We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Located up the slope, just short of the entrance to Sulphur Mountain Gondola and Hot Springs. (Note that we could smell the sulphur some evenings as we drove up the mountain, but never at the hotel itself.)

Lovely partial views from most rooms. The hotel itself is nestled into the steep hillside and is surprisingly difficult to see from the valley due to its shape and use of subtle colors.

Very good service: front desk, concierge, maids, café, etc. We felt as if we had really splurged, although the room price was fairly typical to many other, less impressive hotels in the area.

We had a junior suite that worked very well for our 6 nights. The bed was absolutely huge (too big!?) with very nice sheeting, pillows and comfort. Our only suggestion is that it would have been nice to have a dual-sink bathroom. We made good use of the complimentary bathrobes, wearing them down to the hot tub and sauna several times during our stay.

Room Tip: The junior suite seems to add a lot of room, which we valued for an extended stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure to have you here for 6 nights, and I hope that we made you feel at home away from home. We are delighted to share your comments with our team, and use your feedback for insight into what would work best for you, our guest, when we make changes to our washrooms.

We look forward to your next stay!

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    543
    211
    83
    62
See reviews for
484
959
43
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mannville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

After a long drive trough the mountains we came to an excellent hotel. We were upgraded to a corner suite, which had one king size bed and a pull out sofa which was perfect for our family!
We were hungry so we ordered room service, portions were huge. Nachos would feed a family of four (We orderd just for a snack, but there was more than enough for a snack). Awesome pool and everyone was very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for chosing to stay with us, with your family. We are pleased that enjoyed your stay so much. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of the pool, and indulge in the amazing nachos! We hope you will come back soon, and try out our new menu!

We look forward to your next visit.

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just returned to my home in Whitefish, MT after a 3 night stay at the Rimrock Hotel. Lucky enough to score a fantastic suite over a holiday weekend. It was very busy when I arrived at the hotel, lots of guest leaving and checking in all at the same time. The outstanding Bellmen could have not been more friendly and helpful even with so much activity. The staff was friendly and helpful, the hotel seemed to run very smoothly and professional. The rooms were very nice and comfy beds and duvets. My room was on the main floor not far from the front entrance, I couldn't believe how soundproof it was. I never heard any noise from the cars at all. Room service was super fast and very sweet friendly young ladies couldn't have been more nice. I hadn't been to the Banff area in 30 years, super crowded over the holiday weekend, but stunning little village and with views are breathtaking. Had a great time and really enjoyed the Rimrock.

Room Tip: I was on the main 7th floor, super quite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us so much! I am glad that you were able to get out and visit Banff again, and pleased you chose to stay with us. Our team prides themselves on delivering exceptional guest services, and with passion they deliver. It was an honour to pass on your comments to our team.

We look forward to your next visit!

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I loved this hotel. It is not too large so it felt like we had some personalized service. The amenities included a small workout facility, a pool and Jacuzzi (which were loaded with kids during the labor day holiday), and several restaurants. The two caveats are that there is a $30 charge for valet parking or a $16 charge for self parking. If self parking is full they will valet park your car but charge you selfpark rates. The other thing to consider is the two mile trek into downtown Banff. During the busy holiday weekend it took 20 minutes. Nothing in the Canadian Rockies is inexpensive during but I felt this was worth the money if you are ok with the location. We also had a great view. The bed was super comfortable and the room wad spacious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay. I appreciate your feedback in regards to parking fees, and have passed it on to our Management Team for use in making future decisions.

I look forward to your next visit. Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Not impressed. We were expecting a 4 star hotel experience. We got a 2 star (at 4 star prices). Room wasn't ready. No attempt by desk person to give us a time of when room would be ready despite being asked to do so. Lame. He said he'd call us. He didn't. Room looked into a forest of trees. No mountain view. Yes, I had requested one at my booking 5 months beforehand. Rules, everywhere...'don't open this door', 'kids not allowed unattended', 'closed until 5:30'. What an uptight place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience after your recent stay.

We truly appreciate your constructive feedback and I have passed it on to the respective departments for appropriate follow-up.

I hope that you will return to the hotel.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullane, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Rimrock is a very good hotel, with its location the only possible drawback, as it is about two miles uphill near the Gondola. For some, this might not be a worry, as there is a free shuttle bus every 40 minutes from the hotel into the town centre. But if you want to be the centre of town with easy access to the restaurants, you won't want to be here, especially as the restaurants are very expensive. In every other respect the hotel is excellent. The bedroom was extremely comfortable, with everything you need. There is a large swimming pool, a good spa and great views. Charging $16 a night for self parking did seem a bit steep.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for a view - you can see it from elsewhere in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! Thank you for joining us all the way from the UK.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay at the hotel, and appreciate the constructive feedback.

I hope that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary Roam Transit system, as it is a perk we love to be able to provide to our guests.

I hope that you are able to come and stay with us again. Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

OK, you can't afford the Fairmont, this is the next best. Great staff, food, and rooms. It was a lovely stay. You weren't downtown, which was nice. Anyway, it was our first trip together and it was very romantic. Sitting on the balcony, having some wine, looking out over the hills, can't ask for more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience.
I am glad that you were able to enjoy the mountain views, while relaxing on our balcony. I hope your next trip together will be to The Rimrock.
We look forward to your next stay.
Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, T4B, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.