We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for free!
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family of 14 just returned from a great week at the Rimrock. As we arrived when the TransCanada Hwy. was closed between Calgary and Banff due to the flooding, it was a challenge just to get there.

We chose the Rimrock due to the many favorable reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. For us, the location was perfect. It was close enough to town so that we could either take the ROAM bus or walk along the trail which led from the hotel down the mountain (always rode the bus up, however), yet far enough away that we could just "experience the Rockies".

The rooms were spacious, most had beautiful mountain or valley views, and a few had balconies (exp. Rm 469)

The staff was exceptional. I don't think I met anyone in 8 days who seemed unhappy to be working (and that is rare in any industry). The concierge staff were extremely helpful and never seemed too busy to make reservations or to give suggestions for activities. The bell staff at the front door always had a nice greeting and seemed genuinely interested in their guests.

The kids in our group loved the good-sized pool and enjoyed running around on the grass outside.

Primrose was good, but not really a "family" restaurant...better for tour groups with adults. We sometimes ate in the Larkspur (bar) area, but mainly went into town. There was a Starbucks up at the Gondola which made some of our group very happy (short walk - opens at 8 in the morning).

This was a hotel to which we'd all love to return.

Room Tip: There was a row of rooms with large balconies starting with room 469.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    656
    258
    102
    70
See reviews for
608
1,203
49
268
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is on the side of a mountain and the views are fantastic. They have a free shuttle that will take you downtown. Food is very expensive as is in most 5 star hotels. Rooms are large and very comfy. Banff is great. Plenty of animals to see. Downtown has great restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just spent one night at the Rimrock in Banff. Gorgeous view, extremely comfy bed, great customer service!! If your looking for a romantic getaway - this is the place. It's a bit off the beaten path so you'll have to drive to Banff Ave - totally worth it! Would go back in a heartbeat ;)

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you're looking for an upscale feel (with air conditioning and free internet) for a summer trip without paying for the Fairmont, then the Rimrock resort is for you.

Getting there: about 1.5 hours from Calgary by car; there are apparently busses that take visitors between Calgary and Banff, but we found the car helpful to do our own exploring between Banff, Lake Louise, Lake Moraine, etc without having to rely on tours. We visited July 2-6 and roads are clear between Banff and Calgary, though you can see the aftemath of the recent flooding when you drive through Canmore.

Location: About 5 minute drive past the downtown Banff area = perfect! Guests at the Rimrock can use the ROAM bus for free (which runs every 40 mins and takes you to/from downtown area, which makes it really easy to get around). Short walk (like 2 minutes - literally across the road) to the Banff Upper Hot Springs (which is open until 11pm and great after a day of hiking), and short walk (5 minutes up the street) to the Banff Gondola. If you plan to get out and about on your trip, don't think twice about having to take the ROAM, taxi or your own car into town. Not a big deal, easy to get around, and worth it to be able to hike and explore right from the hotel's front door.

Hotel: The hotel is built into the mountain, which is really neat. Great views, especially if overlooking the valley. Our room was quite large (king size bed, sitting area with sofa and chairs, plus lots of additional unused space, which would be good should someone need a rollaway bed or crib or something). Rooms were quiet - though you could hear guests through the door if they were talking loudly while walking past - but for the most part we didn't hear a thing). Air conditioning was good, bed and pillows were comfy, and room has an empty fridge so you can store your own items - always helpful for snacks and healthy quick breakfasts like yogurt or milk).

Staff: We are frequent travelers and typically rely on recommendations of doormen and concierge staff guide our activities and restaurant seletions. Most of the time, we get canned responses that are predictable and boring - we are given chain restaurants as food suggestions and typical tourist attractions for things to do, and therefore normally have to take recommendations with a grain of salt. Absolutely not the case at Rimrock. We visited with at least 3 different concierges, each of whom listened to our needs and provided excellent recommendations that matched the experience we wanted. Jess provided us great restaurant selections (we planned our meals for the rest of the week based on these and were not disappointed), Sean recommended a unique hiking experience (and even let us borrow his bear spray - thanks again) that was off the beaten path and exactly what we were looking for in the Banff area (take Banff gondola up and hike down back side of the mountain, not the front path that everyone else takes), and Keith recommended a beautiful hike in Lake Louise up to Lake Agnes that was somewhat challenging (3.4K uphil lthe entire way, then of course 3.4K back down) but absolutely worth the views and cash-only restaurant at the top.

We can't speak to what it's like in winter or proximity to skiing, but at least for a summer trip there is no doubt the Rimrock is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the valley - beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, IL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

It was hard to tell how swanky this hotel was because I'm a middle-of-the-road traveler. Yet, it certainly had the ambiance you might expect for it. We were pleasantly greeted by a top-hatted valet and afforded assistance with our luggage (which we passed on.) Garage parking was easy and accessible. Check-in was very simple and the staff very friendly and naturally so.

The room was appointed very nicely. Even being on the 2nd floor, we had a surprisingly nice view of the mountains, and of two deer eating on the hillside right next to us.

We chose to eat in Banff and so cannot speak to the meals there other than to ensure you have deep pockets if you want to eat here.

Across the street are the hot springs but we did not go there. Very convenient, though.

Next time I visit Banff I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

to start with, such a beautiful hotel, didn't know what to expect after all the devastation in Banff and Canmore. Staff were extremely friendly, explaining how empty the hotel was, but just because people cancelled. Jokingly I stated we were there because of my girlfriends 60th and my birthday, and I said maybe we should be upgraded. The lovely girl behind the counter smiled and said, as a matter of fact I have two empty king size bed room, and they are ready now, and we were upgraded, and she said Happy Birthday from the Rimrock. This hotel and staff were so friendly and helpful. Beautiful surroundings, clean rooms, etc, awesome pool and weight room. We were sitting in the lobby taking in all this natural beauty, when the hotel manager,,Nathan, joined us..they were trying to get a squirrel out, and jokingly I said, cute vacuum cleaner. While he laughed and joined us in our conversation. Extremely informative, proud of his hotel, and very supportive for Canmore, what they went through and the town of Banff. Just a friendly young manager, made us feel very welcome. Then we explained our friends rooms air conditioner didn't work, and tried two times to get it fixed and didn't sleep through night. He immediately said I will look into it, and have them moved. Well, we went with Nathan and our friends, found them a room that the air conditioner worked, and because we were both celebrating our birthdays, and playing cards etc in each others room, he also moved us to a room one suite down. This to my amazement was the most wonderful experience with a hotel manager who put his customers first. All he said was, enjoy, and Happy Birthday Ladies, this was way beyond what we have ever experienced from a nice young hotel manager. Thank you Nathan and staff for the most wonderful three days, and wonderful birthday. We all know that we will be coming back to our favorite place now. Clean, great food, great staff, and mother natures most beautiful scenery. My fantastic birthday at the Rimrock..

Room Tip: get a room at the back of the hotel and starting at the 4th floor ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was left with mixed opinion of this truly nice property. Positives first:
1. Solid building, tastefully decorated with all amenities you would expect in the hotel. There is no noise issue as the building is concrete.
2. Located in the nature.. However you must have a car if you want to stay in this hotel as walking into town is 30 mins downhill which means even longer on your return.
Negatives:
1. Hotel charges for parking which I think is unfair since it is located so far away from any alternative parking arrangement that you have no choice but to park there.
2. Hotel is busy and you feel you are treated as a number
3. Requested a quiet room on a higher floor... made to pay more for a room with a view... After waiting for an hour and a half for room to be ready, it ended up a room with a connecting door (not so quiet). Offered an alternative option on lower floor which was not any different than a normal room apart from a nicer view. Promised nicer amenities etc but it was not the case. When requested to view a regular room, they had no staff to do it... in the end I just gave up waiting and just called a Duty Manager who finally waived the extra charge for upgrade... It was my birthday trip and bearing in mind I only asked for a quiet room I thought the whole affair turned into hassle.
4. Despite my experience above I do not want to put you off staying in this property. It is very secluded and stylish hotel. If you like those two descriptions and prepared to pay for it then you are in the right place. I did feel that someone eventually looked after us but I had to speak to a Manager... Product knowledge and staff training as well as absence of a personal touch is clearly apparent.

Room Tip: I provided a picture of the view from room 610... Breath taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.