We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our choice in Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Save Saved
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our choice in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Whenever I make a trip to Banff I stay at Banff Aspen Lodge. The prices are good, the hot tubs are clean and private and the hotel is very close to downtown. The granola that comes with the complimentary breakfast is great too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Our homemade granola is very tasty…some even consider it ‘World Famous'. See you again soon!

Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    306
    77
    27
    15
See reviews for
143
365
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

When we drove up to the hotel and saw it under construction we were a bit concerned. But once in the building we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly, efficient and check-in was easy and quick. Our Superior Queen room was tucked away around a corner on the second floor and was very quiet. The room had been remodeled tastefully, and while small, was very comfortable. We had a view of the mountains to the north. The breakfast room was lovely and we were served our drinks by a friendly young woman-the food choices were good with boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, etc. One of the hot tubs was closed but the other looked very inviting. There didn't seem to be a lot of parking but we had no trouble finding a spot. The best part was that we were right on the edge of the main downtown area so it is an easy walk everywhere. Very good value for a busy resort town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in a room with a small lounge on the second floor above the hot tubs. We stayed early May so it was quite quiet. The rooms was clean and tidy. The hot tubs were very good and well cleaned.
The breakfast was excellent with a good choice and with great service.
They are upgrading the front of the hotel but this didn't impact us.

Room Tip: Room above the hot tub could be noisy if lots of people in there but they close it not too late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a great mid price hotel with several good features. 1. The breakfast was wonderful with lots of healthy choices. 2. The beds were very comfortable. 3. The hot tubs are lovely. 4. Location is extremely convenient to the downtown area. On the down side the parking can be challenging, the staff seems to keep changing and being offered an upgrade to "premium" room that did not suit the configuration we wanted was declined by us. Our view from the far back corner of the hotel was OK, quiet, but would have preferred to have the room we booked and for it to be on the front side.

This is good value for your money and the hotel is in the process of making some major renovations which we did not know about during the booking process. We did not experience any noise and the front desk staff is trying to accommodate guests to the quietest areas of the hotel. Renovations are not happening on the weekends.

A few minor problems with our key cards, etc. but overall a very pleasant stay. All the staff that we met were very friendly and working hard to please the guests. We would stay here again.

We used Banff as our starting point for driving around the area. It was magnificent with the weather reaching close to eighty degrees and it had been snowing the week before. Overall we had a fabulous visit to the area.

Room Tip: If offered a room upgrade, check out the configuration to make sure it will work for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We found the Banff Aspen Lodge to be good accommodation that was very affordable. The Lodge is located within walking distance to the town centre which is always a bonus. The amenities in the room could not be faulted with the bed being extremely comfortable. The Continental breakfast that was included was delicious. We would certainly stay here again should we find ourselves passing through Banff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didsbury Alberta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Took three teenagers to Banff for a tournament - this hotel was perfect location as it was a block away from the high school where tournament was held and within walking distance to practically everything. Staff was very friendly and the boys enjoyed the hot tub at night. Rooms were clean and adequate for our length of stay, which was just one night. We stayed in room 121 which had a king size bed and two twin beds, which was ideal for the group. I found the breakfast was adequate, but the three teenage boys were disappointed with the selection available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great hotel, close enough to the main centre, but just far enough away to not be right in the mix. Modern decor and extremely comfortable mattresses.

All of the staff were friendly, upbeat and helpful. Special mention to Theresa and Elise on the front desk. Thank you ladies for your smiles and playing along with our jesting.

Breakfasts are plentiful, healthy and fresh with friendly wait staff.

I'd go back in a flash.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#10 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and just a short stroll to downtown Banff. All rooms are carefully furnished and decorated with panoramic mountain views. Amenities include 2 outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, gift shop, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, wireless internet ($), internet access terminal ($) and laundry facilities ($). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.