We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Banff
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I would highly recommend this resort if you are planning on paying a visit to Banff. My husband and two teenage children spent two wonderful nights at the hotel. We ate dinner at the Primrose restaurant one night, and the food was excellent. We especially liked the fact that they offerred an assortment of citrus fruit to add to your water, and the views from the restaurant were amazing. The hotel is a short drive to town. We had a car so we drove, but if you don't have a car it is no problem as there is a bus service into town. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel and the hotel provides free bus passes. Also, the Banff Gondola and the Hot Springs are a short walk away. The hotel gym is fairly well appointed with free weights, weight machines, bikes, elipticals, and treadmills. My daughter and I also had deep tissue massages at the spa. We both enjoyed them very much. One small negative the wifi service was expensive and it worked very poorly. So if you need reliable internet access this hotel may not be for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,926 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,072
    505
    206
    84
    59
See reviews for
462
899
42
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
EDMONTON
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is by far my favourite hotel. The location is beautiful and the views stunning. The rooms are lovely and the beds extremely comfortable. We were here for a conference and the staff were great and the food delicious. There is a coffee shop with sinful pastries and the main floor lounge/restaurant has delicious food. I highly recommend the Chorizo Burger. It is a bit spicy but very tasty.
There is a complimentary shuttle bus to town. Show your room key to ride for free. Very convenient and you don't have to take your car out to explore downtown Banff.
This is a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed her for two nights after cruising to Alaska and a trip onThe Rocky Mountaineer. The hotel was very comfortable and we had a fantastic view from our bedroom window. The staff were very helpful and the free WiFi much appreciated as was the complimentary bus pass into town. The hotel is in a good location if you use the bus. The pool area was well serviced and staff very friendly. The only slight negative was the evening bar snack which took a long time to arrive and was rather dry when it did. Our travel agent booked this as part of the overall tour so can't comment on the value

Room Tip: Ask for one with a good view- that's all that matters really. I am sure all the rooms are good i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
430 reviews 430 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is an old style lodge hotel... it's a short (3-4 minute) drive from town and a great/quiet location with very pleasant mountain views.

Our initial thoughts were not 100% positive (the hotel layout is a bit confusing and you have to get elevators from one level, back up to the reception floor, to get to the same level on the other side of the hotel), but once you understand this, the place grows on you ;-)

We really enjoyed our stay though... the spa area was very relaxing (shame we could not get any last minute massages)... the jacuzzi was welcome after a hard days hiking (although the pool had way too much chlorine in it and you could smell it as soon as you walked in).

There are plenty of places to relax in the bar area, with big comfy sofas and chairs... again, welcome after a long day out and before heading out for dinner.

Overall, despite our initial concerns, Rimrock grew on us and we really enjoyed it... we would probably stay again... If we had one gripe, it was probably the parking charges, which, for an out of town location were totally unnecessary and just felt like another way to extract more $'s from your wallet! ;-)

If you are looking for a peaceful, quiet location with super friendly staff and a relaxing lodge atmosphere, you can't go wrong...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved the hotel. Room with a view!
Breakfasts excellent. Great location for cable car and complementary shuttle bus in to town. Staff very helpful.
Great base for exploring the Rockies!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Wonderful resort... spent two evenings and would definitely return. Our room was quite large and very comfortable. Dining was a superb experience with amazing views. The staff were extremely helpful. Also a bonus was the fact that the Banff Gondola rides and the Hot Springs were well within walking distance. A "must" place to visit!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Just got back last night from staying here and I really enjoyed it. Service was awesome. Everyone was so polite and eager to please. We even had a voice mail from them asking us how our room was. We had a premium room which still had a somewhat decent view.. We were busy anyways to really notice it. Room service seemed a bit pricey so we stayed away from that.. We are already talking about going back to see the grande view room next time. :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.