We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RimRock Hotel Rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“RimRock Hotel Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hotel is amazing, great value and the size of the room was very spacious. Live paino player on the Saturday night in the lounge which just added to the whole experience. Will certainly stay at the RimRock again

Room Tip: we stayed in a room with a king bed and a valley view. It was amazing value for the price. Will cer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to take advantage of enjoying the live pianist in the Larkspur Lounge on Saturday night.

We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    587
    227
    91
    65
See reviews for
520
1,064
47
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was our first time in Banff. We decided upon checking in, to upgrade our room to one with a better view. We are so glad we did. The upgraded views make a huge difference in the overall experience. Nothing like watching the sunrise/sunset from the comfort of your room. The bed was very comfortable and the location of the resort was far enough to feel like it was different from the rest, but close enough to the "downtown" area.

Staff were very nice. We spoke at length with the man who served us drinks in the main restaurant, and he gave us some great suggestions on what to do during our time in Banff. He was very helpful.

We rented a car and did the sulphur mountain tour, and a visit to Lake Louise. I would suggest to anyone going up for a visit, get a car as it's a bit difficult to get around without a car.

Finally, I would say although it was a great experience, it was generally overpriced. We would have loved to have a nice dinner at the hotel, however the price was just far too much so we decided to go elsewhere. We did have breakfast the following morning at the restaurant, and you are essentially paying for the stunning view. A memorable experience for. Sure (having breakfast mountainside), but the food itself was just ok.

Overall, it was a great experience and we would visit again for sure. This time around though, we will save more of our pennies before going ;)

Room Tip: Get a room with the view.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience after your recent trip to us. It is a delight to read that you had a great experience with us, and that you will be visiting again! Our staff's passion for providing our guests with WOW experiences is certainly what sets us apart.
We hope on your next trip you will be able to join us in Larkspur Lounge for some great food, at great prices.

We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on a deal which was perhaps where we drew a short straw. Our room on the 5th floor was the worst in our Canadian trip. It was in desperate need of maintenance and a good clean as were other areas of the hotel such as the corridors and elevators. We asked for a different room when we arrived as we were also expecting just one double bed, not two in the same room, but were told we would have to pay 75 more a night! there were black marks all over the walls and skirting where it had been knocked by cleaning carts and bags. The mirror frame on the door was missing a large chunk so there was just stripped wood. The heating/air con rattled. There was sticky grime on the bottom of the bathroom mirror which looked like it had been there years, and is probably still there. Cleaning varied but was not great- the first night just the top sheet of the bed had been pulled over and the under sheets were still as we had left them. Pool area was nice but needed more cleaning, and only one hairdryer?! The bus pass was the best thing and the proximity to the gondola. If anyone had actually asked us how our stay was they would have found this out then, but they were more bothered to just take the money. I don't think anything would have been done. Not at all what we expected for a hotel of this supposed level. We would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We apologize for the disappointing stay you had with us at The Rimrock. Our goal is provide exceptional service, and create great experiences ~ and it is disheartening to read that we fell short on your experience.
We appreciate the feedback, and a hotel representative would be happy to discuss your experience further with you.

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Rooms were spacious, with a decent view into the valley.
Service was great throughout our stay.
The food served at the french/Italian main restaurant (primrose) was tasty.

We used this hotel as a base camp to go trekking in the Banff area, and it proved very convenient.

The only criticism goes to the price paid to park one's car at the hotel, knowing that all parking bays and indoor car parks in Banff were free at that time of the year.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience after your recent stay at The Rimrock. We are delighted to read that you had a Great Stay, and hope that you will soon plan your next trip to stay with us.
Thank you for the comments in regards to the parking options at the hotel, we will be using your comments to look at our business decisions, regarding guest parking, in the future.

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Upon arrival you are greeted straight away and guided into the warm foyer for check in. The staff are awesome ,We paid good money and weren't disappointed with our room or the amazing panoramic views from the top floor. with 2 queen beds and comfortable bedding bar fridge safe LCD tv and very nice bathroom. The hotel restaurant and bar is awesome and great views. queen

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience ~ and are pleased to read that you had a great stay! Our teams goal is to provide great guest experiences for all of our guests, and it is always a pleasure to pass on and share when we get it right!

We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is situated in a nice place , the rooms are ok if not a little over priced for what you get, there are plenty of other places to stay in Banff that have a lot more to offer... There is a bus service to town and back that we found useful.

My biggest issue with this hotel was the lack of functioning wifi. I have stayed at many hotels all over the world and can honestly say that I received better wifi service from the most basic of hotels/accommodations that cost less than the parking fee here.

So for $300 odd a night plus $16 for parking with out a functioning internet service and little response when the issue was raised I must give this hotel a less than favourable review.

The solution to no internet access was a free pass to the premium and secured wifi networks which also did not work.

It is unfortunate that a service so simple seems so hard to obtain. This hotel and ones like it really need to pick their game up in this regard....

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We apologize for the inconvenience with the WiFi when you were visiting with us. We are currently working with our vendor to ensure that any concerns with the network for our guests is rectified and it is functioning proficiently.

We hope to have you back at the hotel to see the changes.

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I decided we needed to start some sort of tradition. We searched and looked for something within driving distance that we could return to every Thanksgiving. We finally decided RimRock in Banff would fit what we were looking for perfectly!

Well... It was horrid. We stayed for three nights. The hotel needs some love and investment. I'm sure it's a high traffic hotel as it's in Banff but it definitely needs some love. Bashed walls, torn bedspreads, terrible TVs, dirty walls in the hallways. For a high end this was disappointing. BUT --- it wasn't this that was horrid...
Basically they do not have control of their hotel. I totally understand that they can't control their guests but it was VERY obvious after 3 nights and 4 days that repeat guests is not their business model or valued to want them to come back. 2 out of 3 nights the place was like a Carnival cruise ship in the hallways. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway - don't go here.

From the pool area where the attending security and staff did NOTHING about very inappropriate behaviours and drove several people out to the wedding parties that extended after hours from midnight - 4am to unsecure parking so guests have to park at the gondola as the parkade got full from non-stay folks showing up for parties. (we know this as we met up with 3 non-guests in the elevator that all had vehicles parked in the parkade and were laughing that we had to walk and were paying for daily parking.

I did talk to security the 2nd night. Security did come and "try" to break down the party. I heard the partiers "promise" to break it up. Security then left and never re-checked. It continued on.
I spoke to the assistant GM the next day. She asked what can we do to make you happy? I said, "I leave that up to you but at this point we won't return". She had many excuses about not being able to control guests and their 3 strike rules. So I said, "So I as a "good" guest you need my intervention to help manage your security by calling and insisting something gets done?"

It was VERY apparent that the business culture there is not to gain return guests.
I was very professional with the front desk when I checked out but when asked how it was I said, "We will never return actually" and the lady said, "Oh I'm sorry to hear that. Are your charges on your card ok?" And then smiled.

I did receive 4 stale truffles and a sorry note the last night when we returned from a hike.
That was "nice". But really?

My expectations? Comp of some sort of the 2nd night we couldn't sleep as the following day SUCKED because we were so tired.. Just one night not the entire stay.

My husband and I spent over $1000 at the spa. I would think they would consider us guests they wanted back as we behave, spend money and respect others.
I caution anyone that thinks this is a great place to stay. The cost does not reflect the atmosphere you should expect.
We travel extensively. So I am not immune to bad guest behaviour. We've seen a lot. But wow - to be dismissed like RimRock did? That's brutal.

Scenery is beautiful (that's a given...)
The food was good at their restaurants.
And their spa was fabulous.
But we left tired, disappointed and did not feel valued.
We won't return.
:(

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would be happy to speak with you further in regards to your recent trip, as ensuring each of our guests has an exceptional experience is a priority and passion for all of our team at The Rimrock Resort Hotel.

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.