We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Banff Aspen Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Escape to Banff!
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good location - nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was told that we had one of the best (superior) rooms in the hotel mainly due to the layout. I liked the room which was large with a sofa bed at one end and a queen bed at the other with lots of room in between. There was a fridge, safe and a large flat screen TV (no pay tv or premium sports channels). The problem with the room is that there is no a/c and although the heating was off for the entire 10 days we stayed, the room temp was above 25 degrees, effecting the sleep quality, which otherwise would have been excellent. The only way to cool down the room was to open the balcony doors but this made it noisy at night. The plus side was the free breakfast, a little limited but perfectly adequate (fresh fruit salad, cereal, bread, muffin, hard boiled eggs, drinks). The location is very good just a 5 mins slow walk to the main downtown area, just 2 mins to the ski bus. and 4 mins to the Safeway supermarket. The hot tubs became the meeting place each evening, very pleasent and was one of the reasons for selecting this hotel. Would not have problem staying again, but would probably chose a different hotel next time. Must add staff very helpful and friendly (we were asked if we wanted to change rooms due to the heat but we declined - so I guess it really wasn't that bad)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 240
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    345
    85
    30
    18
See reviews for
160
417
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

So in a nutshell, our experience here was amazing. We booked a superior room, and were upgraded on arrival to a Premium Room. The bed is massive, and the room was very big. The hotel in general is incredibly clean and quiet. Despite renovations going on in one small section of the hotel on the ground floor, it was very relaxed, calm and quiet the entire stay.
The room has a bath/shower, toiletries supplied, and a hairdryer.
We had a private balcony - although we really didn't use it as it was cold and snowing most of the time. The 'mountain' view, is not much. It's not really a mountain view at all (at least form our room). But, it really didn't matter because the truth is we came to Banff to explore outside - not from our room!!
The staff were very nice. A breakfast was good. Although the boiled eggs are served cold - not so pleasant to eat. A variety of bread is available for toast, plus oatmeal, granola, vanilla yoghurt, fruit, cereal, tea, coffee and juices (not the most natural kind however).
The location is excellent!! A very short stroll into town.
The spa is lovely. Although a little chilly getting in and out for us due to the weather.

An excellent stay. Highly recommended. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We booked our stay on wotif.com - excellent value!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I travelled to banff with my partner for a snowboarding holiday in early April.
The rooms at the banff aspen lodge were beautifully cleaned and spacious, and the staff were amazing - so friendly and helpful. Trevor in reception absolutely sold it to us upon our check in... His friendly demeanor made us feel right at home!

Pools looked amazing although we were out and about we really didn't get a chance to hop in.
Location is fantastic! 5 minute walk from banff town centre.
Choosing accommodation anywhere is hard, but especially banff- don't look else where, get in while you can !

The only recommendation I would make for this hotel is more parking, we found it a bit hard to get a car park after everybody had returned from a day of skiing at the resorts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 10 nights. We were in banff for a family wedding. Never having been to Canada before we did not know what to expect. The location is perfect. Whilst we were here we were not troubled by noise in fact we found the place very quiet. The staff were excellent especially the reception staff who were so friendly and helpful and made us so welcome.
We found the place really clean with comfortable beds and more than adequate breakfasts.
I would certainly recommend and would use them again if we go back to banff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Really pleasant stay. We were in Banff for a week's skiing with a family of 4 and had no complaints at all.

Rooms were clean and beds/amenities all as expected. Staff were excellent and made us feel at home, helping with all arrangements.

Hot tubs sometimes crowded, but always with friendly people. Breakfast (with world famous granola!) was very good.

If I had to pick on something the rooms/facilities are functional rather than fantastic, but as a base to explore the area from it is great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is a real jewel. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast and the most friendly and helpful staff we have ever encountered. Everything is in walking distance including great restaurants, shopping, ski shuttles and beautiful hiking.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed only one night, but the staff worked hard to ensure we were welcome and comfortable. Our room overlooking the Main Street was not overly noisy; it may be at a busier time of year. The breakfast was certainly adequate but not extensive, and the staff made sure there were never any tables unoccupied! The walk to the river and shops was just enough to stretch the legs. The underground parking was being renovated so outdoors it was; glorious weather made this a non-issue.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.