We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room without a view had a great view ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Room without a view had a great view ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We booked our room through a third party website so paid a low price for a great accommodation. The only downfall with that is there was no reminder that there is a cost of $16 daily for parking however it is underground. This is a lovely high end hotel. You are greeted when you step out of the car with several bellhops waiting to help and provide direction. Check in was smooth we were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a room with a view for $50 nightly but we declined, we did not plan on spending much time in our room. Our room without a view was awesome. The room it self is spacious and and well appointed our view though was the icing in the cake. We looked at a mountain that maybe during the summer months is not much but there had been a lot of snow over the weekend so the trees were all capped with snow. On the ground was a fire pit and seating area and a skating rink. The resort had snowflake production lights that shone on the rink. It was very beautiful to look at and seemed to be used by many families.

The Rimrock is a short drive to the downtown shopping area but they offer free bus transportation on the Roam bus. We used this as we know how challenging parking can be at times. This is a terrific service and seemed to be used by many guests. While outside we watched the valets and bellhops at work - and work they do. They were constantly sweeping, and scraping ice off off the outside benches, ski rack, sidewalks and cars. We were very impressed.

We spent a couple of hours sitting in the piano bar one afternoon and while only ordering a hot chocolate and coffee were catered very well to by the serving staff. All around we were provided great service at this hotel.

The Rimrock is a very short walk to the Hot Springs. Possibly took is 15 minutes.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and were able to take advantage of the Larkspur Lounge while with us. Sitting in the lounge enjoying the Grand Fireplace while enjoying a hot cup of coffee or hot chocolate.

We look forward to your next stay!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    587
    226
    90
    65
See reviews for
515
1,062
47
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melfort
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

It's more then you could imagine. Room 702 is absolutely beautiful, couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Will definitely be coming back again.the hotel was very warm and everyone was very friendly. It was like you were living a dream.


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always excited for our guests to be able to take advantage of staying in one of our Signature Grandview guest rooms. In our view, there is nothing better than waking up to the amazing views of the surrounding mountains and valleys, as well as being able to take advantage of complimentary valet parking, 15% off in our F&B outlets, and a signature welcome gift.

We hope that you will be able to return soon and enjoy your next stay.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Croydon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We are a mature English couple who now have the time and resources to travel extensively. One of our favourite return holiday destinations is the idyllic Banff National Park. We were married here in the beautiful Rimrock Resort and have been very happy to come back each year.The Rimrock combines luxury with friendly helpful staff. Waking up each morning to the awesome majesty of the Rockies is an experience which we cherish

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are delighted to read that you continue to enjoy your experiences with us and are able to visit more often for your return holidays in Banff National Park.

We can't wait for your next visit and look forward to celebrating our next Anniversary!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed here before and once again was not impressed- except for the views. It was after New Years Eve, but still, hotel was quite dirty with garbage on the floor that numerous staff ignored. Pool and hot tub water was extremely dirty. Food luke warm and of average quality. Beds were good, sheets were nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are disappointed that you were not able to enjoy your recent stay with us, and that you found areas of the property in a condition that is less than what we find acceptable. We would like to assure you that we have followed up with our complete service team to ensure that we continue to focus on our property and express the importance of owning the guest experience ~ including the cleanliness of all hotel areas.

We hope that you will visit again soon to see the positive changes that we have made based on your feedback.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I live in Calgary so I am very familiar with the different hotels in and around Banff. Although, surprisingly had never stayed at the Rimrock. My boyfriend and I wanted to plan one night in Banff for New Years Eve and after being unimpressed with the Banff Springs Hotel rooms we decided to give the Rimrock a try.

We booked our trip through Expedia and received a 25% discount for doing so. The room was still quite expensive since Banff is notorious for ramping up the hotel rates during the holidays.

We got to the hotel, check in was easy and we went to our room. I was surprised. I was not that impressed with their dated rooms. What would have made me see right past that would have been the view… if there was one. I eagerly bounded over to the window only to be greeted with tree trunks and the side of the highway. Disappointed and given the amount of money we spent on one night, I called the front desk to see what they could do.

The lady I spoke with told me that because I booked through Expedia she could not see how much I paid and therefore could not offer me anything more than what we had. I expressed our disappointment in the room and asked her if she could do anything for us. She repeated again that she didn't know what we paid and that we would have to pay an upgrade for anything nicer. She said she'd see what rooms were available and would call back. She called back a few minutes later to tell me there were only 3 rooms she could offer me. She said 2 were kind of similar views to what we had now and the 3rd was maybe a little better but was beside the elevators on the main floor and said it would be noisy. I asked her again if that's all she could do for us and she said yes. So with no real better options we decided to stay put.

Banff is a beautiful town, with beautiful views and a majestic appeal. Sticking us in a dated room, with a view of tree trunks and a highway for as much as we paid was nothing short of ridiculous. The Rimrock is not worth the hype.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask at check-in if you have a view of the valley… otherwise your money spent won't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We apologize that you were not able to enjoy a view of the surrounding Rocky Mountains, from your guest room. We are extremely proud to be ble to offer a number of different views of the area, and base our guest room rates based on location, and views. We hope that you will return to the hotel, and may we suggest that you reserve a Premium guest room with beautiful views of either the valley or mountains, or perhaps a Grandview guest room that will allow you to enjoy a view of both the surrounding mountains, as well as the valley ~ and is complete with Complimentary Valet Parking, 15% off Food and Beverage, as well as upgraded amenities in your guest room.

We hope to welcome you back to The Rimrock in the future.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here with our family for 4 nights following Christmas. We had a lower level room that still had a good view. The bathroom looked at least 20 years old with corian counters, off-white tile on the floors and shower walls, wall paper peeling on the walls, cheap shower head with weak water pressure, and popcorn ceilings in the room. It also looked like something was torn out of the wall with the anchors and the hotel could not be bothered to patch the holes left in the wall.

The furniture was modern, and there was a flat screen TV, but that appeared to be all that has been updated.

The wifi signal was so weak that I could barely get my email. Netflix for the kids - forget it! But props for providing some form of complimentary wifi. Too many hotels still insist on charging for a basic necessity. It's like charging separately for electricity or water. When I pay this much for a hotel, I expect wifi to be included. Heck, Holiday Inn has free wifi.

The common areas were nicely appointed and the pool area was also well maintained and modern. If you're in the North wing, its a bit of trek to the pool, you have to walk across the hotel and use two elevators. Given this, you would think they would provide bath robes in every room, but they don't. It appears only some rooms get the bath robe "amenity."

The skating rink is tiny and hardly worth it. You are better off skating by the high school in Banff.

We didn't eat at any of the restaurants, but it looks like there's a Five-Diamond-rated one in the hotel, which can set you back as much as $550 per person with wine pairing. Lower-priced options are also available.

It's a bit far from town, definitely, not walking distance. A bus stop is on the property. It's walking distance to the Upper Hot Springs.

Room Tip: The South Wing has better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience of the hotel after your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback in regards to our wifi as well as additional areas of the hotel. We have reviewed your feedback with our Management team to ensure that we continue to move forward in making decisions that will enhance the guest experience in the hotel. We hope that you will be able to return to the hotel soon to see the renovations and updates that we are currently undergoing, in an effort to meet and exceed your needs.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackfalds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

the view was great although u only get to enjoy it for a few hrs in the winter if your an overnighter. I have stayed in nicer super 8s. Hidden charges everywhere $16 to park $ 20 upgrade fee ect .POOR

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
We are disappointed to learn that your experience with us was not satisfactory. Our hotel team takes great pride in the service and experience of each guest. We take every opportunity possible to communicate all fees applicable with our guests, prior to your arrival ~ including a pre-stay confirmation letter. We apologize if you felt that the upgrade fee was a hidden charge, as we provide a number of different guest rooms, each has a unique view of the surrounding Rocky Mountains, and are priced accordingly. Should any of our guests wish to change their room type upon arrival to an upgraded room, the applicable fees for the upgraded room are applied to the final invoice for your convenience. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your experience and a hotel representative will be in contact with you to discuss your concerns further.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.