We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but could have been better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Save Saved
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Banff
Denver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice but could have been better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our room was beautiful and very nicely appointed and pretty comfortable. It fronted on a busy street with many buses going by but their noise had abated by the time we went to bed.

Towels were cheap and tissues scratchy and the hotel guide gave no guidance about how to use the internet. I finally had to call the desk to get the info I needed to use it.

Had a nice continental breakfast in a lovely diningroom filled with friendly travelers.
I would stay there again but they should upgrade towels and tissues.

Banff is so lovely that I would sleep in a tent for the chance to be there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I’m sorry the towels and tissues were not to your taste. We are reviewing their condition with our Executive Housekeeper to determine if changes are required. The in-room Guest Directory is currently being updated to include instructions on accessing our complimentary wireless internet. The Front Desk is available 24 hours a day to help and answer any questions that our guests have. I’m happy that you enjoyed your guestroom and our continental breakfast and Hope to see you again~
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    299
    75
    27
    14
See reviews for
141
360
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Me and my girlfriend spent only a night at the Banff Aspen Lodge and boy I wish I could have stayed longer. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by a very friendly and enthusiastic British man at the front desk who got us checked very quickly and recommended a number of restaurants and things to do in Banff. The room was very modern and spacious, yet still had the feeling that we were in the mountains with its wooden roof. Even though you could occasionally hear the sounds of the trains whistling at night, the rooms were very quiet (there was only one train that came through at night). The hotel is located within walking distance of downtown Banff making it easy to get to all the shops and restaurants that Banff has to offer. The free breakfast in the morning was a nice added value and all the staff were super friendly and amazing. We booked this hotel through Travel Alberta and very often will bundle hotel packages with either the Hot Springs or Gondola, if you can find these packages, they can help you save some money, especially the gondola. I would highly recommend this place to anyone, especially to those who live in the Calgary area and are just looking for a quick getaway.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east-southeast side do face one of the main roads into Banff, West side rooms are away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at the Banff Aspen Lodge for 2 nights. We arrived late at night and was greeted by a very friendly and helpful englishman at the front desk who was able to recommend several places to eat once we were settled. The hotel is located within walking distance to the main townsite, but far enough away from all the rowdy party go-ers

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our second stay at the lodge and was again very impressed. We were there for 10 nights and I only wish we had another 10! Room was large, very clean and well appointed with free safe, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, toiletries, tea/coffee making, fridge, tv, alarm clock, phone...what more could you possibly need? Housekeeping every day - some days she forgot the towels or glasses but hey, no big deal. Fab outdoor jacuzzis, a real plus after a day on the slopes, towels provided too. They have a steam room, sauna and cold filtered water plus laundry room - washer and dryer $2.50 each. Breakfast more than adequate - don't get how people complain about the breakfast, each to their own I suppose. Really friendly reception staff, nothing too much trouble. My only slight gripe would be the weekend decension of party goers who swamp the hottubs, they are loud and blatently drinking in the the tubs despite signs saying its prohibited - I am not a snob or partypooper but their 'excessive loudness' is a bit much. We also found that their 4am returns disturbed us but there again, we were near the lift. We will return....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Banff Aspen Lodge experience. We really appreciate your comments and have passed your feedback onto the relevant Department Managers to review with their team to improve our hotel’s performance. I am happy to know that you appreciated the outdoor hot tubs with fireplace; it is an awesome way to relax after a day of skiing or boarding! See you again soon~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here for 11 in one of the second level rooms with a balcony it was huge. The staff were always helpful The rooms were really spacious and the hot tubs were awesome. Best place we stayed in Canada!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alpharetta
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

After staying in 5 different hotels over the years this one is the one I will definitely come back to! The desk help was awesome, the rooms large and very well designed, jacuzzis with fireplace under the stars perfect after a long day playing in the snow and breakfast with the best homemade granola and baked goods in the nicest breakfast room I've seen all add up to a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Banff Aspen Lodge experience! The outdoor hot tubs with fireplace are an amazing way to relax at the end of your day and I’m happy to read that you enjoyed the homemade granola! We look forward to seeing you again and hosting you on your next trip to Banff.
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We read complaints of noise in this hotel, but we heard none! We planned a girls night out and found the Naturally Indulge package at the Banff Aspen which included two passes to the hot pools and a $25 gift card to Rocky Mountain Soap company... lovely. Because we'd already been to the springs, we didn't try the hot tubs onsite, but they looked really nice! We were happy to have a room with indoor access, on the third floor, and not right by the elevator. We were on the street side and went to the room and to bed early, and it was very quiet. The room was surprisingly modern, with wifi, a fridge, coffee maker, and also a kettle and tea (likely the British influence of the staff, which was very pleasant!). The decor was recent as well, with a sink in the entrance to the room, leaving the tub and toilet behind a door. They are very aware of their eco footprint at this hotel. We will recommend to friends and go back whenever we get the chance!

Room Tip: Higher floor, hallway access rather than outside was nice in the winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#10 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and just a short stroll to downtown Banff. All rooms are carefully furnished and decorated with panoramic mountain views. Amenities include 2 outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, gift shop, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, wireless internet ($), internet access terminal ($) and laundry facilities ($). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.