We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Banff
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed her for two nights after cruising to Alaska and a trip onThe Rocky Mountaineer. The hotel was very comfortable and we had a fantastic view from our bedroom window. The staff were very helpful and the free WiFi much appreciated as was the complimentary bus pass into town. The hotel is in a good location if you use the bus. The pool area was well serviced and staff very friendly. The only slight negative was the evening bar snack which took a long time to arrive and was rather dry when it did. Our travel agent booked this as part of the overall tour so can't comment on the value

Room Tip: Ask for one with a good view- that's all that matters really. I am sure all the rooms are good i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,012
    482
    194
    79
    53
See reviews for
427
846
41
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
430 reviews 430 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is an old style lodge hotel... it's a short (3-4 minute) drive from town and a great/quiet location with very pleasant mountain views.

Our initial thoughts were not 100% positive (the hotel layout is a bit confusing and you have to get elevators from one level, back up to the reception floor, to get to the same level on the other side of the hotel), but once you understand this, the place grows on you ;-)

We really enjoyed our stay though... the spa area was very relaxing (shame we could not get any last minute massages)... the jacuzzi was welcome after a hard days hiking (although the pool had way too much chlorine in it and you could smell it as soon as you walked in).

There are plenty of places to relax in the bar area, with big comfy sofas and chairs... again, welcome after a long day out and before heading out for dinner.

Overall, despite our initial concerns, Rimrock grew on us and we really enjoyed it... we would probably stay again... If we had one gripe, it was probably the parking charges, which, for an out of town location were totally unnecessary and just felt like another way to extract more $'s from your wallet! ;-)

If you are looking for a peaceful, quiet location with super friendly staff and a relaxing lodge atmosphere, you can't go wrong...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved the hotel. Room with a view!
Breakfasts excellent. Great location for cable car and complementary shuttle bus in to town. Staff very helpful.
Great base for exploring the Rockies!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Wonderful resort... spent two evenings and would definitely return. Our room was quite large and very comfortable. Dining was a superb experience with amazing views. The staff were extremely helpful. Also a bonus was the fact that the Banff Gondola rides and the Hot Springs were well within walking distance. A "must" place to visit!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Just got back last night from staying here and I really enjoyed it. Service was awesome. Everyone was so polite and eager to please. We even had a voice mail from them asking us how our room was. We had a premium room which still had a somewhat decent view.. We were busy anyways to really notice it. Room service seemed a bit pricey so we stayed away from that.. We are already talking about going back to see the grande view room next time. :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Ok, I am going to be honest, a lot of this will be based on my personal preferences, so I am going to try and be objective. We were a young couple, travelling on our honeymoon. We booked a premium room (one up from standard), which was a free upgrade when booking with Trailfinders, plus one free night when booking three nights or more. It was expensive for us, but it was our luxury accommodation during part of a three week trip in BC and Alberta

Positives:
Efficient staff
Great location
Free bus passes into Banff were cost-effective and convenient
Views from rooms CAN be awesome
Spa treatments were fantastic and the girls in the spa were brilliant
Larkspur Bar had a relaxing atmosphere and attentive staff
Excellent 'green' options for guests
Decent pool and fitness facilities (though much smaller than expected for the size of the hotel)
Housekeeping staff were helpful and supplied us with lots of coffee!

Negatives:
Hideously expensive parking (we parked up at the hot springs for 4 days at no cost and it was a 2min walk to the hotel lobby)
Our view was probably the worst in our room category (we were level 4, room 441)
There was a constant dull, humming noise like water pipes/ventilation system from the corner of the room which disturbed my sleep (not opposite, but round the corner from the elevator, so beware of these rooms, as I noticed someone else commented on this)
Room was not completely clean-on the second day, we found some fruit loops from previous guests and I did not get bitten at all when outside the hotel, but 5x around my ankles when in bed...!
Room service and general hotel services/films were very expensive.

So, we don't stay in places like this often and, as you can probably tell from this review, we were on a slight budget. As a young couple, I would not recommend this hotel-even if you have more to spend than we did, the majority of the guests we saw in the public areas were middle-aged or families. If you are slightly older, have deep pockets and can afford a better room with one of those awesome views, I can totally see why people may love it. You really need to have a room above level 7 to get a decent view.

I tried to love it, but I felt the Rimrock was dark and a bit oppressive. I therefore felt happier when we were out of the hotel and hey-there are PLENTY of things to do in the area, we didn't spend that much time in the hotel anyway. Therefore, if you are like us and will be up early and out late, save some money towards bike/boat hire and trips out and try to find somewhere more reasonable to stay.

Room Tip: If you can't afford a room on the higher floors, try booking a room somewhere else, as you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 7 night stay at the Rimrock. We booked for the view and were not disappointed. We had a premium king room on the 8th floor. The interior of the room was okay-bathroom could use some updating, but the bed was comfy. The patio at the Lakespur is a great place to grab a drink and appetizer with decent prices and quality. Skip Primrose for dinner, but go for the excellent breakfast buffet. Location is quite close to the Banff gondola(be sure to go first thing in the morning to avoid the lines)

Room Tip: Premium king on 8th floor is the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.