walk to the Fairmont (or $8 cab or $2 bus). Overall I was quite pleased, and unless you are really looking for a luxury 5-star hotel, I would recommend this place to anyone— you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Although we only stayed one night it was great. We were there for a girls weekend and the room was perfect, the beds were divided but 2 sinks and the bathroom which left us with some privacy and each room had its own tv so if one was up before the other they could watch tv. The location was fantastic, close enough to walk to downtown and and all restaurants but far enough away from all the late night partying noise. Will be my preferred hotel for every Banff trip now.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in April as part of our Honeymoon trip. Our room was a fair size with a nice balcony. Good sized bathroom too and a very comfy bed. Breakfast was awesome - continental and lots of choice. We were disappointed as we only had this on one morning as the second morning we had to leave really early before breakfast. The staff were really friendly too. For the price we paid (£66 ish per night) - it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I always check tripadvisor and since this was #4 and available at $149/ night, I thought we'd try it. There were three of us in a double queen room and they charged an extra $20/ night since there were more than 2. Not sure why as the breakfast, while good, certainly isn't worth $20, even in Banff. We have stayed at several Banff hotels and this one is the second from the bottom. It was under construction and less than impressive on entering. The doors to the room were dirty with paint peeling. The rooms were small with a view of nothing. The bathrooms were tiny with the toilet roll holder falling off the wall. The beds and pillows were good. The first night was reasonably quiet but the second night someone's kids ran for 2 hours up and own the hall then until midnight the adults carried on their conversation at volume 10. Guess the sound proofing isn't the best. Breakfast has only eggs. no other protein. The breads/ muffins/ loafs and granola were very good. Good location. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We would like to investigate your review further; can you please email the hotel’s General Manager at gm@banffaspenlodge.com and inform him of the room number that you stayed in? Once we know this our Maintenance Team can fix the issues mentioned above.
Should any guests experience excessive noise during their stay, they are encouraged to call the Front Desk so that we can ensure all guests at the hotel enjoy a nice and relaxing night’s sleep. The hotel is currently undergoing some construction to our underground parking garage. This will be complete by June 30, 2013.
The hotel’s complimentary continental breakfast is being upgraded to a deluxe continental breakfast this summer; one day there will be bacon, eggs and sausage available and the next day there will be cold meat and cheese. This will rotate daily.
We look forward to hearing from you.
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

this hotel is situated in good location with Friendly staff, cool courtyard hot tubs w/ fireplace. Complimentary parking, wifi and breakfast. Awesome place. Walkable to down town. Good Value. Some underground parking, as well as street level / behind hotel.

Room Tip: stayed on second floor (213) small balcony with view of Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I’m glad that you enjoyed your time at the Banff Aspen Lodge and appreciated the value that the hotel offers! Look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#10 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and just a short stroll to downtown Banff. All rooms are carefully furnished and decorated with panoramic mountain views. Amenities include 2 outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, gift shop, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, wireless internet ($), internet access terminal ($) and laundry facilities ($). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.