We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice in Banff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Banff
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“great choice in Banff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you don't want to throw down the cash for the Fairmont, the Rimrock is a close second in Banff for a top-rated hotel (stay here and still have drinks/snacks on the huge deck with the amazing view at the Fairmont, though!)

Location - you probably need a car if you are staying here. We loved that it was a 5 minute drive uphill out of town, as you felt up in the mountains and away from the touristy center of town. It is also an 80 minute drive from Calgary. Other location highlights - the hotel is right across the street from the Hot Springs and very close to the Banff gondola which is a must on a nice day for great views.

Hotel -The hotel is a lot more modern than the Fairmont, and very lodge-feeling. We enjoyed the common areas, and especially the bars and the small deck overlooking the mountain side (only 3 tables, though). We only ate dinner in the lounge once, but it was quite good and moderately priced. The rooms were somewhat plain, but were very clean and included high quality sheets, pillows, and linens. Most rooms felt like a corner room with windows on both sides that come to a point with beautiful views. Staff were friendly and accommodating at all times, and were always helpful with directions and tips.

Cons:
$16 daily parking
Deck for drinks was only 3 tables - always a wait to sit outside
Rooms somewhat plain - and our bathroom seemed to always have someone else's hair on the floor which was not ideal

Restaurants we liked: Grizzly House for fondue, Bear Street Tavern for pizza and drinks, and Phil's for breakfast/brunch.
Sites we liked around Banff: Minnewanka boat cruise, Banff gondola/Sulphur Mountain, Johnston Canyon, Bow Falls, and Vermillion Lakes. We did all that in a day. We spent a second day around Lake Louise/Moraine, as well as Yoho National Park sites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,060
    504
    201
    82
    59
See reviews for
457
889
41
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niles, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent 5 days at Rimrock- beautiful location -mountains and fir trees. The room was spacious, clean and had a nice view. The front desk was helpful and pleasant. No complaints and would come back again, Lots of restaurants in Banff. Enjoyed being 3 km from town - nice and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Rimrock is a hotel for the wealthy. Which is probably perspective because to the wealthy, this would be a good deal. Hence, my point.

With that said, this means the staff have been dealing mostly with entitled, privileged, high-maintenance people, which makes it harder for them to be compassionate towards the every day folk who saved all year so they could splurge on a romantic anniversary vacation getaway.

However, despite feeling the lack of genuine human care from staff here, I do feel they make the effort to accommodate you (however begrudgingly). We all want the best bang for our buck and it's hard to justify a $300+ a night room stay.

The views are pretty spectacular, after you decide which view you prefer. I recommend asking to see views out of 2 available rooms. This is more work for the staff as one will have to take you on a "tour", but you, as the guest, may feel like you are getting more option for the money you're putting down. Thankfully the staff was willing to do this for us in attempting to understand our preferences and we ended up loving the room we were offered and agreed to spend the money to upgrade. (Which after doing the math I slightly vomited in my mouth then saved it for dinner as I had no money left for a meal.. lol.)

HOWEVER, if you have cash.. Just pay the value of the room, probably a grand view room. It will be lovely either way and it wouldn't really put a dent in your pocket.

With all that said, I revert back to my first statement. This hotel is for the wealthy, so expect to pay like money ain't a thang.

Some downside is you do have to pay daily for parking and breakfast is NOT included. Some of the staff are international, which is cool for them, but a bummer for you when they misunderstand you and don't bring you whatever it is you asked for. It wouldn't normally be a bummer, except that the pricey environment cultivates expectation for a specific reasonable level of service. Oh no! Have I become an entitled?

I was a little let down by room service. Our food came up luke-warm both times. :( Maybe they need to invest in a better way to keep food warm from the kitchen to our rooms.

Overall, it's a wonderful hotel. Just expect to tip $5 to each person who helps you, be kind to the staff (some of them are pretty awesome and kind), pay the fees.. then sit back, relax, and enjoy the views.

Room Tip: If view is the main reason you're willing to pay the room rate, ask to see 2-3 options so you fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family of 14 just returned from a great week at the Rimrock. As we arrived when the TransCanada Hwy. was closed between Calgary and Banff due to the flooding, it was a challenge just to get there.

We chose the Rimrock due to the many favorable reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. For us, the location was perfect. It was close enough to town so that we could either take the ROAM bus or walk along the trail which led from the hotel down the mountain (always rode the bus up, however), yet far enough away that we could just "experience the Rockies".

The rooms were spacious, most had beautiful mountain or valley views, and a few had balconies (exp. Rm 469)

The staff was exceptional. I don't think I met anyone in 8 days who seemed unhappy to be working (and that is rare in any industry). The concierge staff were extremely helpful and never seemed too busy to make reservations or to give suggestions for activities. The bell staff at the front door always had a nice greeting and seemed genuinely interested in their guests.

The kids in our group loved the good-sized pool and enjoyed running around on the grass outside.

Primrose was good, but not really a "family" restaurant...better for tour groups with adults. We sometimes ate in the Larkspur (bar) area, but mainly went into town. There was a Starbucks up at the Gondola which made some of our group very happy (short walk - opens at 8 in the morning).

This was a hotel to which we'd all love to return.

Room Tip: There was a row of rooms with large balconies starting with room 469.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is on the side of a mountain and the views are fantastic. They have a free shuttle that will take you downtown. Food is very expensive as is in most 5 star hotels. Rooms are large and very comfy. Banff is great. Plenty of animals to see. Downtown has great restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just spent one night at the Rimrock in Banff. Gorgeous view, extremely comfy bed, great customer service!! If your looking for a romantic getaway - this is the place. It's a bit off the beaten path so you'll have to drive to Banff Ave - totally worth it! Would go back in a heartbeat ;)

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you're looking for an upscale feel (with air conditioning and free internet) for a summer trip without paying for the Fairmont, then the Rimrock resort is for you.

Getting there: about 1.5 hours from Calgary by car; there are apparently busses that take visitors between Calgary and Banff, but we found the car helpful to do our own exploring between Banff, Lake Louise, Lake Moraine, etc without having to rely on tours. We visited July 2-6 and roads are clear between Banff and Calgary, though you can see the aftemath of the recent flooding when you drive through Canmore.

Location: About 5 minute drive past the downtown Banff area = perfect! Guests at the Rimrock can use the ROAM bus for free (which runs every 40 mins and takes you to/from downtown area, which makes it really easy to get around). Short walk (like 2 minutes - literally across the road) to the Banff Upper Hot Springs (which is open until 11pm and great after a day of hiking), and short walk (5 minutes up the street) to the Banff Gondola. If you plan to get out and about on your trip, don't think twice about having to take the ROAM, taxi or your own car into town. Not a big deal, easy to get around, and worth it to be able to hike and explore right from the hotel's front door.

Hotel: The hotel is built into the mountain, which is really neat. Great views, especially if overlooking the valley. Our room was quite large (king size bed, sitting area with sofa and chairs, plus lots of additional unused space, which would be good should someone need a rollaway bed or crib or something). Rooms were quiet - though you could hear guests through the door if they were talking loudly while walking past - but for the most part we didn't hear a thing). Air conditioning was good, bed and pillows were comfy, and room has an empty fridge so you can store your own items - always helpful for snacks and healthy quick breakfasts like yogurt or milk).

Staff: We are frequent travelers and typically rely on recommendations of doormen and concierge staff guide our activities and restaurant seletions. Most of the time, we get canned responses that are predictable and boring - we are given chain restaurants as food suggestions and typical tourist attractions for things to do, and therefore normally have to take recommendations with a grain of salt. Absolutely not the case at Rimrock. We visited with at least 3 different concierges, each of whom listened to our needs and provided excellent recommendations that matched the experience we wanted. Jess provided us great restaurant selections (we planned our meals for the rest of the week based on these and were not disappointed), Sean recommended a unique hiking experience (and even let us borrow his bear spray - thanks again) that was off the beaten path and exactly what we were looking for in the Banff area (take Banff gondola up and hike down back side of the mountain, not the front path that everyone else takes), and Keith recommended a beautiful hike in Lake Louise up to Lake Agnes that was somewhat challenging (3.4K uphil lthe entire way, then of course 3.4K back down) but absolutely worth the views and cash-only restaurant at the top.

We can't speak to what it's like in winter or proximity to skiing, but at least for a summer trip there is no doubt the Rimrock is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the valley - beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.