We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Banff Aspen Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a mid-sized motel located on the main street within the town of Banff. We were upgraded to a suite at no additional cost as there was construction activity going on at the backside of the hotel. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was comfy. The reception staff were nice and accomodating and allowed us to check as early as 10 am. The breakfast was the usual continental type but in ample quantity. Restaurants at walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors and on the side facing the road. Provides a view of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    398
    95
    34
    17
See reviews for
179
474
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I was in town for a conference for four nights. The Fairmont was sold out and so I thought I would give this place a try. I was very impressed. This isn't a luxury hotel, but it really had everything I needed. It was clean, had good sized rooms and the staff were friendly and helpful. The (included) breakfast was a great perk (great home made granola!), as was the free Internet. The hotel is well-located, in the middle of town, and a short walk to the Fairmont (or $8 cab or $2 bus). Overall I was quite pleased, and unless you are really looking for a luxury 5-star hotel, I would recommend this place to anyone— you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Although we only stayed one night it was great. We were there for a girls weekend and the room was perfect, the beds were divided but 2 sinks and the bathroom which left us with some privacy and each room had its own tv so if one was up before the other they could watch tv. The location was fantastic, close enough to walk to downtown and and all restaurants but far enough away from all the late night partying noise. Will be my preferred hotel for every Banff trip now.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in April as part of our Honeymoon trip. Our room was a fair size with a nice balcony. Good sized bathroom too and a very comfy bed. Breakfast was awesome - continental and lots of choice. We were disappointed as we only had this on one morning as the second morning we had to leave really early before breakfast. The staff were really friendly too. For the price we paid (£66 ish per night) - it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I always check tripadvisor and since this was #4 and available at $149/ night, I thought we'd try it. There were three of us in a double queen room and they charged an extra $20/ night since there were more than 2. Not sure why as the breakfast, while good, certainly isn't worth $20, even in Banff. We have stayed at several Banff hotels and this one is the second from the bottom. It was under construction and less than impressive on entering. The doors to the room were dirty with paint peeling. The rooms were small with a view of nothing. The bathrooms were tiny with the toilet roll holder falling off the wall. The beds and pillows were good. The first night was reasonably quiet but the second night someone's kids ran for 2 hours up and own the hall then until midnight the adults carried on their conversation at volume 10. Guess the sound proofing isn't the best. Breakfast has only eggs. no other protein. The breads/ muffins/ loafs and granola were very good. Good location. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We would like to investigate your review further; can you please email the hotel’s General Manager at gm@banffaspenlodge.com and inform him of the room number that you stayed in? Once we know this our Maintenance Team can fix the issues mentioned above.
Should any guests experience excessive noise during their stay, they are encouraged to call the Front Desk so that we can ensure all guests at the hotel enjoy a nice and relaxing night’s sleep. The hotel is currently undergoing some construction to our underground parking garage. This will be complete by June 30, 2013.
The hotel’s complimentary continental breakfast is being upgraded to a deluxe continental breakfast this summer; one day there will be bacon, eggs and sausage available and the next day there will be cold meat and cheese. This will rotate daily.
We look forward to hearing from you.
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

this hotel is situated in good location with Friendly staff, cool courtyard hot tubs w/ fireplace. Complimentary parking, wifi and breakfast. Awesome place. Walkable to down town. Good Value. Some underground parking, as well as street level / behind hotel.

Room Tip: stayed on second floor (213) small balcony with view of Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I’m glad that you enjoyed your time at the Banff Aspen Lodge and appreciated the value that the hotel offers! Look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.