We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Kids & 2 Parents for Easter Weekend Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“2 Kids & 2 Parents for Easter Weekend Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

- We arrived Friday evening and there was a GIANT line for check-in that took a VERY long time (about 45 minutes). There were only 3 people working at the front desk with a massive line-up of people. Not sure why.

- Pool was AWESOME - the kids loved the pool and the massive hot-tub. And the most STUNNING view from the pool/work-out area.

- Food was AWFUL! We orderd 2 mac & cheese off the menu for the kids thinking it would be like homemade mac & cheese - what showed up was cold noodles with a VERY bland white sauce, the kids wouldn't even touch it. It was also served with PLAIN broccoli (again, not well suited to kids).My husband and I ordered pulled pork sandwhiches, also AWFUL and cold. The meat was gross, dry, and grizzly. EWWW! Word of advice - DON'T order food there, your best bet is to go out to a restaurant in Banff.

- Activites on Easter weekend were awesome for kids, movie playing, egg hunt etc.
- Accommodations were quite nice and comfortable - rooms are big and have STUNNING views of the mountains.

With a change in food/menu/chef this place could rival the Banff Springs......but their not there yet!

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are worth it! Stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience after your recent stay, I apologize for your arrival experience and the wait to check in. We do our best to ensure that we have staffing levels on to meet the needs of our guests however, sometimes can not acount for the chosen arrival time of guests. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience. I am pleased to share that our culinary team is in the process of re-visiting our menu, and that all items will continue to be made in house, from scratch.
I am glad that you were able to participate in the Easter activities ~ including meeting the Easter Bunny on Easter morning for the egg hunt. I hope that you will be back to celebrate Easter next year, and try out the new menu items.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    586
    226
    90
    65
See reviews for
514
1,062
47
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barberton, OH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a very nice hotel and aesthetically, it is beautiful. It cost $16 to park your vehicle one night and $30 to have your car valet parked....for one night! Want wi-fi? EXTRA $6.00 per night. Restaurants are extra nice and extra expensive. Views were spectacular. Along with the spectacular advertising as to how wonderful the hotel is....and it is.....you ought to also indicate that parking and wi-fi are NOT included in the price of your evening stay. We waited in a line of 3 deep to check in with 1 of 2 check in clerks. After a long day of skiing, I was not interested in standing in a line waiting to check in while the clerks seemed to keep idle chat going on & on as if no one was waiting to check in. I really cannot speak to the kids activities or spa, as we did not partake in those things.

Room Tip: The room with a view of the mountains was very beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It is always concerning to read that we did not meet your expectations, and I apologize that we fell short on meeting/exceeding your expectations.

I encourage you to take advantage of booking one of our Premium guest rooms on your next visit ~ with wi-fi included, as well as an upgraded view of the mountains/valley it is a great option.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just returned once again from The Rimrock in Banff, this time with my 90 year old mother. Our room was one floor up from the main level which meant we were close to everything. Check in was a breeze, quick and easy and the staff very friendly. In the evening we returned from dinner in Banff quite late, but after seeing the huge walk-in fireplace, which was so intriguing, we had to spend 30 minutes talking in the lounge and watching the fire. In room 825 the beds are comfortable and spacious with an incredible view, a double window over-looking Tunnel Mountain and the outside courtyard of the hotel, beautiful. The room was also noticeably quiet with only the occasional hum of the mini-bar fridge. Check-out the next morning was again quick and easy; appreciated when you are ready to leave quickly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience! Thank you for the great feedback ~ I am excited to share it with the hotel team.

We look forward to your next stay!

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've stayed here in the past & the hotel has been in a steady decline for the last 10 years. The ceiling tiles in the bathroom are moulding and look like they will fall any moment, the tub had long black hair in it.
The rooms on the South wing overlook the parking lot, (normally not a concern) the lights are quite bright and at the level of the windows, the drapes do not close against the wall as the is a 4" obstruction on the ceiling. We couldn't get any sleep and should of left but it was 23:30 by the time we we're in our room, and we were exhausted from Skiing.
Took the issue up with Tyler (Manager at the front desk). We were told that they would have moved us if we notified them of the problem, (not realistic option in our opinion at basically midnight). He had no comments of the other issues or apologies.
We proceeded to breakfast at the Primrose (Hotel restaurant) where we had stale waffles, pre cut fruit from one or two days prior and whipping cream from a spray can. By now it was comical to think of this as a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: If you stay here you must stay viewing the mountains, insect the cleanliness of your room and the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. It is through the feedback of our guests that we learn how we can be a better service.
I was sorry to read that you noticed deficiencies in your guest room, and appreciate that you took the opportunity to share with my colleague prior to leaving the property, so that we were able to act on your feedback.
I was able to follow up with your concerns in regards to Primrose and our Chef would like to share that we pride ourselves on the food that we serve. Our pastries are made each day, all fruits are cut fresh each morning, and the whipping cream is made from scratch daily. We hope that you will be able to return to Primrose and experience the breakfast options once again.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here on a whim as a Saturday night getaway, booked through an online service.

When we checked in, the booking was actually incorrect thanks to the online service. The front desk staff quickly and effortlessly upgraded us to a junior suite at no extra charge. Though our view was not the best from our room, the room itself was large and very comfortable.

Staff and services throughout were awesome. Any staff member we asked for assistance, they were eager to help.

My only slight negative would be there not having 'grounds' to walk around. This is a winter issue though - we could have brought boots and made do - but only had shoes.

Overall, very happy and definitely will be back.

Room Tip: If you want a gorgeous view, make sure you ask to be on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to learn of your complications with your original booking, and am pleased to read that we were able to correct it for you quicly and efficiently.

We pride ourselves on having a team on property that holds passion to provide each guest with a great experience ~ pleased to read that yours was no exception.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night only this time. We always satisfied every time we stay here. The service from front desk is beyond expectation. Excellent !! We booked hot spring package room with balcony. But we don't have view that we expect. The front desk helped us to switch the room with premium view without difficulties.
Anyway, long story short, they were very helpful.

Excellent Customer Service Ever.
Well done guys..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and kinf words in regards to the staff at the front desk. We take pride in our team, and each of us do our best to ensure that we can provide you a unique, above expectation experience. It is always a pleasure to read the feedback from you our guests, on our success.
Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Hotel was nice if you were there for business and drank. Lots of cool bars expensive restaurants free wine and cool piano playing in lobby..

Parking garage was way far away had to go down 2 elevators and walk across hole hotel hard with little kids...unless you want to use the valet at 36 dollars...if I would have known how far away it is I would have paid it.

This would have also been helpful as we were unable to find a spot to park. We circled for an Hour and finally found a spot..

The pool was super crowded with adults horsing around another family spoke to the attendant didn't really care the horsing around splashing etc made my 2 year old go under twice and get water causing choking we left..

Then at 10:00 there were a bunch of adults running up and down our hallway screaming and yelling woke up the 2 year old and he was screaming due to the noise scared him he didn't go back to bed till 12:30

We were going to call front desk but they stopped and the damage was done they was really nothing they could do.

So The hotel was nice but our experience was not so great and we found out it was not a place for us with a family and non drinkers

Room Tip: pay the valet and get a room close to parkade...go use pool earlier than 7 pm and hope there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I am sorry to hear that you feel that the parking garage is a distance from the property, although located adjacent to the property I can understand the distance if staying in our North wing of the property. We are pleased to provide both self parking option for our guests, as well as valet parking for those who would like.
I read that you were here for SpringstART ~ a great iniative that Banff Lake Louise Tourism has on for the month of April. We are pleased to feature the exhibition of great art, great taste, great space. I am sorry to hear of the noice concerns, our colleagues do their best to ensure that we are able to respond to any concerns that a guest may have promptly.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, T4B, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.