We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking excellent service in a few areas for an upscale Hotel. Would rate the Hotel Good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Banff
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lacking excellent service in a few areas for an upscale Hotel. Would rate the Hotel Good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Got a great deal on this hotel for $148 a night standard room plus tax including Wifi, Parking Fees and $10 food credit. Arrived on a Sunday and the Valet and Doorman were both very friendly. Front desk staff were very accommodating and friendly and we got our room at about 1:30. Heated parking was awesome. Room was clean and beds very comfortable however 2 face cloths for 4 people just does not cut it. Town bus service is free and very convenient with hotel key card. The kids had a blast at the swimming pool. The next day we had breakfast at Primrose which was excellent but the service was a bit off, seemed to be a lot of new staff. No big deal. We went tubing at Norquay, came back at 3:30 and room was not made up which was disappointing. Called housekeeping for towels and left for supper with room still dirty. When we arrived back the fire was lit and we sat by the fire for a couple hours playing on our computers, a very relaxing evening. The next morning we went to the Primrose for breakfast and once again the food was excellent but at the end of our meal our waitress disappeared for over 10 minutes and we ended up asking someone else to serve us and finally left after paying someone else. So I would rate this hotel good they have some brushing up to do on service details. However I would stay again if the price is right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,063
    504
    201
    82
    59
See reviews for
458
890
41
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

stayed in Banff many times (I'm a born & raised Albertan), this is my favorite hotel. Romantic, stunning views, free bus into downtown baff. booked the spring package, $179 for standard room includes parking. awesome deal for this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

For the past decade our professional association has held its AGM and Scientific Program at the Rimrock. 250 members participate, often with family. Always popular with attendees, we keep returning because of the first rate convention services, exceptional staff, clean attractive rooms and conference floor, top-end food quality and presentation, and, of course location on the edge of Banff townsite with easy access to various outdoor mountain sports and leisure activities. It is not inexpensive but complimentary upgrades are commonly offered. This year management was more than fair in not charging for some rooms not used one night when a blizzard delayed some arrivals.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went here for my birthday weekend. While we had a fantastic view that was about all we got for our $300 per night. The room was hot no matter what we did, the bed was uncomfortable. We had to pay $16 per night for parking and if we wanted WiFi access it was another $7 per day. Not what I would expect for a 'high end' hotel I must say. Our dinner in the lounge was good but our breakfast experience at Primrose was disappointing to say the least. I asked for hard poached eggs with my eggs benedict. After the second time they were brought out runny we asked them to just remove them from our bill. My boyfriend was long finished his breakfast by that point. The manager did come over and apologize and we were not charged for any of the meal but by that point I was beyond annoyed...and still hungry. Would not go back here again. Not worth the cost!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed three nights at this very nice, high-end hotel located in a beautiful area near Banff. It is a short walk to the gondola lift and hot springs bath. At the time we were there...they offered free rides to Banff via public bus. All you needed to do was show the bus driver your room key card. You were picked up in front of the hotel and dropped off at a couple of different locations in town (they had a schedule card for you to keep and times are also listed in town). This was a nice option since parking in Banff can be a challenge at time. Note: the bus doesn't run late into the night...I believe the last pickup was around 8:00 p.m.

Our room had a partial view and was very nice. When we first checked in our A/C wasn't working properly but they sent maintenance to our room immediately. The repair took about 10 minutes and while fixing our problem...the repairman gave us many helpful and interesting tips/info. It is pricey to stay here but I felt we got our money's worth. The only let-down was that you had to pay an additional charge to park your car (about $15 a day for self parking...they also offer valet parking at a higher cost). They have a multi-level, enclosed garage which is nice; however, the 'best' spots are reserved for valet parking but they have elevators that take you to the main floor so it's not too much of an inconvenience not to park on that level.

We ate once in their restaurant (breakfast). It was pricey but the food, service and atmosphere were excellent. The view is outstanding and we were seated at a table that allowed us to enjoy it! I also took advantage of their spa. It, too, was very nice. I made a last-minute massage reservation and ended up being place in a hotel room converted to a massage room...not quite what I expected but was fine with it because the massage was great!

The staff was always very helpful and attentive....excellent service! We enjoyed our stay and all the amenities that the hotel offered. We have no complaints and would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a great hotel.
Greatly enjoyed my stay there.
Room was very clean and very fresh.
Bathroom was very clean.
Restaurants (Larkspur and Diva's) serve amazing food.
Very close to the hot springs and the Banff Gondola. Amazing view from the hotel.
Will definitely stay there again next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Well I have changed my mind about the fairmont chain. Over the years I have stayed at the Banff springs hotel and was quite happy until I stayed at the rimrock. The fairmont in Banff is still a beautiful hotel with a lot of history but its the staff that seems to tarnish the shine. I found them cold and unfriendly and when you add that up with the cost of staying there the rimrock is a much better memory. The hotel itself is beautiful mixing old world charm with modern amenities. The staff will go way overboard to make your stay great and it seems to come naturally to them. The rooms have a fantastic view and are nice and large and so are the bathrooms unlike the fairmont's gold floor. I have never had a bad meal, everything tasted amazing even the snacks. The pool and the gym came with amazing views of the Rockies and the main lounge was great with the massive fireplace in the center of the room. Nice for a cozy and to read a book. I will definitely be back here every year and at half the cost of the fairmont I might even stay a little longer. My new home in the Rockies . Steve S.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.