We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Both business and pleasure.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Banff
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Both business and pleasure.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I was here for six nights, three on vacation and three for business.

The hotel, rooms, and staff are great. You cannot beat the views! It is a little removed from town, which can be a plus or minus depending on your point of view. If you want peace and quiet this is the place. If you want to walk to dinner or shopping, forget about it. They do however offer no cost rides on the local bus service.

The conference facilities are wonderful.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    984
    477
    191
    78
    51
See reviews for
414
829
39
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Priddis, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Rimrock did not disappoint on our recent visit. It's setting is majestic with stunning views. The staff is friendly, attentive and helpful. We spent a relaxing, snowy day by the beautiful, huge fireplace in the lounge, reading and being served coffee, drinks, etc. Our room was very clean, quiet and spacious. The only negative was that it was too hot at night and, although we turned the temperature down, the heat stayed on. We brought this to the attention of the staff and they sent a maintenance man to check it. After his visit, it was much better. We enjoyed the fitness centre and the swimming pool, but didn't visit the spa. We wanted a quiet, relaxing holiday for a few days and this hotel and staff delivered - just what we wanted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I took my mom for a girls weekend for her birthday, our room was upgraded and they brought her a happy birthday card with chocolates. The room was gorgeous. The staff is amazing, they are all super friendly and there to help with anything. I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here while celebrating my wife's birthday and could not have picked a better hotel. It's hard to find a hotel in Banff with a bad view. But Rimrock found a location that is far better than almost all others in the area. And the service was outstanding. The Concierge desk went way beyond our expectations, answering our endless questions and making several reservations for us. By far what impressed us most was the outstanding service at the hotel. I travel for business and stay in hotels a lot. But the service at the Rimrock was one of the best I've ever encountered.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

What a great place to relax and wind down. Lovely well fitted rooms, great views, ambiance, quality, spa, pool, steam rooms and professional staff. The pushy head porter and some pricey food choices were all we could find fault with. We got a special package deal which was a bonus and made the stay even sweeter. We ate in the Primrose Restaurant and the menu/food was very good.
Nice walk available into Banff down the valley from the RimRock which takes you past the impressive and elegant Fairmount Springs Hotel ( worth a look inside) and into town. There is a regular bus service from 7am - 11pm which you can take from the hotel to Banff and back again.
Wouldn't hesitate to return visit.

Room Tip: ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Rimrock for a conference and had brought our 2 small children with us. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was lovely lots of space for a family of 4 and had a great view of mountains. I loved the more modern decor of the hotel. I would actually stay here over Bannf Springs. We enjoyed only being a few min walk away from the gondola and hot springs and the town bus stopped right at our hotel. The fitness/ pool area was excellent! Can't wait to go again and enjoy it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We went to this hotel for the first time to just relax. We usually stay at a different hotel in Banff but we wanted something different. Well the service at the restaurant was horrible, food was cold when we got it and the server disappeared, never asking if everything was ok, did we need anything or to refill our drinks. Then we had finished what we could eat and another server came and took our drinks and asked if we wanted menus, so we said no we had just finished eating and would like our drinks. He just turned and walked away. Went to the hostess to get our bill as the servers just ignored us. Went to the pool both nights and the change room was filthy. Toilets not cleaned, floors were dirty, no shampoo, conditioner & lotion all over the floor. Went to the attendant and asked to get someone to clean them and they did nothing. Supposed to be adults only from 9:30 pm to close, but there were kids in there with water balloons, screaming and splashing and overall making it impossible to relax. The attendants are worthless as they don't do anything to ensure the guests have a pleasant experience Went to use the washroom by the restaurant and there was paper all over the floor, toilets not flushing, sinks filthy. Seems like they need to clean up their act. I won't stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.