We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for free!
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Banff
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Excellent location and views, we were only on the third floor so the view was somewhat obscured by the Forrest

The room was spacious and clean and there is free WiFi

We went for valet parking which was a little pricy but delivered by very efficient and friendly staff.

We did not eat in the restaurant but did have room service which was extremely good and reasonably priced.

The public areas of the hotel are a little over the top with roaring fires even on a hot July day but the views are stunning and I would recommend the hotel if visiting the area

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I encourage you to book a Premium or Grandview guest room on your next visit ~ with unobstructed views of the mountains/valleys surronding us, you will never want to leave your room.

We look forward to your next visit.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,453
    658
    259
    102
    70
See reviews for
609
1,207
49
274
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Outstanding hotel in a very memorable trip to Canada.
We have just returned from an 18 day trip to Canada and Alaska.
We stayed at good hotels and on an excellent cruise ship but this hotel was outstanding.
A wonderful position adjacent to Banff Gondola and Hot Springs, excellent staff and service, great food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for making us part of your 18 day trip through Canada and Alaska. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is stunning - the scenery is breathtaking as well. We parked underground and checkin was quick and easy; the reception staff were personable and professional. The lobby is beautiful and the gym/spa area looked very inviting! There is also a small pool adjacent to the gym area which looked to be well maintained. It was frequented by several guests at the time.
The room with two double beds had a mountain view - stunning. It was clean and well stocked. We ate supper and breakfast at the hotel, and the food was divine. The quinoa chick pea burger and the mushroom salad were excellent, as was the service. Having tea while looking out over the mountains is so relaxing!!
There is a town bus that stops at the Rimrock, for handy access to Banff, and it was comfortable and frequent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: There are various choices available for mountain versus partially obstructed mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next visit!

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Upon arrival at the resort we were welcomed by the concierge who pointed us towards the check in desk, this was where the experience started to go downhill as they could not find our booking, even though we had a copy of the booking confirmation e-mail we were left standing in the lobby for approximately 30mins as the seemingly incompetent check in clerk fumbled around, eventually i was informed that they could not find my booking but would book me in anyway, now surely if this was the case they could have done that half an hour previously instead of making us feel like we were intruders to the hotel. This was not the end of the check in saga though as i was then asked to e-mail a copy of my booking confirmation to a member of the hotel staff. Finally we were given the key to our room which was at best average the lobby's and lifts all seem very dated and the only reason i can think for the price of the hotel was for the view from the room window, which i cannot complain about as it was simply stunning. Having been in the room for a matter of minutes we were pestered yet again by the incompetent check in clerk as the e-mail address she had given me was the wrong one! Onto the parking, surely for a hotel this exclusive the parking would be complimentary? no not here as per most things it appears that they want to screw every last penny out of you, at $16 per day I thought this was a bit pricey as all of the carparks in nearby Banff are free. We did however dine at the Larkspur restaurant which was very good, the food was excellent as was the service and even the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
I apologize for the inconvenience upon your arrival at the property, and would like to assure you that we have taken the time to follow up with your booking company to ensure that this is something that does happen moving forward. I encourage you to book direct with the hotel on your next visit to the area, so that we are able to ensure that we can meet and exceed your needs ~ even before your arrival.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed at the Rimrock first part of July 2013...The hotel provided us with a slightly obstructed view of the forest/mountain range which was very pretty. Try and request a room that does not view the parking area. The concierge was helpful and pleasant, the bellhops were very helpful and friendly as well.

The room did not have a balcony but it did have one window that would open for fresh air if one desires. Central heat and air was available in the room with a safe along with a small coffee maker, and a refrigerator. There was snacks available for an additional charge if needed.The room seemed to have newer carpet and was very clean in all regards. The hotel is slightly dated with some stained carpets in the main hallways leading to the rooms.

There is a small area that provided coffee service and pastries on the main level for purchase if needing a quick breakfast. There was also self parking available for 16.00 per day or 30.00 for valet.

The hotel is a very short drive to Banff town or they have a complimentary shuttle that is provided thru the towns public transportation service for Rimrock guests. Also, the hotel is literally in walking distance to the gondola ride up Sulphur Mtn.and also to the mineral baths.

I personally am glad to have stayed at the Rimrock rather than in town and on two diferent occassions we saw elk just prior to entering the hotel...once in the early morning (8:00 am) and once in the evening.The hotel was clean, peaceful, and provided a nice view, although it was slightly dated. I would not hesitate to stay there again though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Rimrock Resort Hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and were even able to enjoy a treat from our Coffee Shop. We appreciate your feedback in regards to the carpet in our guest hallways and are happy to share that we are constantly in transition mode to make our hotel appear that best it can.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in Banff at the end of June/early July and thought it was overrated for the price. The rooms were nice, clean and air conditioned, but there was nothing really special about this hotel. The elevators in the hotel were really annoying and confusing. Certain elevators went to certain floors/parts of the hotel, so the first day we walked around in circles a lot. We probably would have been happy in a lower priced hotel closer to Banff Avenue. The one good thing about this hotel is that it is walking distance to Sulphur Mountain and the Banff Hot Springs. But if you want to get to the main strip you'll need a car, a taxi or you'll need to catch the bus, as it's quite far away. We also were disturbed by how expensive and terrible the food was at the little grab and go cafe. We suggest grabbing food at the local grocery store off of Banff Avenue or going to one of the many great restaurants off of the main strip. All in all, when I return to Banff I probably won't be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
I was surprised and dissapointed to read that you did not enjoy your time with us, as much as we aim to have you do. I appreciate your feedback and can assure you that we take your comments into account when making duture business decisions. One of the unique features of our buidling, is that we are situated on the side of Sulpher Mountain, it allows us to maximize the amazing views that we can offer, but can also lead to some special directional needs. I hope that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary ROAM transit system that we offer at the hotel, to travel from town and back. I have passed on your comments in regards to the coffee shop, and encourage you to visit and try our in-house made truffles on your next visit to the area.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoine62
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

we stayed in a room with an amazing view. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in the primrose restaurant was disappointing the sauce for the Mussels was bland and the Halibut smelt fishy. We did not complain at the time but on reflection felt we should have.

Room Tip: ask for room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your view ~ each day looks different in the mountains, and we are proud that we are able to provide the best views in Banff. Thank you for your comments in regards to the menu items, I have passed on your feedback to our Executive Chef.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.