We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rimrock Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Banff
Airdrie
2 reviews
“Rimrock Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Quiet, comfortable, friendly. We look forward to staying here and have always enjoyed being here. My family loves the atmosphere as well as the pool and squash court. The view across the valley to Rundle and Tunnel MT are just fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We appreciate your loyalty and are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent trip to us.

We look forward to your next stay!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    987
    478
    191
    79
    51
See reviews for
415
831
39
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Powhatan, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

If only for the view from your well appointed room, would I advise anyone to stay at the Rimrock, but, they go beyond, just great location, super service, on every level, from the first moment you step into the lobby, from a warm cheerful greeting getting out of your car at the entrance. Beautiful lobby, and efficient, friendly check in staff, will accommodate, and upgrade if you wish any special requests if they are able. We stayed here for our 40th Wedding Anniversary, it was most special. Even as we finished our room service breakfast looking out over gorgeous scenery that takes your breath away, they will follow up and ask if all was to our liking, is there anything else they can do? We've stayed at the Banff Fairmont, and have never had the degree of service as the Rimrock, provides. Follow with a glorious dinner at the Poppy Room, with views over the "other" side of the hotel, spa facilities that are incredible, will all make for a most memorable and pleasing visit. The hotel's pubs, bars, delightful, an afternoon tea along with easy, parking, easy walk to the Upper Springs and the gondola, make provide great locsation, and always with that extra effort to please, making your stay all the more wonderful. They bring the best of hospitality, to everyone, and if you are lucky enough to be able to stay more than one night, do so , as you will find it is most pleasing, with modern, design, everywhere, flowers, beautiful wood, and of course that view, you will find this hotel one of the most delightful accomodations you will have ever had the pleasure of taking.

Room Tip: At check-in, ask for rooms higher up, looking over the Rundle, or the valley, but any room will deli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed every part of your stay, and were able to take advantage of the great food, views, and service from our team. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to contribute to a special 40 years together! Happy Anniversary and we look forward to celebrating 41 with you!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed at the rimrock this time during a conference. Hotel was nice and would have expected that. Service and food were very good. The front staff even gave us a ride to an off site restaurant at another hotel one evening.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for joining us for your conference in the Rockies! We hope you will be able to visit soon for a leisure trip!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I'ved always wanted to visit the Rimrock Resort Hotel and used my birthday as an excuse to to book a ski weekend. I wanted quiet time so I picked a hotel that was far from the bars, pubs and shops of Banff.

This place has immaculate service. From the moment our car pulled up in the front, we handed over our keys to the valet and he took care of the vehicle. We walked in and was greeted with friendly and professional staff to check us in. The place was busy, hosting both international tourists and local weekenders.

Our hotel room was huge and comfortable. For those who expect modern furnishings or decor, better luck at a boutique hotel. If what you are looking for is a comfortable space or lodging to appreciate nature, then you're in luck. Although we had an obstructed view covered by trees, our window was large and it gave me a cozy feeling as if we was nestled in a forest. And we went downstairs to the lounge and stared at the mountains in awe.

Amenities in the room were standard with coffee maker, flat screen tv, and safe.

Hot tub, gym and pool were available for hotel guests. Also nice to enjoy a latte and a croissant at their little coffee shop.

And yes, ski shuttles do pick up here and you are also not far from the hot springs. If you don't drive, there is a bus stop in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: If the view is important, ask for an unobstructed window view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are delighted that you were able to join us for a ski get-away, and more so a Birthday celebration! Our team takes great pride in delivering great WOW experiences to our guests and we love to hear your feedback and share your comments with our team!

We look forward to your next stay, and hope to have you for next year's Birthday celebration!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed at the Rimrock for a family/business trip. Service was excellent as usual and staff was friendly and helpful. Lounge is amazing to have a drink and room service was very good. Enjoyed our stay -- as usual.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to find some time to spend with your family while here on business.

We look forward to your next stay!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Everything is okay like always short time this time ,I'll be back pretty soon ,next month probably so I'll see you soon bye-bye. The people there are always wonderful with us and always recommend my friends to go there ,yes it's a good location and I always have a good time there with friends ore Family.
Thanks to all

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My fiance and I needed a little getaway so we booked one night at the Rimrock. It was a cold day so we checked in (early), valet'd the car and got to our room. It was pretty nice. big bed, junior suite, jacuzzi tub (mega old, sounded like a jet engine). We went down to the pool and it was very nice. Huge hot tub, dry sauna and steam room. After a nice time at the pool we went back to the room and got room service for lunch. Cesar salad and a chicken sandwich...both good, not great, chicken was dry.

We had reservation for 7pm at the Primrose restaurant. Italian food, not busy in there at all. We got some red wine and bruschetta and I ordered a seafood pasta thing and my fiance got the veal spagetti and meatballs. Thank god I never took a bite because there was a DARK CURLY HAIR in my meal. It really turned us off. They promptly got me a different dinner and gave us a free dessert but I was a bit surprised they weren't more accomodating to something that gross.

Beds were nice, quiet, and then in the morning we ordered some room service for breakfast. My fiance got delicous eggs benny and I got the waffles. They looked good, they smelled good and they were the consistency of pound cake. Super dense, dry and really really bad. They took the waffles off the bill.

So...hmmm...it was my first time to this hotel. I had higher expectations I guess. It could have been great but the hotel had kinda of a cold vibe to it. Add in the hair in my entree and the bad breakfast, I don't know when we will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your complete experience. A member of our guest service leadership team will be in contact with you shortly to ensure complete follow-up for you.

Thank you and again.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.