We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A one-day vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Banff
Edmonton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A one-day vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Just decided to go to Banff for the day and stay at the Rimrock - everything went well. Staff is attentive and friendly. View of the Bow Valley was stunning. Furnishings made the room seem small - ok for only two of us but 4 would be a bit crowded. Facilities (pool, hot tub, spa) were very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,060
    504
    201
    82
    59
See reviews for
457
889
41
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Got a great rate to stay at the Rimrock towards the end of November (for the very start of the ski season). Not only cheaper, but also (in my opinion) better than the Banff Fairmont. The cheaper rooms are spacious and inoffensively decorated, the top end suites are fantastic. The views tend to range from 'nice' to 'spectacular'. I prefer to take a cheaper room and spend the money saved in the restaurants.

Service was excellent throughout the hotel. The concierge staff were wonderful, and all the bar and restaurant staff were friendly and attentive. Interestingly, they made us feel comfortable and at home whether we came tramping in dressed in ski gear after a long day, or were dressed up for dinner. We never felt that the staff were anything but warm and treated everyone the same, regardless of dress, nationality etc. This is something a lot of hotels struggle with.

The food was excellent, both breakfast and dinner in the Primrose were consistently good and the bar food in the larkspur was great after a chilly walk. Eden deserves a special mention, we got an off season offer which meant 3 courses for about $60 dollars per head...and what an experience! Truly innovative menu and a wine cellar to die for. Some real steals on the wine list mean that you can get a great bottle for a very sensible price, hats off to Chad for supplying a 1997 Mommessin 'Clos de Tart'. Service is incredible, I will definitely be going back.

Great gym and pool facilities with a spa attached means you can recover from a hard day on the slopes, and the complimentary bus pass means you can pop in and out of Banff town centre in just a few minutes each way. I can't wait to book my next trip!

Room Tip: Worth going for a small upgrade to a room with a view of the valley...just stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My mother and I recently spent 2 nights at the Rimrock - December 25th and 26th. The service impressed me tremendously! The bellboy inquired about my plans for the next day and offered to call back with recommendations for snowshoeing. He did, in fact, call back with several suggestions. As well, I made an inquiry about the carpet in my room. The very next day, one of the managers prepared a letter which was slipped under my door, It provided details regarding my room carpet. I was absolutely amazed at this high level of service!! The staff obviously takes great pride in helping their guests. This level of caring for customers is rare and the hotel deserves the highest of praise with respect to service.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is the best Hotel in Banff... no doubts in my mind...you can't beat the view and the top restaurant on the premises...staff were great and as soon as you open your car door they are there...for you......!!!! From taking your bags to your room, checking you in, and letting you know of all the amenities and where they were located on the premises....top notch service at your finger tips. Rooms were very clean and cozy....the view form the rooms are breath taking as well. Banff is heaven on Earth and Rimrock Resort makes sure you realize that while you stay with them !! Highly suggest staying here....gondola ride up the mountain is right next door...!!! I would go back in heartbeat without question !!!

Room Tip: Gosh......I think every room is fantastic...some get better views than others...but right outside yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We decided against staying in the Fairmont Chateau Hotel Banff as we wanted a terrace with our suite. The Rimrock did not disappoint, incredible views , lovely staff and very reasonable prices. We would return. My only con is the Suite decor wass too blah for my tastes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We are delighted that you were able to join us on your recent trip to the Rockies ~ and that you were able to enjoy the terrace from your room. The views we are able to offer from our guests rooms, is certainly what allows us to be set apart in the Rocky Mountains.

We look forward to your next stay!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

see prior page.It was our 60th anniversary Dec.12 and that fact seemed to be known by all the staff.They treated us accordingly.Eden,Primrose,Cafe, concierge,Bell staff Arrival staff,reception staff all carryout the policy of superb service to a "T".


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We are delighted that you were able to join us to celebrate your 60th anniversary ~ it is a wonderful event to be celebrated. Our service team has great passion to deliver exceptional service and we love to hear feedback that we exceeded our goal with our guests.

We look forward to your next stay ~ and congratulations on 60 years together!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Usually we are not travelling in that kind of nice hotels. We wanted to try something special for the holidays. The service at the front desk was really good and they brought our luggages to the room. The room was an average size. We had a fridge and a safe. Beds were comfortable. Pool was clean. On the ladies' side somebody had sh*** in the shower, I guess they can't be responsible for that. The parking's fees were $16, I would have prefered to have them included even if I would I had to pay for them. Bus passes included in the price. Overall very nice place. If $$$ is not a problem for you, go for it! If you prefer to keep your tokens for some other activites, go to Canmore!

Room Tip: Not always easy to go to the 3rd floor on the North tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience at The Rimrock. We apologize that our facilities were in a state which we consider unacceptable. We have addressed this concern within our Management Team to ensure that we are able to be more proactive in ensuring that our facilities meet our expectations, as well as our guests.

We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.