We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, wonderful, attentive staff, great restaurants!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views, wonderful, attentive staff, great restaurants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The view is worth the trip! The staff are fantastic and we're very attentive, the food in the hotel restaurants was excellent. One of the finest meals we've ever had was at Eden, Chad, the manager and the other restaurant made it an unforgettable night!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us at The Rimrock.

Our service team has great pride in delivering WOW experiences to our guests and it is a pleasure to share your feedback with them.

We are pleased to hear you were able to indulge in our Eden Restaurant. Eden is renowned for its delicately crafted French cuisine, influenced by fresh local ingredients. Eden has been honored for the tenth straight year with AAA / CAA 5-Diamond and "Best of Award of Excellence" Wine Spectator awards.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,251
    583
    226
    90
    65
See reviews for
512
1,056
47
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The staff at the Rimrock are what really make a stay at the resort memorable. Everyone, including the check-in staff, the valet and the wait staff in the Larkspur and Primrose, made us feel welcome and special, even though staying only one night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us at The Rimrock.

Our service team has great pride in delivering WOW experiences to our guests and it is a pleasure to share your feedback with them.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Rimrock in the future.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great hotel - beautiful facilities; beautiful rooms; stunning views! Excellent food but the staff is not afraid to send you into Banff for dinner.

Great service - the staff genuinely cares about your stay!


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us at The Rimrock.

On your next stay we invite you to indulge in our Eden Restaurant. Eden is renowned for its delicately crafted French cuisine, influenced by fresh local ingredients. Eden has been honored for the tenth straight year with AAA / CAA 5-Diamond and "Best of Award of Excellence" Wine Spectator awards.

If you are travelling with your family you might want to try our Primrose Restaurant. It is a casual yet elegant Italian Dining Room. The Primrose offers a wide range of flavorful Italian dishes. Our children's menu will suit the younger family members. Our menu has a wide array of fresh Italian fare. Enjoy a delicious a la carte breakfast or our extensive buffet to start your day off.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Rimrock in the future.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Make no mistake; the Rimrock in Banff is one of only two large, upscale hotels with fabulous views in town. (The other is the Fairmont Banff Springs.) Both have their challenges and advantages. We've stayed at the Rimrock many, many times. They never remember us and never upgrade us, but we do always get the room type we reserved. This time the room was in good working order, well furnished and well laid-out. At this hotel, even if you don't get a valley view (a.k.a. the Million Dollar View), you still get something pretty to look at. There really isn't a bad view I don't think. On our most recent stay, service was just fine and room was in working order. Maintenance around the property was another thing altogether. With nearly 100% occupancy rates in the summer and brisk business much of the rest of the year, they have no incentive to keep the place up, but what a shame. It could be such a beautiful hotel. The outdoor area on the fitness center level has a lawn that desperately needs care and a good gardner, and decking that needs replacing or stripping and repainting; the wood rail outside of the lobby level loung on the balcony has dry rot and needs repair; hallways and especially service doors have horrendous scuffs, dings, marks and scratches that have been neglected; carpets are old and showing wear; fitness center has rattletrap, noisy equipment that is not Precor brand (as any hotel that charges these rates should have) and the room is kept far too hot for a safe and healthy workout (they claim that the air conditioning works but nonetheless keep a door to the outside open that does not promote air movement - during my two workouts there the temperature actually rose rather than fell even though I closed the door, and set the A/C to a low temperature and high fan speed); valets were prompt with the car but never opened a car door, offered directions, an umbrella or a bottle of water - just tossed us the keys and sent us on our way (our reward for paying $30/night for the service). Would so love to see management bring the surroundings up to good working order, sparkling and fresh, and keep it that way. Staff were all very friendly and nice if not well-versed on 5-star service (see above about valets; front desk staff did not inquire on check-out as to the quality of our stay) but there is such room for improvement. As noted above, there is no need for keeping up on maintenance when a hotel is running at nearly 100% occupancy but if they did, they could charge more and bring up the average room quality in Banff overall. How nice would that be?

Room Tip: Valley view is the "Million Dollar View"; mountain view is the less desirable view but sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience after your recent stay at The Rimrock.

We appreciate your feedback and a member of our service team will be in contact to discuss your experience further.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location, close to the hot springs and Sulphur Mountain Gondola, yet very quiet and well situated in a beautiful natural setting. The staff are very knowledgable and friendly, and provide a high quality of service. The food is excellent and reasonably priced. In my view, this is the best hotel in Banff. Had a great 2 night stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us at The Rimrock.

Our service team has great pride in delivering WOW experiences to our guests and it is a pleasure to share your feedback with them.

We are pleased to hear your were able to enjoy the Banff Gondola and the Upper Hotsprings which located within walking distance from the hotel.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Spectacular hotel away from the hub bub of downtown Banff. Sitting outside at Larkspur restaurant was a memorable experience. Prices were reasonable and atmosphere was unbeatable. Service was exceptional. Hiking up Sulpher Mountain (across from hotel) was delightful.
I want to be there now.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us at The Rimrock.

Our service team has great pride in delivering WOW experiences to our guests and it is a pleasure to share your feedback with them.

We are pleased to hear you took advantage of the close by hiking trail to Sulphur Mountain. For those who do not like to hike, the Banff Gondola will also allow you access to the Top of the mountain from where you can enjoy some spectacular views of the surrounding area.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer County
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have stayed in many hotels over the years in Banff and The Rimrock Resort is our favorite. We have children ages 9 & 11, so a pool is mandatory. The Rimrock Resorts indoor pool is always a hit. The cleanliness is very important to us and again the Rimrock delivers. What I like the most is the beauty and ambience of the hotel. The location is not close to downtown Banff but they do offer a transportation service, though we have never used it. We always bring our car and self parking is $16.00/night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us at The Rimrock.

Our service team has great pride in delivering WOW experiences to our guests and it is a pleasure to share your feedback with them.

It is great to hear that your kids enjoy our indoor pool. Our Spa and Fitness Area also offers a fully equipped gym as well as a squash court, hot tub, sauna and steam room.

We do provide complimentary bus passes to all of our guests to the Roam Public Transit System. With the bus stop being right by the hotel it offers our guests a comfortable and easy commute into the town of Banff without having to worry about finding parking downtown.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.