We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but good, if you want a view you may pay more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Banff
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pricey but good, if you want a view you may pay more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very nice hotel located close to gondola and banff springs, a bit of a drive to town. We reserved a mountain view with obstruction and it was definitely obstructed, no view except some trees. Service was outstanding, our four year old was sick during the night and staff promptly brought fresh sheets and remade the bed, it was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,794 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    991
    480
    192
    79
    52
See reviews for
418
835
39
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My Husband booked our little family of 3 for one night at The Rimrock for my birthday in May. My birthday was Saturday followed by Mother's Day the following day. We were on a budget which we thought would do us for our short weekend trip. To our dismay, we arrived at the hotel and they wanted an additional $250 deposit for incidentals on top of the $350 with tax for the price of the room. We've been to resorts and upscale hotels all over North America and have never been requested to pay more than $100 deposit for incidentals so this really dented our budget. We had to cancel our reservation at the Keg for my birthday and instead, split an order of nachos in the Rimrock lounge for dinner. Upon check in, they did give us 3 free drink coupons and a free buffet breakfast for me since it was my birthday. It was a nice gesture, but the $250 deposit they had required at check in was budgeted for the weekend to pay for food. I didn't want to end up eating at the breakfast buffet alone on Mother's Day without my Husband and Son, so my Husband went and asked if we could charge the cost of their breakfasts to the room so it could be taken from the $250 deposit. After about an hour, his request was granted so they could eat with me for Mother's Day. The hotel itself was very nice, very clean. There is a large firepit out back and we asked concierge if someone could get wood and light it for us. We spent the evening chatting with a lovely family we met there. After they left, 6 more people came out and sat around the fire. Everyone was very friendly. If it wasn't for the unnecessarily large deposit and the having to deal with the front desk concerning money, the weekend would have been perfect. Would I return? No.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I attended a conference at this location for the first time.
The overall experience was great. The staff are very customer service oriented and always smiled and said hello, whether passing you in the hall or while behind a counter.
Check in was fast and efficient, although, luckily, I did miss the rush by a few minutes.
The bell staff made baggage handling a breeze and by the time I parked the rental car and made my way up to the room, my luggage was being placed in the room.
When i checked in I asked if an upgraded room was available after the conference was over as my wife was going to join me for a couple of days. I got a room with a pretty good view of Tunnel Mountain. Most of my colleagues got a view of the Porte Cochere or the parking garage.
Now for the items that prevent a full five stars....
The 16 dollar per night fee to self park, or the 30 dollar charge for valet parking...really? In a parking structure that is incredible cramped...and crowded, which begs the question.."When people are parking along the road to the Gondola because the garage is full, why is one full level and a partial level of the parkade closed and used to store old furniture, rather than opened up for parking?"
The other concern is gouging an additional charge for "premium" WiFi...I know that Banff is the ultimate tourist trap, but come on...when business travellers are using a hotel of this quality to meet and confer, isn't it realistic to expect to be able to do business properly without being penalized by a surcharge on wifi?
The conference facilities are pretty much average, main ballroom, breakout rooms etc.
I read some past reviews regarding poor quality food and service.
My experience with the meals in the Primrose Dining room and the Larkspur Lounge were very good and the catered food for the conference were exceptional. I will cover those on their pages.
Overall the stay was great and I am looking forward to next year's conference already...

Room Tip: If you can afford it upgrade to a view room if you plan on spending time in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geel, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel was just awesome. Great view from our room, as well as their restaurants. The staff was super friendly at all times. We had breakfast in the hotel, which was very tasty and not overpriced. The chocolate waffles and pancakes were delicious. We used the pool, which is very well equipped, with separate showers, lockers and free towels as well. We just had a great stay in this hotel. Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We adore the Rimrock Hotel, have stayed a few times. Recently, my husband took me for my birthday. It was a lovely surprise. We went in February, so, during ski season - cold and snowy.When you drive up to the hotel you see its Nestled in the Trees and in the mountains. When you walk into the beautiful lobby of the Rimrock, the first thing that you notice is the scent of the wood buring fireplace...delicious. Its a very welcoming relaxing feeling. Its like walking into your home...If your home was a huge Mansion. :-). The staff at the Rimrock are top notch, and professional. Welcoming and helpful.

Our room was spacious and comfortable. Overlooking the valley, its not obvious from the front, but the hotel is on a cliff, so all the back rooms have a great mountain and valley view, and so private, its like you're in a private Chalet.

Before we headed to bed we stoped in the lounge for a glass of port...just warms your innards :-)

Our bed was very very comfortable, and a great choice of pillows and extra blankets. We just lounged for the entire morning. Huge TV, lovely bath, big fluffy towels, tons of extras in the bathroom..dont bring a thing...just your toothbrush and a cute guy.

There was parking, it was mostly indoor, but if you were out late...you may be on the top level (Outside) burrrr but we are Calgarians...we wear shorts when its plus 3.

Banff, of course is a lovely little town, with plenty to do places to eat, Bars, wildlife on the streets terrific sights - just a nice place to stroll and window shop. The newly opened Cave and Basin, also a great place to visit. I used to swim there as a child, hot pool and cold pool. As well as the Upper hot springs...so much fun, and many fun childhood memories spent swimming in the pools with my brother and sisters. If its open and not too socked in a ride on the gondola up Sulpher is a MUST do

Its true when you live close to something so spectacular, you take it for granted..we dont go often anymore, but its always nice to visit, and Staying at the Rimrock, is The cherry on top of a very nice weekend.

Love it there

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Really enjoyed this hotel, we usually stay at the Springs but have wanted to try the Rimrock. Used the pool and spa everything was great!

Only issues were poor wifi in room and $35 charge for room with a better view.

Room Tip: Stay here even if only for one night you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We decided to drive from Vancouver to Calgary and needed hotels along the way. Overall, we did well, but the Rimrock Resort in Banff was the best find. We had a great room overlooking forests and mountains. Although next time, we may try and get one with a balcony. Staff was very friendly and accommodating throughout the hotel. Nice spa and pool although there isn't any way to get there without going through the lobby if you are on the newer side of the hotel. But they do have changing rooms if you want to lug your stuff. Ate in the Primrose Restaurant for two dinners and two buffet breakfasts, excellent meals. Check out the huge fireplace in the lobby. It's "man sized", literally - the person tending the fire had to get inside the fireplace. Quite something to watch. The resort is a couple miles (or kilometers) from downtown Banff, but there is a public bus that runs from very early morn to evening until late a night. But there is also parking (at least at this time of year) in Banff so you can drive your own car, as well. The resort is walking distance to the Banff gondola and the Banff hot springs. Highly recommended if you do not have a need to be within walking distance of town.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
Free internet...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#5 of 33 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,403 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
2.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
City Center, Bu...
Show More
2.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.