We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Banff Aspen Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel provides a very pleasant place to stay in Banff. It is located in the centre of town although is not noisy during the night. The room we had was very large and comfortable, although the bed was a little soft for our liking. The bathroom was a good size too and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful each time we spoke with them. Breakfast is provided and had a good range to choose from. Banff is a beautiful place to visit and this hotel is a great place to stay at a by reasonsable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Banff Aspen Lodge! I am happy to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and in Banff National Park. Hope to see you on your next Banff Getaway~
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    339
    84
    29
    18
See reviews for
158
414
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked this hotel for our final destination for our travels of Canada. When we got here by a very expensive bus (we later found out there were much cheaper and friendlier ways of getting into Banff!!!) we looked at the hotel and realised Banff is one big ski resort. We don't ski.

So anyway, the hotel was nice, we got given a double queen room as the room we had on the 2nd floor was smaller and a couple who wanted a view asked if we could swap. So we did, the room was huge. It was split in two so we basically had two rooms for the price of one!! The view from our window was of the tree with christmas lights and a mountain, not bad I thought!
The only down fall was, as it was on the ground floor it looked like anyone could walk in and we couldn't keep the net curtains undrawn as everyone could see in. But in the mornings you could see animal footprints on your window doorstep which were really cool!

Our room was right as the back, so we had to walk by the hot pools while people were in them which was a bit uncomfortable, and we had to walk into the cold back into another building to go for breakfast, it's not really connected, make sure you wrap up warm!

Breakfast was okay, museli, breads, eggs, fruits. The only downfall about breakfast was the staff topping up the fruit, but just pouring fresh fruit on top of the old fruit, so when you got down to the end, the fruit at the bottom and the juice was sour.

We got really nice butters, jams and breads though. I was slightly surprised at the porridge as it was salted, they didn't give you a choice so my friend had a bit of a surprise when she had a mouthful of porridge to find out it wasn't plain porridge but just salty.

The location was okay, Banff is just one road, there's lots of the same shops, stocking the same stuff. Minus the odd ski shop, Roots & Quiksilver shops.

Sulphur Mountain is aorund a 20minute walk up the hill, or a 10minute bus journey it was a $1 each way I think!

Lake Louise is around a 45minute bus ride, we caught a ski bus for $15 return outside the partamagon hotel. The bus drops you off at the Lake Louise ski slopes and there's a free bus which takes you to the chataeux and the actual lake. Becareful because if you're not used to gap year students or immature behavour the kids on the bus can really annoy you, espechcially when they start talking about innaproriate things, but the bus was just full of students so we were out numbered. But it's cheaper than getting the brewster we were told and you lose them after the slopes so that's okay :)

If you don't ski, people look at you strangly. They look at you like you have the plague. Well the gap year students do, which were like 95% of the people we met. Most people, including the hotel staff couldn't believe we didn't ski and we wern't there to ski.

The locals understood that not everyone skis and were really lovley to talk too, they spoke to us in the street if they saw us the next day or days afterwards and told us about little places and walks we could do to see the beauty of Banff.

The staff were friendly at our hotel, always smiling and always willing to advise where the nearest supermarkets were (there's a kwik save which sells everything you'd ever need!!) & where to find information and even helping you work out how to use thier washing machines.

They sell washing powder at the reception for $2 a bag, we got quite a bit so I'm guessing it would have lasted for about 3 washes. They also have a dryer too, so it was nice to wash & dry our clothes after living out of a suitcase for a while!

The beds were really comfy, and I had a really good sleep while I was there at night time, to get me ready for the long days ahead!

Just remember to bring your swimwear as there is the hot springs and the hotel have their own heated swimming pools which we couldn't use as I forgot my swimswuit and the shops were selling them at $100!!!!

I noticed that the hotel also has a print out of how much snow has fallen each night, the tempreture highs and lows and where it is best to ski.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for the review and all of your tips on visiting Banff! I have passed your comments about our Breakfast Room onto the manager for him to review with his team. We appreciate your feedback.
I’m happy to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. There are a lot of activities to choose from when visiting Banff and you definitely do not have to be a skier to visit in the winter time! There are many gorgeous walks to choose from, along with snowshoeing, sightseeing tours, dog sledding, skating, etc. If wanting to visit the Banff Hot Springs and you’ve forgotten your swimwear, they do rent bathing suits at the Hot Springs for a small fee.
Hope to see you on your next Banff holiday!
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

great location to banffs fabulous food and shopping. clean rooms can't say I love walking into your bathroom but not a deal breaker. Fantastic outdoor hot tubs great way to relax in the evening. Wonderful continental breakfast and the hotel has friendly helpful staff. this hotel is affordable and our go to place for banff on a budget

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New River, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A real treat to be located so we could walk to any place in town, well organized/clean rooms with beautiful views of Canadian Rockies, outdoor jacuzzi, healthy breakfast included and free parking. Hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Rooms on Banff Avenue (street side), heavy sliding door to balcony kept out all traffic noise, quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at the Banff Aspen Lodge for a couple of nights in September 2012 with my husband and daughter. Our room was gorgeous and clean (with comfy beds), and we were blown away by the continental breakfast, best we've ever had in such a lovely restaurant with fresh baking and homemade granola. Staff was helpful, accommodating to our little daughter, and we really appreciated the central location in downtown Banff. We were able to walk everywhere! Definitely recommend this first class hotel. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Banff Aspen Lodge experience! So happy to read that you enjoyed our central location and complimentary continental breakfast (including the ‘World Famous’ homemade granola). Look forward to seeing you again soon~
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Banff Aspen Lodge for a girls weekend away and we were very happy with our stay. We booked a Premium room which was spacious and had the most comfortable beds. The rooms have been extensively renovated and are now very modern and attractive and a great bang for your buck . Our room had a balcony facing the street which was great for the mountain views, people & animal watching (were visited by some elk the first night), but was noisy due to the traffic. We also found the rooms very hot at night so we had to keep the windows open, hence the loud traffic.

There are a couple outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplaces, which is why we booked at the hotel, but we were so busy that we didn't have enough time. They looked quite cozy, although not very private with the hotel rooms looking down on to them.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect, close to all of the shops, restaurants and bars. This was my first time staying at the Banff Aspen and it certainly won't be the last. For the price, you can't beat what you get.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your story! Look forward to seeing you again and hopefully next time you will be able to enjoy the outdoor hot tubs and fireplace.
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed here last year in december and were very pleased when we checked in. The Lodge is very nice and the pool is BEAUTIFUL. The lodge was in a perfect location. I was very upset though when after a day of snowboarding we came back to our go pro camera missing. We talked to management and were very persuaded they were going to do something about it. I had just bought this camera for my boyfriend for christmas for this trip. After leaving management did NOTHING about it. I was very disappointed about this. If you are staying here make sure to lock your stuff up. Cleaning service i guess is not very reliable. This is more of a younger travelers place. It can get very loud.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. The hotel’s Front Office Manager emailed your boyfriend on January 14th 2012 to follow-up in regards to the camera; I apologize if he did not receive the email. The hotel contacted the RCMP and they did a full investigation, including interviewing our housekeeping team. No findings were had from the investigation and unfortunately the Banff Aspen Lodge cannot assume responsibility for the missing item. If you have any further questions about the investigation, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Safety Deposit Boxes were located at the Front Desk during your stay to secure any valuable items and all guestrooms are now equipped with in-room guest safes. We hope that the loss didn’t detract from your holiday in Banff National Park.
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and just a short stroll to downtown Banff. All rooms are carefully furnished and decorated with panoramic mountain views. Amenities include 2 outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, gift shop, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, wireless internet ($), internet access terminal ($) and laundry facilities ($). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.