We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views Poor Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for free!
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views Poor Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We generally stay at this hotel as it is quiet ,clean and has a great setting. The staff as a whole are young and somewhat inexperienced but try very hard. The one disappointment is the supper menu and food quality in the Primrose dining room. As the last three experiences have been very poor we would not recommend eating supper at the hotel dining room but rather at one of the good spots in town. The facilities at the hotel are first rate and we will continue to stay there in future trips.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your experience with us. A member of our Food and Beverage Management team will be in contact with you to discuss your dining experience personally.

We look forward to your next stay!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,349
    618
    244
    96
    68
See reviews for
570
1,126
48
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinch Peck
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

2 weeks booked here for snowboarding in the Rockies. good looking hotel, rooms generally very clean and tidy, heating temperamental as was service. book this hotel if it is full and you will get that 5 star experience, if it is not full you will be let down.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
It is disheartening to read that we missed vital service components that would have allowed us to meet and exceed the service level we expect our team to achieve. We have tremendous pride in our service levels and we spend a great deal of time training our associates. Our goal is to provide professional, friendly and efficient service, so it is disappointing to hear this was not what you experienced. I have shared your comments with my Service team to show the importance of being focused and to always extend a warm and sincere welcome to our guests. I sincerely apologize for any discourteous service that you received upon arrival.

We hope that you will return to the hotel to experience a True Rimrock Experience.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Good hotel but in need of updating. The bathroom in particular is very dated. A hair dryer circa 1970 and an old shower curtain. The hotel has just started to refurbish the bathrooms.
We paid an extra $50 a night to get a mountain view, which was spectacular, but other than a robe we gained nothing over a standard room. No radio or docking station.
On the plus side, the staff are very friendly, the lobby is very welcoming, as is the roaring log fire and the food is excellent.
You also get a free bus pass to take you to and from Banff town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are glad that you were able to join us on your most recent trip to the Rockies and that you were able to indulge in the Premium views from the hotel. We appreciate your feedback on amenities that you would like to see us move towards having in our guestrooms, and truly take your feedback into account.

We look forward to your next visit!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Went out skiing for the weekend and stayed at the Rimrock. Everything was wonderful. The setting is amazing and the staff is extremely friendly. Breakfast was great and not as expensive as some other restaurants . I would highly recommend the Rimrock.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are glad that you were able to join us for a ski weekend, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

beautiful hotel, built in the side of Sulphur Mountain. Spectacular views of Mount Rundle. Rooms are spacious and beds very comfortable. Bathroom needed upgrading. Eden restaurant was spectacular. Beautiful lobby bar where you can have a drink or a light meal with a great view. Primrose dining room had great pasta bar on Wednesday evening.

Room Tip: room with a view of the Bow Valley. worth the cost of upgrading which wasn't much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are pleased that you were able to join us, and that you were able to take advantage of dining in Eden, our 5-diamond dining room. We hope you were able to indulge in the wine pairing.

We look forward to your next stay!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We loved our stay at the Rimrock! The staff was friendly and had advised us of the renovations and made sure we wouldn't hear any noise (and we didn't). To be honest though the only aspects of the resort that seemed dated were the hallways to the rooms and the bathrooms in the rooms. The room itself was not outdated however we've talked to someone who recently saw a renovated room and said they are amazing. What we found even more impressive was how clean the room was. We used to own a maid service and have stayed in many hotels and high end cruise ships. The attention to detail as it related to the cleanliness of our room at The Rimrock simply blew us away!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your trip with us and are pleased to share that we are currently undergoing renovations to all of our Standard and Premium guestroom washrooms. We look forward to sharing the final product with you!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlock, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I so enjoyed the total experience at this hotel. From the time we appeared until we left, we were truly treated like royalty.
Our room, the Grandview, overlooked the Bow Valley. Comfortable chairs by the huge windows allowed us to sit, enjoy a glass of wine, and watch the changing light on the mountains. It doesn't get any better than this! The room was large, well appointed and everything we might need was there.
We experienced the buffet breakfast as well as dinner- excellent food and professional and friendly staff attending us! The view from the Primrose Restaurant was amazing!
We truly felt like family ..... It was warm and pleasant .....
Guests can obtain a free pass to take the bus to downtown Banff.
When you visit Banff, stay here ..... You will be glad that you did!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us. We truly aim to provide you a home away from home and when we hear you felt like family we know that we are doing it right!

We look forward to your next stay.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.