We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems remote but not really” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Banff
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Seems remote but not really”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Excellent service, Upon check in, we Inquired about July 1 fireworks and were invited to view from top of the hotel.
Hotel is removed from town and up the mountain. However your room key gives access to public transit that stops outside the hotel. We brought our bicycles and when not up top the challenge of biking up the mountain, the transit bus has bike carriers.
We did not use our vehicle during our entire 3 days.
We requested a microwave oven when booking and were accommodated (There are 2 full size supermarkets in the town of Banff.
Too many hike and bike trails to choose from.

Room Tip: Built into side of the mountain. 7 th floor is entry ground level. 6 th or higher offer the best vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    815
    427
    175
    68
    49
See reviews for
357
708
35
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the Rimrock for 6 days with my adult daughter. The best of the hotel includes the Larkspur restaurant overlooking the mountains and valley. Beautiful view whether you're inside or on the balcony. Food prices at the Larkspur were very reasonable for Banff and the food was absolutely delicious! Since it is up the mountain, it was much quieter than other hotels in the middle of town. A short ride down the mountain and you're in the midst of Banff. We saw a huge elk at the bottom of the road our last night there. Downside - must pay for parking which seemed out of place since there was a large parking garage and no other alternatives. The concierges were extremely helpful with suggesting hikes. The entire staff - in the Larkspur, concierges, door men - all very friendly and upbeat. I definitely recommend this hotel as a splurge in an absolutely beautiful setting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is a very good value for the price paid in Banff . Although it is a bit away from downtown Banff , it is just a short drive from Downtown and the room is nice and clean and beds are comfortable. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The roll away bed is very useful for my teenage boy who wants to have his own bed.

Room Tip: not sure what an obstructed view room is like as we upgraded it ( pay extra) upon suggestion by hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you don't want to throw down the cash for the Fairmont, the Rimrock is a close second in Banff for a top-rated hotel (stay here and still have drinks/snacks on the huge deck with the amazing view at the Fairmont, though!)

Location - you probably need a car if you are staying here. We loved that it was a 5 minute drive uphill out of town, as you felt up in the mountains and away from the touristy center of town. It is also an 80 minute drive from Calgary. Other location highlights - the hotel is right across the street from the Hot Springs and very close to the Banff gondola which is a must on a nice day for great views.

Hotel -The hotel is a lot more modern than the Fairmont, and very lodge-feeling. We enjoyed the common areas, and especially the bars and the small deck overlooking the mountain side (only 3 tables, though). We only ate dinner in the lounge once, but it was quite good and moderately priced. The rooms were somewhat plain, but were very clean and included high quality sheets, pillows, and linens. Most rooms felt like a corner room with windows on both sides that come to a point with beautiful views. Staff were friendly and accommodating at all times, and were always helpful with directions and tips.

Cons:
$16 daily parking
Deck for drinks was only 3 tables - always a wait to sit outside
Rooms somewhat plain - and our bathroom seemed to always have someone else's hair on the floor which was not ideal

Restaurants we liked: Grizzly House for fondue, Bear Street Tavern for pizza and drinks, and Phil's for breakfast/brunch.
Sites we liked around Banff: Minnewanka boat cruise, Banff gondola/Sulphur Mountain, Johnston Canyon, Bow Falls, and Vermillion Lakes. We did all that in a day. We spent a second day around Lake Louise/Moraine, as well as Yoho National Park sites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent 5 days at Rimrock- beautiful location -mountains and fir trees. The room was spacious, clean and had a nice view. The front desk was helpful and pleasant. No complaints and would come back again, Lots of restaurants in Banff. Enjoyed being 3 km from town - nice and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Rimrock is a hotel for the wealthy. Which is probably perspective because to the wealthy, this would be a good deal. Hence, my point.

With that said, this means the staff have been dealing mostly with entitled, privileged, high-maintenance people, which makes it harder for them to be compassionate towards the every day folk who saved all year so they could splurge on a romantic anniversary vacation getaway.

However, despite feeling the lack of genuine human care from staff here, I do feel they make the effort to accommodate you (however begrudgingly). We all want the best bang for our buck and it's hard to justify a $300+ a night room stay.

The views are pretty spectacular, after you decide which view you prefer. I recommend asking to see views out of 2 available rooms. This is more work for the staff as one will have to take you on a "tour", but you, as the guest, may feel like you are getting more option for the money you're putting down. Thankfully the staff was willing to do this for us in attempting to understand our preferences and we ended up loving the room we were offered and agreed to spend the money to upgrade. (Which after doing the math I slightly vomited in my mouth then saved it for dinner as I had no money left for a meal.. lol.)

HOWEVER, if you have cash.. Just pay the value of the room, probably a grand view room. It will be lovely either way and it wouldn't really put a dent in your pocket.

With all that said, I revert back to my first statement. This hotel is for the wealthy, so expect to pay like money ain't a thang.

Some downside is you do have to pay daily for parking and breakfast is NOT included. Some of the staff are international, which is cool for them, but a bummer for you when they misunderstand you and don't bring you whatever it is you asked for. It wouldn't normally be a bummer, except that the pricey environment cultivates expectation for a specific reasonable level of service. Oh no! Have I become an entitled?

I was a little let down by room service. Our food came up luke-warm both times. :( Maybe they need to invest in a better way to keep food warm from the kitchen to our rooms.

Overall, it's a wonderful hotel. Just expect to tip $5 to each person who helps you, be kind to the staff (some of them are pretty awesome and kind), pay the fees.. then sit back, relax, and enjoy the views.

Room Tip: If view is the main reason you're willing to pay the room rate, ask to see 2-3 options so you fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family of 14 just returned from a great week at the Rimrock. As we arrived when the TransCanada Hwy. was closed between Calgary and Banff due to the flooding, it was a challenge just to get there.

We chose the Rimrock due to the many favorable reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. For us, the location was perfect. It was close enough to town so that we could either take the ROAM bus or walk along the trail which led from the hotel down the mountain (always rode the bus up, however), yet far enough away that we could just "experience the Rockies".

The rooms were spacious, most had beautiful mountain or valley views, and a few had balconies (exp. Rm 469)

The staff was exceptional. I don't think I met anyone in 8 days who seemed unhappy to be working (and that is rare in any industry). The concierge staff were extremely helpful and never seemed too busy to make reservations or to give suggestions for activities. The bell staff at the front door always had a nice greeting and seemed genuinely interested in their guests.

The kids in our group loved the good-sized pool and enjoyed running around on the grass outside.

Primrose was good, but not really a "family" restaurant...better for tour groups with adults. We sometimes ate in the Larkspur (bar) area, but mainly went into town. There was a Starbucks up at the Gondola which made some of our group very happy (short walk - opens at 8 in the morning).

This was a hotel to which we'd all love to return.

Room Tip: There was a row of rooms with large balconies starting with room 469.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel
Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.