We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the mountains of Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Clane, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the mountains of Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I booked to stay here because it was my first visit to Banff and I wanted to experience the views in full effect. We payed extra for a mountain view room and it was definitely worth it. I booked through the hotel directly which I would highly recommend as they are helpful and will give you the best deal around. The bed was very large and comfortable, the room was clean and modern (bathroom wasn't amazing but I am aware they are doing these up.) They mentioned their might be noise from 8am due to construction but I never heard or witnessed any of it. There is a good selection of bars and eateries. Love the decor of the hotel and the shuttle bus availability. I was surprised by the lack of grandness and slight messiness of the check in/concierge counter area (that's just me being picky and ocd though). Would visit again.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are delighted that you chose to stay with us on your first visit to Banff. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience and were able to enjoy a selection of our outlets.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the property on your next visit to Banff!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    587
    226
    90
    65
See reviews for
515
1,062
47
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stay in Rim Rock hotel every year. It's the most beautiful place!!! Servises are excellent ! Primrose restaurant is very advanced with the gluten and dairy options and healthy choices in the menu. Morning breakfast buffet was excellent ! This is second time we booked bed and breakfast- good value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are honoured that you continue to come back and visit us each year, and delighted that we continue to meet and exceed your expectations!

We look forward to your next stay!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our family decided to take a quick whisk away to Banff for the Easter Long Weekend and were thrilled with our stay at the Rimrock Resort Hotel. The room was lovely, the hotel has terrific amenities and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Kudos to the staff for planning some terrific family-friendly Easter events (our son loved the craft time & egg hunt) and an especially big thank you for allowing us to use the squash courts (called ahead to ensure they weren't booked) for a little after dinner soccer with our son...all the amenities we could ask for and he was most excited about playing soccer in the "big gym" (he's five). Our waiter in the Primrose was delightful (Chas) and we greatly appreciated is warm welcome our first night.

We took advantage of the close proximity to Sulpher Mountain and the hot springs, and greatly appreciated the complimentary bus pass to catch our rides to and from downtown.

Our little trio had a fantastic time, thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are delighted that you were able to join us over Easter Weekend and take advantage of the great Easter events we had happening at the hotel. Holidays are always a big deal for us at The Rimrock and we are always excited to share the experience with our guests.

We look forward to your next stay! Perhaps you can join us for Christmas when Santa drops by with presents for each child staying at The Rimrock.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hotel rooms were a great size for premium room. Very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean. The hot tub and pool were very enjoyable and large to accommodate a lot of people (didn't feel crowded in the hot tub). The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to your next stay!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was my second visit to the Rimrock - both times have been for business. As a business hotel it is excellent. The conference facilities are great and the food served for the various meals during the conference (2 days, 5 meals) was superb
Staff are very friendly - everyone will great you and ask how you are doing.
Room was immaculate and well stocked. However, cleaning did not come around to my room until 3:05pm at which time I was taking a quick nap between meetings. This was surprising, as I would have expected them to service the room much earlier as I had seen them in the hall when I left for an 8am meeting.
Pillows are terrible. Beds are comfy but the pillows are disappointing.
Parkade is HORRIBLE! There are about 20 spots above ground for parking but these are almost always taken. So if you drive anything bigger than a Mini Cooper, getting in & out of the parkade is a challenge. Thankfully everyone is super cautious when using the parkade because it is TIGHT! I drive a smaller pickup and it took some considerable skill to get in in, find a parking spot where it fit & then get back out again as corners are also tight.
Several shops & restaurants in the hotel which provide good quality goods & food, but at Banff (inflated) prices.
Located about 3km up the hill from Banff proper, so you will need to drive down in to town, or take the ROAM (Banff bus) - the Rimrock will give you complimentary bus passes. No walking trail which is too bad as it would be a lovely walk and it's a little dangerous to chance walking down the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review from your recent stay with us. We are proud of our service team and pleased that they provided you with the service level expected. Our Rooms team works very hard to service all of our guestrooms between the hours of 9am and 5pm, and are always pleased to provide service to your guestroom on request, if a specified time of day would work best for you. We keep a selection of pillows on hand at the hotel to accommodate your need for either soft or firm pillows.

We would be happy to make notes of your preferences and ensure that we can meet them prior to your next arrival. Please contact one of our reservation service professionals to ensure that we can exceed your expectations on your next stay!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Banff is only 1 hour and 20 min from Calgary. We took a shuttle from the airport that dropped us off at the hotel. The hotel is wonderfully located with spectacular views of the Canadian Rockies and only a few steps away from the Banff Hot Springs. The skiing, food and accommodations were wonderful.
Highly recommended trip for short or long periods.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are delighted your enjoyed your ski vacation with us and pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of the Banff Upper Hot Springs while staying with us. It is a great way to end a day at the ski hill, resting in the natural hot pools located in the Canadian Rockies.

We look forward to your next visit!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

when you are as empty as you were, why not upgrade people for PR???
Cost you nothing and may just get you a long term returning client.
You could also give some discounts on parking and have some specials on food and drinks

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us. We have great pride in being able to provide our guests with a number of guestroom selections at the hotel. We consistently share promotions with our guests which will allow you to benefit from complimentary upgrades, complimentary parking, and discounted food and beverage. We encourage you to visit our website to discover our current and upcoming promotions to ensure that you are able to find the best one for you. Our reservations team will also be pleased to assist you in finding the best option for your stay with us.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.