We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three nights at the Rimrock” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Banff
Lewes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Three nights at the Rimrock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here on 25th July and like previous reviewers, sat nav couldn't find it but it was easy to find. Welcomed at door by two charming staff, who took our luggage, explained about parking and where to check in. We used the self park at 16 dollars a day - park on level 7 and you are straight into hotel.

Our room was on third floor, very good view with corner windows, would have liked to have been a bit higher up, but room was fairly large as was bathroom. Room was spotless, but would have liked air conditioning instructions provided! The bed and bedding were some of the most comfortable we have slept in and for a large hotel was surprisingly quiet at night.

The whole hotel was clean, well furnished and I have to say all the staff from the chambermaid to the manager of the restaurant were charming, polite and attentive.

We used the indoor pool once, was empty and there were towels and lockers provided.

The free shuttle bus into Banff was great, as the town gets very busy with cars etc. we ate in town every night, tried Wild Bills - excellent ribs, Melissa's - don't believe the reviews, food average, service poor and Banff microbrewery - excellent local beer, food great as was service, but it gets very busy so go early.

We had the breakfast buffet each morning at the hotel and although 22 dollars per person, there was lots to choose from and unlimited tea/coffe/juice.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Rimrock and would definitely go back, it is not the cheapest of hotels, but you do get what you pay for - thank you!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,063
    504
    201
    82
    59
See reviews for
458
890
41
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very nice hotel but with views like this you can't say much more. Comfy bed,lovely room. Enjoyed the pool,sauna etc. Shuttle bus into the town was useful. Only criticism is the cost of a roll away bed $25 per night plus tax ( seemed a bit steep on top of the room charge) . However, we enjoyed our stay and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived for two nights at the Rimrock as part of our RockyMountainier tour, we were not disappointed as the room had great views and was spotlessly clean, a good size and nicely appointed bathroom. We had one breakfast at the hotel and opted for the buffet which was great value for money in our opinion but we are good eaters. There was a nice little coffee shop as well which served good Latte and nice snacks. All the staff were helpful and friendly and the free pass on the shuttle into town was a great touch as it picked up and returned to the door. It may appear to be a little out of town but this has its advantages as well as we saw Elk both mornings very close to the hotel and with the bus you are in town in 10 minutes, if we are ever in the area again we will definitely return

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view on the top three floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Lovely location although our sat nav couldn't find it. Just head towards upper springs and gondola and you will pass it. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms lovely although the air con/heating was very noisy! Pool great - gym and squash court look god too. Beautiful views everywhere you go. Lifts fast and free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a lovely, clean, well appointed hotel. The rooms are quiet and the views from my room were outstanding. Staff constantly made me feel comfortable as a middle-aged female solo traveler. The food, my preference being vegetarian, was excellent. Its location made getting to the hike at Sulfur Mountain easy. Otherwise I was grateful to have rented a car as it is a ways from the downtown area and other important attractions.

In my 3.5 days here, I hiked Sulfur Mountain (upper springs and gondola area), Mirror / Agnes Lake and Big Beehive, and visited the Icefields. Bow Lake and the little summit nearby are breathtaking almost my favorite vistas!

There was a good vegetarian lunch at the Agnes Lake tea-house and I even hear they have gluten-free selections!

Its true I initially booked at another hotel (let's just say it has a "gold" floor), but decided that the cozy ambiance might be a bit much for this single traveler. This was perfect for me.

Trevor Long is an attentive manager who takes care of this establishment and he should be proud!

Room Tip: Get the upgraded room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel above the lovely city of Banff. The staff is helpful and the property neat and clean. We reserved a partial mountain view and received a room overlooking the roof and parking structure ( room 882) , because the staff allowed former guests to keep their room long after check out they were unable to change our room until the following day. Our stay was for 5 nights and we were able to change our room. Travelers need to be aware of the wing that faces the gondola.We would recommend the hotel and would stay again. The hotel offers a free bus pass to town ....this was nice.
A Rowsey

Room Tip: Stay away from the side facing the gondola.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

When we opened our curtains and saw the view of mountains we were sold. Room very clean, comfy & quiet. Worth every penny!
We had the amazing experience of the Eden with wine pairing. An experience everyone should try because you will love it! Chief David Hassel is an artist with the food he will prepare for you. And the food is aplenty- unlike some fine dining you will NOT leave hungry. The next morning we had breakfast at the Primrose. Our server was Alex and the supervisor was Amy. Both were absolutely delightful to deal with and they both ensured we were pleased with our breakfast, Amy taking the time to come over to our table although the restuarant was very busy and they always had smiles on their faces making us feel very comfortable. We had the smoked salmon eggs benedict and the lobster eggs benedict. Amazing! For dinner that night we went back to Primrose. The manager that night was Brad and he too was so very nice, always smiling & came over to our table to ensure we were pleased with our dinner. And we were very much so! Before dinner we had a drink in Larkspur, our server being Erica and the manager was Norm (sorry guys cannot recall everyones last names). They too were extremely professional and friendly. All of these people ensured the service was great and not "pesty" at all. They are profession in dealing with the quests. Sometimes the "people" make the place so great and this was the case with the Rimrock.
This resort is right beside the gondola and the walk up the mountain road is not difficult. A steady incline.
Banff itself is somethinhg to see. As the saying goes "majestic" and "cannot put into words the beauty of it all".
Thanks Rimrock for eing professional and yet friendly enough to make us all feel so very welcome. The service was 2nd to none.
(didnt have time to use spa- maybe next time....)

Room Tip: Room with mountain view worth it all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.