We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rimrock Posh and Pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton
1 review
“Rimrock Posh and Pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Posh, so not a place I would usually stay- but very nice to get a chance to treat myself to some luxury! Rated value as 'very good' because I think that is subjective, and really- I would normally stay in a less expensive place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are delighted that you were able to treat yourself and join us for a stay. We encourage you to peruse our webpage to see great deals and promotions, so that you can come back and visit us again soon.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    530
    209
    84
    60
See reviews for
479
943
43
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westlock
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very few experience comes close to what Rimrock provided. Elegant classic architecture married with the opulence of the view of the Rockie Mountains and the warmth of the staff in every corner. One of the best hotels I have ever been to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We are so excited that you enjoyed your experience with us, and that you were able to enjoy not just the views but also the staff, and the service that they have pride in delivering every day!

We look forward to your next stay.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

One of my favorite places in the Canadian Rockies. Outstanding location. Fantastic service. Great rooms. There is very little not to like about the Rimrock!
The food is a tad pricey at times but the quality is overall good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to your next visit!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Comfortable rooms, beautiful setting, great service from housekeeping, spa personnel and food services. The fitness facility is the best I've experienced in a hotel. A small maintenance item was dealt with immediately. I was here for a conference and the conference services and food were very good. My only criticism is that the bathrooms are dated - Rimrock, it's time to get started on some updating here.

Room Tip: When I stay here, I always ask for a room in the north wing, as far away from elevators as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Changes are coming! Thank you for taking the time to complete a review after your recent stay. We are excited to share that we have begun our renovations for 2014 ~ an updated washroom is being completed in each of our Standard and Premium guestrooms. This refresh is something that we are proud to be able to complete and share with our guests. Come back in May to see the new washrooms and changes we have completed to continue moving forward in meeting and exceeding our guests expectations!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Facilities, staff and overall comfort top notch. Employees went out of their way to make sure that our short stay at the Rimrock was as memorable as possible. We are looking forward to future visits when in Banff

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us, and have passed your comments on to our service team. We look forward to your next stay!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

So if you look below you will see that you are meant to hurry to book this great rate of $159. I tried booking for March 1st but was firmly told that the rate for March 1st was much higher because it was a weekend rate. It clearly states, however that the $159 rate is valid March 1st-31st with blackout periods being March 8th, 9th, 10th.

This is clearly a case of false advertising. In addition the hotel is undergoing renos so I can only imagine what the noise must be like. I have stayed here at least four times, and mentioned this to their main point of contact but no concessions were made. So sod 'em!


Hurry and book now to take advantage of the Best Rates of the Year!

Rates starting at $159*

Valid: March 1 – 31 , 2014
BLACKOUTS: March 8, 9 & 10

Includes:
Complimentary Upgrade** to the next room category!
Complimentary Self Parking

* Offer is subject to availability and above promotion rates may be higher on certain dates. Certain blackout dates may apply.
* Blackout dates can be changed at anytime.
* Rate is based on double occupancy and subject to applicable taxes.
* This offer cannot be combined with other discounts, promotions or group rates.
* This offer is not available for reservations made through 3rd party websites.
* This offer may be cancelled at anytime without notice.
*Available for a maximum of 2 rooms per party.
** Upgrade is available for Standard room to Premium. Upgrades to Grandview rooms are $75 per night.

Room Tip: Win the lottery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We apologize if you feel that there was any miscommunication or misrepresentation in regards to the March WOW promotion. We do our best to communicate all terms and conditions to our guests when running a promotion, including stating that rates will start from an outlined rate amount and that the promotion is subject to availability and rates may be higher on certain dates. We appreciate you including a copy of the promotion with your review to allow our readers to better understand how we list our promotions ~ inclusive of all terms and conditions.
We are pleased to share that we are undergoing renovations in many of our guestroom washrooms, an enhancement we are completing to ensure that we continue to move forward in meeting and exceeding our guest experience. During this time, there will be brief periods of noise during business hours but are doing our best to ensure that the renovations will not impede on the overall guest experience we pride ourselves on delivering.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

For the level of hotel was unhappy that housekeeping didn't come until after 3:30 to clean the room. That wasn't appreciated. Otherwise friendly and helpful staff and comfortable beds. A bit dated and could use a refresh. Beautiful views.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor, after your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on being able to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests. Our housekeeping team works between the hours of 8am and 5pm, to service all our staying guests, as well as prepare the rooms for our new arriving guests. Should any of our guests wish to have service at a specific time, we are pleased to provide that service. We apologize if we were not able to accommodate your requested cleaning time, and on your next stay will be pleased to service your room at a time best suited for you. Please inform our guest service team and we will pass it forward to our housekeeping team.

We look forward to your next stay,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, T4B, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.