We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the amazing views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Banff
Eden Prairie
2 reviews
“Can't beat the amazing views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 7 night stay at the Rimrock. We booked for the view and were not disappointed. We had a premium king room on the 8th floor. The interior of the room was okay-bathroom could use some updating, but the bed was comfy. The patio at the Lakespur is a great place to grab a drink and appetizer with decent prices and quality. Skip Primrose for dinner, but go for the excellent breakfast buffet. Location is quite close to the Banff gondola(be sure to go first thing in the morning to avoid the lines)

Room Tip: Premium king on 8th floor is the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    954
    469
    189
    77
    51
See reviews for
403
806
39
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had been to this hotel many years ago and was excited to be going back. Needless to say we had a wonderful stay. The hotel staff was amazing and our room was perfect. They changed our room to a smaller one, but we got a view of the mountains, it was great! It also seems that most rooms in the hotel have been renovated. There is also a complementary shuttle that brings you to downtown Banff where all the restaurants and shops are, so no need to stay closer to the town area. It was also great to be so close to the hot springs and the gondola. All in all a Fantastic stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I would first like to comment on the AMAZING OVER THE TOP service we received from the bellman Jeremie from France. He went out of his way to provide us with information, make sure our stay was comfortable and we had everything we needed- definitely a staff member to be commended. One bonus is our window opened for fresh air as well. From start to finish we were impressed and will be back again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice rooms , amazing views.
Skip eating there, bad service & way over priced for what they deliver.. Too many great places in town Hit Melissa's or Banff Brewing ... Better bang for your dollar. The bar is good , get the honey brown beer!
Other than that you will enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We (2 couples) stayed here for 2 nights 16-18 August.

The Rimrock is a classy Hotel a few minutes walk from one of Banff's best attractions - the gondola ride. It is also about a 10 minute bus ride to downtown. A pretty convenient location.

Firstly, a very, very friendly and helpful staff. Actually, the Canadian Rockies is full of that but this was quite exceptional. E.g. a stuck wine bottle cork was taken away from the room, opened and returned to the room in about 7 minutes from call to return! Very nifty for a Hotel of this size. The Hotel gives you a Bus Pass for the duration of your stay that allows unlimited travel on Banff's routes. This is a very convenient perk for exploring all the attractions without the need to drive around. Make sure you keep a timetable handy.

The rooms on 8F were very comfortable - large, airy and modern. However, the Free Wifi was quite erratic and even email checking without downloads etc. can be quite frustrating. There is, of course, a "Premium Wifi" service that has to be paid for. We did not test that out. The views from the 8th floor for rooms on the mountain side were fabulous.

If you are driving in, it's $16 per day and if you use a valet, $30 per day. The Hotel was full and the parking spaces were very crowded making it difficult to manoeuvre, specially with a large vehicle.

Check in-out was very smooth but beware the 1600 hour check-in prevalent for most of the Rockies Hotels. However, a slightly early check in was graciously allowed. Check out is at Noon, a 4 hour turnaround; a bit too long?

We did not sample the restaurants so cannot talk about the food. But, there are many options.

Yes, if we do visit Banff again, this Hotel would be one of our top choices.

Room Tip: Try 8F - rooms facing the mountainside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel not only met my expectations but exceeded most of them! We were celebrating a special occasion and the front desk was more than generous offering us an upgrade to a newly renovated room with a beautiful view. Self parking is $16 and valet is $30 however, there other options available for parking. Even though, there is complimentary wifi available, it is extremely slow. When we told the front desk about it, they were understanding and provided a complimentary upgrade to the premium service. The food is amazing and the location is right next door to the sulphur mountain gondola and the banff upper hot springs. They even offer complimentary bus passes to the banff village area. If I were to find a flaw, it would be housekeeping. Not the best but not horrible either. I just expect things to be extremely clean. All in all, a beautiful hotel, an amazing staff, and a gorgeous location. After staying here, it'll be hard to stay at a chain hotel where you're treated as a "customer" rather than a "guest".

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

TA reviews of the Fairmont Banff Springs generally said it is resting on its past laurels. Judging from the public areas of the Fairmont, which we visited, the Rimrock is much newer and nicer. (We did not stay at the Fairmont, so cannot say what the rooms are like.)

Our Rimrock room was on the 8th floor at the end of the wing, so we had a fantastic view of the valley and mountains (see photo). The room was modern and spacious. TIP - There is a complementary public bus that runs into town, it runs regularly and until late at night, so staying at the Rimrock does not mean you have to drive into town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, T4B, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.