We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Banff Aspen Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ski & Soak!
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Toulouse
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Place !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Good hotel, well located close to the city center. Nice room, quiet, comfortable bed, excellent breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice little balcony.
I recommend

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    353
    87
    30
    18
See reviews for
163
424
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Behind an ordinary exterior, a very well run,quiet hotel :parking on site and underground.
Our 2 x double room had every add-on, and a fly screened balcony with chairs.
Two hot tubs, lend/give library, shop with gifts and stamps, lounge and a good breakfast

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The hotel is on the main street and only 2 blocks from good restaurants and shops. I had a economy room on the main floor. It was quiet and well appointed but very small. The bed was very comfortable. There was no chair in the room, just two small stools. The TV was mounted on the wall at right angles to the bed so it was difficult to watch unless you laid at the end of the bed. There was a notice saying that you would receive a $5 coupon for their gift shop if you "lowered your carbon footprint". I took this to mean not changing the sheets and towels each day. I later discovered that it meant NO housekeeping service. If you took the $5, you agreed to make your own bed and take out the trash. I needed an early breakfast (they serve at 7 AM) and I was told to tell them a day ahead of time. When I did this, I was told that a day ahead of time meant 24 hours. The hard nosed attitude of the front desk was most unprofessional. In the breakfast room, there was a sign saying that if you wanted to take food to your room, you would be allowed ONE SPOON and 2 napkins. How cheesy! You could not take food out except in plastic containers. When I showed up at 6:45 AM for my breakfast (hoping that they had relented during the night), no-one knew I was coming and I was told not to sit down and eat as it was not allowed until 7 AM. When I told them the mark of a good hotel is the willingness to be flexible with guests, they let me sit down ten minutes early. I won't stay with them again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for your comments. The hotel does offer an Environmental Incentive to our guests: if they do not want their room serviced, guests can receive a $5 voucher to our gift shop or donate this money to Friends of Banff National Park (a local charity). If you require your room to be cleaned daily (including garbage removal, new towels, etc), guests should not choose to be a part of our Environmental Incentive. In regards to the early breakfast request, we’ve spoken with our Front Desk team and fine-tuned our procedure to ensure this doesn’t reoccur.
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Aspen Lodge is well located (main street) and well appointed. It's clean and quiet and the bed we had was very comfortable. The bathroom was small and reminded us of ensuite bathrooms in Japan. We had booked a superior room and the hotel had confirmed this with us in April. In mid June while we were already on our overseas trip they advised it was necessary to down grade us to an economy room. They did not seek our permission or even opinion on this. On arrival at the hotel we asked for an explanation and all we were told was that the hotel was full. We thought we had a contract with the hotel for a superior room and that having booked 3 months ahead that we would have had preference over anyone who came later on wanting to book a superior room for that night. We complained to the manager who apologised and we did have the economy room at a reduced rate.
Then the ensuite door self locked, locking us out. A front desk staff member tried in vain to unlock it and had to call on other staff to get it open again. After this we did not close the door completely as we were concerned that we might find ourselves locked into the ensuite. Hopefully by now the door lock has been replaced with a more reliable model.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for the review! Unfortunately the hotel was overbooked in the room type originally reserved and the only guestroom available was our Economy Room. I understand this isn’t what you booked and apologize. I hope that the monetary compensation was more than satisfactory for you. The bathroom door has been fixed and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
Sincerely,
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011 via mobile

We traveled from Saskatchewan, never seen the mountains and found Banff Aspen Lodge through Expedia reasonably priced. Upon our arrival a young gentleman by the name of Nick helped us check in. He was knowledgeable about Banff and the surrounding area. Even though we had a room on the main floor (which I was not pleased about, as we were right by the pool and main street outside) he gladly changed us, and gave us a room on the second floor that was away from the noise and in the corner of the hotel. Our room had 2 queen sized beds, of which one we only used, a balcony over looking the mountains, and a decent sized bathroom. The rooms do come with a blow dryer (located in the closet) I guess some people didn't check that part, and a mini fridge. The pros of this hotel is definitely their staff, close to all shops, restaurants, and parks. Not once did we drive around banff. Cons- No air conditioning. For some people this may be a problem, but the patio doors slide open, and they supply fans. I did not mind having the door open at night, and the fans going. Overall we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you for the review and choosing to stay at the Banff Aspen Lodge on your first trip into the Canadian Rockies! The hotel does not have air conditioning: due to Banff’s elevation, the temperatures generally cool down in the evenings. The average high temperatures in July and August are approximately 22 degrees C /71 degrees F with the average lows of 7 degrees C/45 degrees F. As you stated, fans are available in all rooms and most of our guestrooms have patio doors.
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future!
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights. Superior Queen bed Room was triangular shape, and took a bit of time to get used to it. However fully adequate with good balcony. Noisy at night from outside and also the trains sound their sirens when arriving through the night.
This woke us first night but we got used to it.
All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Breakfast which was included was limited but standard good and very good staff kept it moving as room on the small side when hotel busy.
We enjoyed our stay and Hotel very well located in Banff, everything in walking distance.
Would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a King Bed then book a Premier room if a Queen then book a Superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you for your comments; it is good to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location and our staff. The hotel has 3 rooms with king size beds, so we are unable to guarantee this room type for our guests.

When the train is coming through the town of Banff, it has to blow its horn to warn any wildlife on the train tracks of the train’s arrival. This gives the animals a chance to move off the tracks and into safer surroundings.

Look forward to seeing you again~
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on two seperate occasions in July 2011. Excellent location ,easy parking, good service, excellent rooms. Breakfast is included but not fantastic.

Room Tip: Check the room rates carefully, special offers seem to come and go mysteriously
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.