We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back for sure!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Save Saved
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Banff
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“I'll be back for sure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We enjoyed staying here very much. The room is pretty standard but comfortable enough, and the beds are soft. The continental breakfast is good, especially the homemade granola. The real treat are the two center courtyard hot tubs, we really appreciated the warmth and ambience of the facilities. The fireplace adds a great deal of beauty and coziness.

Banff Aspen Lodge really is within easy walking distance of the downtown (no need to move the car!), and that combined with a reasonable price and clean comfortable accomodations I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    319
    80
    29
    16
See reviews for
154
385
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had our room upgraded for free, we were so disappointed with our original room 126 - absolutely made our weekend. Great service, good location and a very clean rooms. The continental breakfast is well beyond expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked one nights stay here but due to a burst pipe in our room we were upgraded to an Executive suite, or condo. This wasn't actually part of the lodge but was located directly behind it. Added to this, we were also given a complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates to compensate us for any inconvenience. We thought this was really great, and Trevor was very eager to ensure we were satisfied with the arrangement. The executive suite was large and very comfortable. Only complaint is we had no hot water the next morning. And we missed out on breakfast due to an early start (breakfast is at 7am). However, we really appreciated Trevor's customer service but not sure I can comment on the actual lodge considering that we didn't end up staying there or using any of the lodge facilities. Great location though!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Banff Aspen staff are friendly, helpful and very accommodating. We had a minor problem with the bed in our room and as soon as the staff were made aware of it, they took care things immediately. When we had a question about a tour taking place in Banff, they checked it immediately for us and provided the answer. We have stayed in this hotel for about 4 days every spring for the past 10 years and we can say without hesitation that this is a very quiet hotel. You can get a great nights sleep and not worry about being woken up by noise in the hallway or from the neighboring room.

They have a lovely breakfast room with helpful, courteous staff that serve a superb, complimentary, continental breakfast every morning. They offer a made-from-scratch granola that is second to none! Lots of grains, nuts and dried fruit makes it so flavorful and wholesome! They also make delicious muffins and banana bread right in their own kitchen. Toast, fruit salad, yogurt, boiled eggs and juice/coffee round out this wonderful breakfast buffet.

This hotel is located one block from downtown Banff, so it is ideal for walking to a place to dine for dinner or going shopping. It is just two short blocks from Banff's one and only food court if you wish to keep costs down or you can visit the Spaghetti Factory upstairs in this same mall.

The Banff Aspen is well located in Banff and is truly a relaxing place to stay as our annual visits for the last 10 years attests to!

Room Tip: We are not aware of a fitness center. There is a beautiful outside hotpool in the center courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a medical emergency at 3:00 am and the night staff were a big help, especially Tyler who went out of his way to provide assistance. Great job.

Besides this, the hotel was clean with a great atmosphere, especially the out door hot tub after a day of skiing.

Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just got back from a ski trip in Banff and we stayed at this renovated hotel.I do have to recommend it for 3 reasons: Great staff, polite and always eager to help !great breakfast to start the day on the right foot and nice rooms with just the right size and space.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went down to Banff with my husband for the night and decided to stay at the Aspen Lodge. It was a poor decision we made to stay there. Most of the staff was rude and NOT welcoming, and looking back I feel as if the staff needs more training! When we entered our room the bed was poorly made and the room was absolutely freezing! Both my husband and I had a restless sleep due to the mini-refrigerator making noises all night until we had enough and unplugged it! The breakfast which was included was dry and cold! I honestly felt as if they pre-made the food the night before and served it in the morning.. I do not recommend Aspen Lodge. I personally will NOT be returning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to your expectation. The Banff Aspen Lodge takes great pride in the product that we provide our guests along with our extraordinary customer service. Our Front Desk is available 24 hours a day for our guests to contact should any concerns with their guestroom occur. I can assure you that our breakfast is not prepared the night before. Our team bakes our muffins fresh each morning, and our product is also fresh as we make our own granola. A continental breakfast may not be for everyone, but we have been very successful with the offerings we make. Obviously your expectations of our hotel were not to your liking and that is an individual choice. I trust when you return to Banff you will take advantage of the large variety of hotels that offer a variety of different options for our visitors.
Sincerely,
Chris Barr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#10 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and just a short stroll to downtown Banff. All rooms are carefully furnished and decorated with panoramic mountain views. Amenities include 2 outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, gift shop, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, wireless internet ($), internet access terminal ($) and laundry facilities ($). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.