We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great setting, good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service, great setting, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

After a long drive, the check in experience was quick and easy. the reception was a wonderful experience, they were fast to make you feel special and accommodate all of your needs. they definitely went the extra mile.
the hotel is very unassuming from the road then you walk to the view and it is breathe taking.
All of the staff was friendly and helpful.
The food was good and reasonable
Great experience all way round

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,140
    546
    212
    83
    62
See reviews for
484
964
43
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

One can pretty much stay anywhere in Banff, Alberta, the famous Canadian Rocky Mountain town, and have a really good time. The scenic setting has caused there to be so many hotels that competition is fierce especially in a recession.

Having selected the Rimrock with its fine mountain views, little did we know that the entire place was run by young people with no leadership or overseer available to assure that the hotel's 4 stars offered a consistent guest experience..

Our check in request for our 3 night stay was for a quiet room with no noise potential from public rooms nearby, from ice machines, or from guest rooms with adjoining interior doors to the next room. Since the hotel was running at a very high vacancy rate, we were 'assured' that this was able to be easily done.

We slept well the first night. However on the 2nd night after a very busy day out, we repeatedly heard for hours loud noises at the headboard end of our room. In investigating outside our room down a hallway, we discovered a door marked PRIVATE for STAFF which coincided with our room's exterior wall: surprisingly, it was a staff entrance to the hotel's restaurant which lead directly onto wooden floors where the constant footsteps of diners and staff, and chairs grating across wooden floors were clearly heard in our room until the late closing and after all staff had cleaned up and left. When we asked the front desk to send someone down to explain to us how in a nearly empty hotel with the request for quiet we had made, they had assigned us to a room with the certainty of late night repeated noise, they had nothing to say including an apology.

When we asked to speak to the manager or GM, we were told he wasn't on the property but in another city. The 2 staff with whom we were dealing had no interest in the problem their mistaken room assignment had caused us. It now appeared this hotel's appearance and setting were superior to its staff's interest and abilities.

Night 3 began after another busy day involved in outdoor activities. When we returned to the hotel at 7:40 pm, there was no power in our room. When we called the front desk, we were told the entire area of Banff was without power. Knowing that all areas sometime have power outages, we asked why there was light in the lobby and the bar, but not in individual guest rooms - not even a single light bulb to enable moving about safely in an unknown room with suitcases around the perimeter. As this was occurring, a loud check in began right next door on the other side of the interior joining door we had asked not to have. When we had inquired at check in about the door having been there, we were told there would be no noise since no one was in that room. But the front desk didn't bother to maintain that status in spite of the hotel's occupancy now being next to nil due to the inability of guests to reach Banff because of the Calgary floods.

Tired from the sleeplessness from the noise the night before, and which quite obviously was repeating itself with the loud voices of the newly arrived twenty something year old guests on the other side of our interior door, we went to the front desk to the employee who had assigned us this incorrect room. We asked him to follow our original request for a quiet room with no interior door, ( and the restaurant noise was nil since it was closed as so few guests were in the hotel) and to re assign to a different room these new guests who were still bringing in their belongings. He had zero interest in doing so by saying he "couldn't" and that he didn't "recall" our quiet requests. Still there was no management to talk to as we were told the GM was still in a different city.

Given that we were certainly not paying for another sleepless night in a hotel so absurdly unsafe that it didn't generate power into guest rooms, (which apparently went on for 8+ hours) and had disengaged employees who met none of the room request to which they had agreed on arrival, we packed, left and easily found accommodation with electricity generated in our room and total quiet for sleep. Fortunately Banff doesn't become dark until around 9:30 pm since it is so far west in its time zone and we were able to complete all this before darkness.

A follow up letter to the GM has brought defensiveness and arrogance in response - oh, what a surprise! Isn't that why the hotel is so mismanaged? And why employees don't have to do their jobs? In spite of him not having been physically on the premises for the 2 days we were, he replied that he "had a very good understanding of what transpired after talking with his colleagues who had interacted with us during our stay". Yes, I'm sure they emphasized to him how carefully they met the details of our 'quiet' requirement and their careful assigning of noisy guests to the room beside us in a nearly empty hotel. Often when there is a problem such as this, one can clearly see it is because there is no concern or respect from the top downwards.

In pursuing this Fawlty Towers of the West with the town of Banff administration who have been very helpful, it is most noteworthy that this hotel since it is built outside the jurisdiction of Banff, is free of the obligations it would have to fulfill if it were inside that boundary. That doesn't build a feeling of confidence for one's safety, does it?

So if you want to spend top dollar, have your original (room) requests repeatedly ignored, and be in a noisy, sleepless, unsafe environment without even a light bulb of generated light in your room during a power blackout - well then this would be your hotel of choice.

Imagine the disaster of a fire occurring here in a National Park full of trees when guest rooms didn't have light or sane hotel management or leadership? Isn't this what happened on the Costa Concordia? Absentee leadership and staff who were without proper instruction and training while the captain escaped to safety on the sidelines?

Why would this hotel lobby and bar be fully light all night long with hotel generated power, and not a tiny bit of power would have been engineered and designed to be in guest rooms? Were guests who came to the hotel to sleep supposed to stay up all night in the bar or lobby? Why pay for a room if to be safe you needed to be in a publicly light room?

The Rimrock's view and physical appearance hide what danger and incompetence lie within. How surprised and disappointed we were. Appearances are sometimes deceiving.

Consider asking at any hotel where you stay, " Do you have emergency generated light in each guest room?" "What commitment will you make to ensuring that we have quiet, restful nights without disturbance?"

Just don't ask at the Rimrock; they don't tell the truth.

Take your own personal steps in advance to stay safe wherever you travel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
It is disappointing to hear that we were unable to meet your requests during our local state of emergency. We hope our readership can understand the circumstances around which this review was completed. We attempted to assist each guest during this trying time, and the response we have received for our assistance and dedication to providing a safe and supportive environment has been amazing. We thank each guest for the understanding, empathy, and compassion showed throughout this time, and look forward to providing a truly unique Rimrock Experience moving forward.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Excellent service, Upon check in, we Inquired about July 1 fireworks and were invited to view from top of the hotel.
Hotel is removed from town and up the mountain. However your room key gives access to public transit that stops outside the hotel. We brought our bicycles and when not up top the challenge of biking up the mountain, the transit bus has bike carriers.
We did not use our vehicle during our entire 3 days.
We requested a microwave oven when booking and were accommodated (There are 2 full size supermarkets in the town of Banff.
Too many hike and bike trails to choose from.

Room Tip: Built into side of the mountain. 7 th floor is entry ground level. 6 th or higher offer the best vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the Rimrock for 6 days with my adult daughter. The best of the hotel includes the Larkspur restaurant overlooking the mountains and valley. Beautiful view whether you're inside or on the balcony. Food prices at the Larkspur were very reasonable for Banff and the food was absolutely delicious! Since it is up the mountain, it was much quieter than other hotels in the middle of town. A short ride down the mountain and you're in the midst of Banff. We saw a huge elk at the bottom of the road our last night there. Downside - must pay for parking which seemed out of place since there was a large parking garage and no other alternatives. The concierges were extremely helpful with suggesting hikes. The entire staff - in the Larkspur, concierges, door men - all very friendly and upbeat. I definitely recommend this hotel as a splurge in an absolutely beautiful setting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is a very good value for the price paid in Banff . Although it is a bit away from downtown Banff , it is just a short drive from Downtown and the room is nice and clean and beds are comfortable. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The roll away bed is very useful for my teenage boy who wants to have his own bed.

Room Tip: not sure what an obstructed view room is like as we upgraded it ( pay extra) upon suggestion by hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you don't want to throw down the cash for the Fairmont, the Rimrock is a close second in Banff for a top-rated hotel (stay here and still have drinks/snacks on the huge deck with the amazing view at the Fairmont, though!)

Location - you probably need a car if you are staying here. We loved that it was a 5 minute drive uphill out of town, as you felt up in the mountains and away from the touristy center of town. It is also an 80 minute drive from Calgary. Other location highlights - the hotel is right across the street from the Hot Springs and very close to the Banff gondola which is a must on a nice day for great views.

Hotel -The hotel is a lot more modern than the Fairmont, and very lodge-feeling. We enjoyed the common areas, and especially the bars and the small deck overlooking the mountain side (only 3 tables, though). We only ate dinner in the lounge once, but it was quite good and moderately priced. The rooms were somewhat plain, but were very clean and included high quality sheets, pillows, and linens. Most rooms felt like a corner room with windows on both sides that come to a point with beautiful views. Staff were friendly and accommodating at all times, and were always helpful with directions and tips.

Cons:
$16 daily parking
Deck for drinks was only 3 tables - always a wait to sit outside
Rooms somewhat plain - and our bathroom seemed to always have someone else's hair on the floor which was not ideal

Restaurants we liked: Grizzly House for fondue, Bear Street Tavern for pizza and drinks, and Phil's for breakfast/brunch.
Sites we liked around Banff: Minnewanka boat cruise, Banff gondola/Sulphur Mountain, Johnston Canyon, Bow Falls, and Vermillion Lakes. We did all that in a day. We spent a second day around Lake Louise/Moraine, as well as Yoho National Park sites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent 5 days at Rimrock- beautiful location -mountains and fir trees. The room was spacious, clean and had a nice view. The front desk was helpful and pleasant. No complaints and would come back again, Lots of restaurants in Banff. Enjoyed being 3 km from town - nice and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.