We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel tucked away on the side of the mountain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel tucked away on the side of the mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I'ved always wanted to visit the Rimrock Resort Hotel and used my birthday as an excuse to to book a ski weekend. I wanted quiet time so I picked a hotel that was far from the bars, pubs and shops of Banff.

This place has immaculate service. From the moment our car pulled up in the front, we handed over our keys to the valet and he took care of the vehicle. We walked in and was greeted with friendly and professional staff to check us in. The place was busy, hosting both international tourists and local weekenders.

Our hotel room was huge and comfortable. For those who expect modern furnishings or decor, better luck at a boutique hotel. If what you are looking for is a comfortable space or lodging to appreciate nature, then you're in luck. Although we had an obstructed view covered by trees, our window was large and it gave me a cozy feeling as if we was nestled in a forest. And we went downstairs to the lounge and stared at the mountains in awe.

Amenities in the room were standard with coffee maker, flat screen tv, and safe.

Hot tub, gym and pool were available for hotel guests. Also nice to enjoy a latte and a croissant at their little coffee shop.

And yes, ski shuttles do pick up here and you are also not far from the hot springs. If you don't drive, there is a bus stop in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: If the view is important, ask for an unobstructed window view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are delighted that you were able to join us for a ski get-away, and more so a Birthday celebration! Our team takes great pride in delivering great WOW experiences to our guests and we love to hear your feedback and share your comments with our team!

We look forward to your next stay, and hope to have you for next year's Birthday celebration!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    586
    226
    90
    65
See reviews for
514
1,062
47
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lacombe, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed at the Rimrock for a family/business trip. Service was excellent as usual and staff was friendly and helpful. Lounge is amazing to have a drink and room service was very good. Enjoyed our stay -- as usual.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to find some time to spend with your family while here on business.

We look forward to your next stay!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Everything is okay like always short time this time ,I'll be back pretty soon ,next month probably so I'll see you soon bye-bye. The people there are always wonderful with us and always recommend my friends to go there ,yes it's a good location and I always have a good time there with friends ore Family.
Thanks to all

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My fiance and I needed a little getaway so we booked one night at the Rimrock. It was a cold day so we checked in (early), valet'd the car and got to our room. It was pretty nice. big bed, junior suite, jacuzzi tub (mega old, sounded like a jet engine). We went down to the pool and it was very nice. Huge hot tub, dry sauna and steam room. After a nice time at the pool we went back to the room and got room service for lunch. Cesar salad and a chicken sandwich...both good, not great, chicken was dry.

We had reservation for 7pm at the Primrose restaurant. Italian food, not busy in there at all. We got some red wine and bruschetta and I ordered a seafood pasta thing and my fiance got the veal spagetti and meatballs. Thank god I never took a bite because there was a DARK CURLY HAIR in my meal. It really turned us off. They promptly got me a different dinner and gave us a free dessert but I was a bit surprised they weren't more accomodating to something that gross.

Beds were nice, quiet, and then in the morning we ordered some room service for breakfast. My fiance got delicous eggs benny and I got the waffles. They looked good, they smelled good and they were the consistency of pound cake. Super dense, dry and really really bad. They took the waffles off the bill.

So...hmmm...it was my first time to this hotel. I had higher expectations I guess. It could have been great but the hotel had kinda of a cold vibe to it. Add in the hair in my entree and the bad breakfast, I don't know when we will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your complete experience. A member of our guest service leadership team will be in contact with you shortly to ensure complete follow-up for you.

Thank you and again.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Posh, so not a place I would usually stay- but very nice to get a chance to treat myself to some luxury! Rated value as 'very good' because I think that is subjective, and really- I would normally stay in a less expensive place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are delighted that you were able to treat yourself and join us for a stay. We encourage you to peruse our webpage to see great deals and promotions, so that you can come back and visit us again soon.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlock
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very few experience comes close to what Rimrock provided. Elegant classic architecture married with the opulence of the view of the Rockie Mountains and the warmth of the staff in every corner. One of the best hotels I have ever been to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We are so excited that you enjoyed your experience with us, and that you were able to enjoy not just the views but also the staff, and the service that they have pride in delivering every day!

We look forward to your next stay.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

One of my favorite places in the Canadian Rockies. Outstanding location. Fantastic service. Great rooms. There is very little not to like about the Rimrock!
The food is a tad pricey at times but the quality is overall good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to your next visit!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.