We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Save Saved
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Banff
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Banff Aspen Lodge for four nights in March 2013. As this was a mid-priced hotel I didn't have very high expectations, and I was so pleasantly surprised! While the hotel is basic - the furnishings and facilities are not luxury - everything was in very, very good condition and very clean. Our room was very large, in fact we got a complementary upgrade. The bathroom was spotless, as if it has been recently remodeled. The carpet also looked new throughout the hotel. The furniture, while again basic, was in new condition. Free wireless and breakfast, a great in-town location making everything you want a short walk away, mini-fridge in the room, all made this an outstanding choice. The outdoor hot tub was great too - clean and enjoyable, we used it more than once! The only thing it was missing was a fitness room, and since I don't ski I would have loved to have a gym on site. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were very very pleased with this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants clean, quality accommodations with all the necessities provided in a good location. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a room with a living area, and it was fantastic! A sofa, desk, small eating tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
I’m happy to read that you enjoyed your time at the Banff Aspen Lodge. Please note that for your next visit, the hotel does offer discounted passes to the local gym at the Banff Centre (a 15 minute walk from the hotel). You just need to see our Front Desk staff to purchase the passes.
Thank you and look forward to seeing you again~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    314
    80
    28
    15
See reviews for
150
377
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel every year for several years now. The location is great, two blocks from shops and restaurants. It is maintained very well. Every year we can see the improvements, rooms being renovated, new bedding, common areas maintained very well. We love the spa area; that is probably the number one reason we select this hotel each time. The breakfast is perfect. The negatives - 1. This year when we checked in, the types of rooms we had reserved were NOT available and there was nothing else available. I just wonder why I reserved a specific room type if I can't have that when I arrive? We were given a room with twin beds and the twin beds were so short that my feet hung off the ends, and I am only 5'5". We were told that we could use the sofa as a pull-out, which we tried - the mattress on the sofa bed was about 3 inches thick - not useable...... 2. WiFi - this has been a problem at this hotel ever since they started offering WiFi. It is slower than dial-up! And most of the time, you can't even get on.... Last year we asked about the slowness and were told that they were going to upgrade. We just returned from our trip and it is just as BAD as ever. I have not encountered service this poor in MANY years. You can't check email, you can't log on to research something you want to do while there, it is just so frustrating! We found ourselves going down to the coffee shop so we could access information we needed.

Room Tip: When reserving your room, check before traveling to confirm that the type of room you reserved is wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I apologize that you did not receive the room type you had requested. Can you please send me an email (sales@banffaspenlodge.com) with your reservation details so that I can investigate this further? The hotel did upgrade our Internet last fall and the service has improved. If you happened to be using the Internet while the majority of our other guests were also using it, the speed may have been slower. Look forward to hearing from you~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Husband and I just got back from a nights stay at the Aspen, first time we have stayed there. We selected it based on trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed ! The checkin was fast and courteous, and the premium room we got was very clean and quiet. We faced the back side, not the street and it was perfect. The rooms are redone in a very modern, sleek style and I couldn't find fault with anything. The hot tub sauna and steam room facilities are some of the best we have found especially in the town of Banff. Next morning we went for the breakfast which was included, it's not extensive but was fine for us. He homemade granola with fruit and yogurt was delicious. All in all we got great value for the money and with its proximity to all stores and restaurants in Banff it's a great choice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street might be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
So glad you enjoyed our ‘World Famous’ homemade granola and your time at the hotel. Look forward to seeing you on your next Banff Getaway~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was located on the avenue and was a short walk to everything in town. Rooms are new, clean, and up to date with travel amenities ( mini fridge, coffee maker, iron ect.). The courtyard w/ hot tubs is also amazing. Staff was overly accommodating, going as far as keeping the hot tub open an extra few minutes for some sore skiers. Complimentary breakfast was average and the only complaint would the lack of large towels, it was kind of like drying with a face cloth. All in all great hotel and mixed with ski deal a great value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am happy to read that our staff looked after you during your stay! I have passed your comment about the towel sizes onto our Executive Housekeeper. Hope to see you again~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

far better than the 3* awarded, the staff on reception are all very helpful and friendly at all times, had our main dealings with an English guy who was very obliging, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.
RECEPTION STAFF ARE A TRUE ASSET TO THIS HOTEL AND ENHANCE THE GUESTS STAY.
Breakfast was just perfect to start off a day of skiing - do have a couple of suggestions though to keep more butter on the tables as had to keep asking for butter , also one useful tip would be to dress each table with a small jug of milk for adding to tea and coffee as had to either take hot beverages to the breakfast bar to add milk or take the milk away from the bar to take to our table ( i know that this is not the fault of the hotel as it is a private company who provide the breakfast service).
Excellent location
Room very comfortable, warm and quiet.
Hottubs excellent -
did not use sauna or steam room so unable to comment.
Overall a thouroughly fabulous time spent in Banff at the Aspen Lodge - would definitely stay again

Room Tip: we asked our agen to request a quiet room as had read one or two comments on tripadvisor about peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Banff Aspen Lodge experience. I am glad that our Front Office staff were able to help you during your time at the hotel. I have passed your comments onto them! The hotel does run our Breakfast Room so thank you for your feedback. It is a great suggestion to have the milk on the tables. We are always looking for ways to make things more efficient during breakfast; I will speak with the Breakfast Room Manager to see if this is feasible while maintaining Alberta Health Services requirements.
Look forward to seeing you again~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We came in very late and it was greeted by a very pleasant night auditor who gave us all the info we required quickly and then we were off to bed. The room was clean, quiet and in a good location. The breakfast was a perfect way to start our day with healthy options. I was very impressed with the friendliness of the breakfast staff as efficiently waited our table and provided us with drinks. Overall, although short this was a lovely stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Fantastic location, awesome front desk, nice little pool and great size rooms! All fantabulous and i would stay at this hotel again and again if ever in banff!!! My only downer was that the wifi was a bit shoddy in the room and had to constantly come down to the reception to use. Im sure that can be improved though :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
I am happy to hear that the Banff Aspen Lodge was the best hotel of your trip and I hope you are able to visit us again!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#10 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and just a short stroll to downtown Banff. All rooms are carefully furnished and decorated with panoramic mountain views. Amenities include 2 outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, gift shop, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, wireless internet ($), internet access terminal ($) and laundry facilities ($). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.