We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip with 8 month old” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Family trip with 8 month old”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Hotel:
Pros
-Friendly staff
-Clean
-Underground heated parking (you do have to pay but I had a package deal that included parking)
-Bus stop right out front of the hotel to go downtown. This was super easy even with an 8mth old in a stroller. Very convenient and no stress about finding parking downtown.
-Easy check out from t.v. in room and we were able to see our bill at anytime using the t.v.

Cons
-Elevators can be slow and are old. The south wing elevator smelled like propane a lot of the time when catching it from the 4th floor.
-Super expensive movie rentals. One movie was 16.99!! That is more than going to the movie theatre to see a 3D movie. They did have some for 4.99 but nothing we wanted to see.
-Carpet is a bit dated

The Room:
Pros
-Good view (room 479)
-Clean
-Close to spa/pool
-Had two sinks
-They brought a playpen for our daughter to sleep in and it was clean and in good condition
-In room safe to put valuables

Cons
-Was cold until we figured out how to turn off the fan that was blowing cold air onto the bed. Once the fan was off it was a little hot but we just turned the fan back on to cool it off a bit.
-One of our sinks wouldn't drain
-Bathroom is small and the shower head was lower than expected but these weren't that much of an issue

Pool:
Pros
-Easy access
-Good hours of service
-Pool was a little cold when we went around 8pm but seemed warmer the next morning when we went around 10am
-Not crowded (Not sure how it would be during high season or weekends. We went mid week and there were only 2 other people swimming)

Cons
-As stated above pool felt a little cold when swimming after 8pm
-A little small if it had been busy

Restaurants:
Primrose
-It was closed when we were there but the food was being served at the Larkspur. We ordered the Chicken Pesto pasta and it was absolutely terrible. It was ridiculously over priced and we were very disappointed!
-We also ordered a chocolate milkshake and it was basically just cold milk. It didn't taste like chocolate and was a very thin consistency and not worth the $8.00 charge.

Larkspur
-Excellent food (we had the Rimrock burger and it was absolutely delicious). The fries were excellent as well
-Good service and beautiful view
-Food was well priced, about the same cost as eating at an Earls

Traveling with an 8month old to this hotel:
Pros
-Restaurant and staff were helpful with the baby (playpen for baby to sleep in provided and they had high chairs/booster seats at the restaurant)
-Parking was heated and underground which helped with the cold weather
-Baby was able to use the pool
-In hotel convenience store if you need to purchase items
-Fridge in room to put baby food and formula in
-Walking distance to the Gondola and the Hot Springs. We didn't have to spend time strapping the baby into her carseat to get to the hot springs. We just put her in her stroller and we were there in less than 10 minutes.

Cons
-Finding a bathroom to change baby in. The Primrose had a very nice bathroom with a change table. However, the night that it was closed I had difficulty finding a washroom with a change table. I ended up having to change my baby on the floor of the washroom.

We would definitely stay at this hotel with our baby again! I was worried about how far from downtown Banff it was with a baby. However, with the free bus pass provided and the bus stop right outside the hotel door it was super easy. I would recommend bringing an umbrella stroller rather than a full size stroller.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience after your recent trip to the Rimrock. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on areas which we can implement change, and also what we are already doing well.

We look forward to your next stay with us!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    587
    227
    91
    65
See reviews for
520
1,064
47
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Quiet, comfortable, friendly. We look forward to staying here and have always enjoyed being here. My family loves the atmosphere as well as the pool and squash court. The view across the valley to Rundle and Tunnel MT are just fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We appreciate your loyalty and are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent trip to us.

We look forward to your next stay!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

If only for the view from your well appointed room, would I advise anyone to stay at the Rimrock, but, they go beyond, just great location, super service, on every level, from the first moment you step into the lobby, from a warm cheerful greeting getting out of your car at the entrance. Beautiful lobby, and efficient, friendly check in staff, will accommodate, and upgrade if you wish any special requests if they are able. We stayed here for our 40th Wedding Anniversary, it was most special. Even as we finished our room service breakfast looking out over gorgeous scenery that takes your breath away, they will follow up and ask if all was to our liking, is there anything else they can do? We've stayed at the Banff Fairmont, and have never had the degree of service as the Rimrock, provides. Follow with a glorious dinner at the Poppy Room, with views over the "other" side of the hotel, spa facilities that are incredible, will all make for a most memorable and pleasing visit. The hotel's pubs, bars, delightful, an afternoon tea along with easy, parking, easy walk to the Upper Springs and the gondola, make provide great locsation, and always with that extra effort to please, making your stay all the more wonderful. They bring the best of hospitality, to everyone, and if you are lucky enough to be able to stay more than one night, do so , as you will find it is most pleasing, with modern, design, everywhere, flowers, beautiful wood, and of course that view, you will find this hotel one of the most delightful accomodations you will have ever had the pleasure of taking.

Room Tip: At check-in, ask for rooms higher up, looking over the Rundle, or the valley, but any room will deli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed every part of your stay, and were able to take advantage of the great food, views, and service from our team. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to contribute to a special 40 years together! Happy Anniversary and we look forward to celebrating 41 with you!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed at the rimrock this time during a conference. Hotel was nice and would have expected that. Service and food were very good. The front staff even gave us a ride to an off site restaurant at another hotel one evening.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for joining us for your conference in the Rockies! We hope you will be able to visit soon for a leisure trip!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I'ved always wanted to visit the Rimrock Resort Hotel and used my birthday as an excuse to to book a ski weekend. I wanted quiet time so I picked a hotel that was far from the bars, pubs and shops of Banff.

This place has immaculate service. From the moment our car pulled up in the front, we handed over our keys to the valet and he took care of the vehicle. We walked in and was greeted with friendly and professional staff to check us in. The place was busy, hosting both international tourists and local weekenders.

Our hotel room was huge and comfortable. For those who expect modern furnishings or decor, better luck at a boutique hotel. If what you are looking for is a comfortable space or lodging to appreciate nature, then you're in luck. Although we had an obstructed view covered by trees, our window was large and it gave me a cozy feeling as if we was nestled in a forest. And we went downstairs to the lounge and stared at the mountains in awe.

Amenities in the room were standard with coffee maker, flat screen tv, and safe.

Hot tub, gym and pool were available for hotel guests. Also nice to enjoy a latte and a croissant at their little coffee shop.

And yes, ski shuttles do pick up here and you are also not far from the hot springs. If you don't drive, there is a bus stop in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: If the view is important, ask for an unobstructed window view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are delighted that you were able to join us for a ski get-away, and more so a Birthday celebration! Our team takes great pride in delivering great WOW experiences to our guests and we love to hear your feedback and share your comments with our team!

We look forward to your next stay, and hope to have you for next year's Birthday celebration!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed at the Rimrock for a family/business trip. Service was excellent as usual and staff was friendly and helpful. Lounge is amazing to have a drink and room service was very good. Enjoyed our stay -- as usual.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to find some time to spend with your family while here on business.

We look forward to your next stay!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Everything is okay like always short time this time ,I'll be back pretty soon ,next month probably so I'll see you soon bye-bye. The people there are always wonderful with us and always recommend my friends to go there ,yes it's a good location and I always have a good time there with friends ore Family.
Thanks to all

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.