We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall with some shortcomings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for free!
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good overall with some shortcomings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here previously in a room with an uninterrupted view over the Bow Valley and Rockies to the northeast. That room was great. On this trip the room had a partial mountain view but looked primarily towards the other wing of the hotel and the skating rink. On the plus side, the other wing is far enough away not to be too intrusive. The room itself was showing signs of wear and the furnishings were a little dated. Very small bathroom which I'd expect to find in a 1980's motel. Things were, however, clean and in working order.
During holidays, expect the pool area to be full of children. Small but functional gym.
I struggled to suppress the urge to assign a 3/5 as I felt the hotel room should have been better for the price and reputation. Furthermore, a poor impression is left by the extra charges for wifi, parking, and a number of other items a hotel of this standard and price range should provide on a complimentary basis. It did not live up to expectations and I would only stay again if the price was more reasonable i.e. competitive with the better hotels in the town of Banff.

Room Tip: Get a room with an uninterrupted view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Glad that you were able to visit us on your recent trip to Banff. Thank you for taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
I am sorry to hear that you were unable to enjoy the view on this trip, as much as your last. We are proud of our location and that each guest room provides its own unique view of the amazing landscape surronding us.
I appreciate you taking the opportunity to share how we could provide elevated service options to our guests, and I am happy to share that I have shared this with our Management team.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,634
    712
    274
    109
    73
See reviews for
666
1,350
58
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

It's all about which type of room you stay in at the Rimrock. We've stayed here several times in the different types of room and there is definitely a difference from standard to premium to grandview suites. If I was reviewing the premium room I would give this review a 4/5 but for the standard room it was only a 3/5.
Our most recent stay at the Rimrock was in standard room after getting a deal on Hotwire.
Standard rooms are actually more in line with 3 star quality rooms. The shower head in the room was low in an old and small tub shower. Other 4 star hotels I've stayed at have much nicer fully upgraded showers. The hair dryer is an old 1200 watt wall mounted travel size one that was practically falling off the wall. I would expect that type of a hair dryer in a 2 star motel not a 4 star hotel. There was no coffee in the room but of course all the honor bar food items that you had to pay for were there. We called housekeeping and they brought some coffee up right away. The beds are okay but they are not the most comfortable ones. The beds in the premium rooms were definitely better. No bathrobes in the standard rooms even though in the guest services book it speaks about the robes.

In the hallway, there were several dishes sitting outside of rooms that sat there for a couple of hours. The hallway carpets also seemed fairly worn out.

The fitness area has been upgraded fairly recently but I'm not sure why they didn't put a filtered water cooler in that area. Instead there are signs directing you to a water fountain that requires you to leave the fitness area and then you have to re-enter the code for the door in order to get back in the fitness room. The water fountain is also used by lots of kids from the pool so I didn't really want to drink out of it after the child in front of me put his mouth on the spout of the fountain. The pool and hot tub area is nice but was really crowded at 9PM on a Friday night. The actual insides of the pool and hot tub are showing their age - they could use an upgrade of the pool tile linings.

Parking is an additional cost of $16 a night for self-parking or $30 for valet - seems high when most other hotels in Banff don't charge at all for parking.

The location of the Rimrock is incredibly beautiful. It is set right up in the mountains but there are no restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, so you have to drive a few miles back into the town to get food or get stuck paying for the overpriced food and drinks at the Rimrock that are just average quality.

If you are looking for a 4 star room experience I recommend booking a premium room or above.

Room Tip: higher floor premium room or suite facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to the Rocky Mountains. We value and appreciate your feedback, and will be using it to ensure that we make continue to enhance the guest experience.

We are in the process of complething room refreshments to our Standard Category level of guest rooms, and hope that you will be to visit again to see the changes.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is where my fiancé and I stayed the night after we got engaged. I wasn't sure where we would stay because we had planned on winging it for the last leg of our trip in Rockies but I have to say that we were not in any way disappointed. This definitely has the best views from the room in Banff which is saying a lot considering where you are. As everyone else has mentioned, the rooms are great. Parking is a little on tight side but does the job. The ability to walk to Hot Springs & the gondola is quite nice. Also, they have a convenient bus stop right in front of the hotel which is free to hotel guests so you can basically park your car and leave it for the duration of your stay. That being said, if you end up enjoying the Banff nightlife, the cab ride is a little longer & a little more $ (worth it for the peace and quiet).

Room Tip: As someone else mentioned, the rooms all have a great view but higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

No point in repeating all the positives noted in the previous reviews - they are all accurate as far as I'm concerned. Stayed in Room 800, which includes free valet parking, wifi, sparkling wine and choc. strawberries (on arrival** see below), and a 15% restaurant discount (not huge concessions, but it's something; one expects some frills when booking a room like that). There is no better view from a hotel room in Banff, period. Large room with wood burning fireplace, oversized jetted tub, separate shower in a tiled bathroom overlooking yet another amazing view - hard to beat. Almost wall to wall windows, virtually none of which can be peered into by guests in other rooms - unlike the vast majority of the rooms in this hotel. This means privacy and a sense of openness and opulence, as you can keep all the windows open, day or night, and enjoy the views without worrying if other folks are watching. ;)

The spa was not as nice as the Willow Stream at the Banff Springs, nor does it offer the variety of treatments; but how bad can it be?

Divas was only open Fri and Sat nights during our stay, which was disappointing.

I would have given this hotel a 5/5 rating if not for the following:

- on arrival, room was not stocked with firewood as I had requested and confirmed via email.
- on arrival, complimentary bottle and strawberries were not in the room; had to call room service.
- on check in was advised that 15% discount would automatically be applied to restaurant checks as soon as we charged to room #; and if paying by another means that showing our room key would have the same result. This was not the case, had to ask for the discount 3 out of 4 times after the bill was presented and the wait staff had left the table. This meant having to wait to get their attention again (not always easy), asking for the discount (a bit embarassing...) and waiting for the new bill to be done up. Minor things overall, but like I said, a bit more effort would have netted a 5/5! I expect top notch treatment and service at a hotel like this, and it was close....
- In this room the windows stretch nearly from wall to wall, floor to ceiling. But they've decided to put a 25 inch TV in an enormous wardrobe sized cabinet right at the foot of the bed, blocking a significant part of the view out the windows from that location. This is just poor planning/design, and could be rectified by either using something like a low-rise cabinet from which the TV could pop-up (and remain hidden from view when not in use), or by mounting it up above the window line on the wall. Either solution would open up that area of windows for views.
- Also, there is another nook-type area of windows off to one side of the room, which would be perfect for a small table and 2-3 chairs for guests to enjoy a meal while taking in what is undeniably the best view in the house. But all that's there is a side-board that serves as a stand for the ice bucket. :/ Not cool. This leaves one with the impression that management wants to get you into the restaurants, where you're more likely to spend more money, rather than ordering room service.
- Noisy A/C fan, and the temperature/fan control only worked when it felt like it.

Overall this is an excellent hotel, spectacular in so many ways but a few little tweaks would go a long way imho.

Room Tip: Room 800 well worth it if you are looking for something special, willing to spend a bit more. Far m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Location and view are lovely. Hotel is lovely inside. The price charged to stay a night should include exercise facilities and wireless Internet. The rooms in front of hotel are noisy with valet service and soundproofing in some rooms is really poor. Hope the visitor above you isn't a night owl if you need to be up early the next day.
Beds are comfy and room very clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is situated about 10 minutes south from the downtown. It’s an easy drive, but watch out for the speed limit. The hotel itself is self-contained with all the standard facilities as one would expect. In addition to that, it has some small stores, a nice conference facility and a very good gym. It also houses one of the top 5 CAA rated restaurant in the country. The concierge service is really good. But the best is the location. It’s away from the downtown noise but not far from it. It’s located at the foothill of the Banff Hot spring, which can be walked to. The gondola ride is around the corner which makes a great spot for the tourists who is seeking complete R&R and a bit of skiing. The UG parking spots are narrow, and if you driving anything bigger than Explorer, or a big pickup, you may have trouble parking. In that case, avail the valet service. For self-park, find a spot in level 3, which connects to the lobby level. It has a very interesting floor numbering system. The lobby is on the ground floor, but it is floor number 7 (also self-park level 3). The top floor is 1. It’s odd, but charming!

Room Tip: The view from the room is great, no matter which room you pick, but higher the rooms are, better the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Rimrock is perched on a steep slope well above the town so that many rooms have magnificent views of the mountains and overlook Banff townsite and part of the Banff Springs golf course. Sulphur mountain, Mt. Rundle and a number of other peaks are part of the panorama.. What was most noteworthy to us was the service; it is phenomenal! The staff could not be more thoughtful and obliging. The lobby bars and restaurants are comfortable, and "homey" The rooms are clean and well-appointed although a wee bit worn. The Eden restaurant is magnificent. The cuisine is world-class and (as you might expect) pricey. That said, you get top quality fare and care.
On the "down" side it is a long walk from Banff town Center; downhill to town and (again as you might expect), uphill back. There is, apparently, a shuttle but since we were driving we didn't use it.
Contrary to another reviewer our WiFi carried no extra charge and we had no problem regulating the temperature in the room. My wife and I slept very well. As with yet another reviewer, we were there for our organization's annual conference and the meeting facilities were excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room even if it costs a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
2.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,674 reviews
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
2.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
2.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.