We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of Five Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family of Five Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was a Great Hotel for us. Food was great, room was spacious enough for 2 adults 3 boys. The pool area was great and workout area fine. The price was booked through hotels.com , a great price for a weekend getaway.

As far as Banff hotels go this was money well spent. It was also right across from the hot springs pool.

The views were stunning from the hotel , might be the best in Banff.
We would go back for a ski weekend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Front Office Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your family's experience. It is great to hear that your family enjoyed their time together and with us. I would definitely agree that we have the best views in Banff! I hope you will be able to visit again soon.

Cordially,

Nathan Adair
Front Desk Manager
403.762.1808
nathan.adair@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    817
    427
    175
    68
    49
See reviews for
358
708
35
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Rimrock is without a doubt the most positive hotel/dining experience we have ever had. The service from the time we arrived to the time we left was impeccable. We were greeted by very friendly and accomodating staff at our vehicle when we drove up. Our luggage was swiftly taken to our room, which was beautiful and had an amazing view of the mountains and the valley. From our night at Diva's watching the hockey game to the Larspur where we had a beverage before our fabulous dining experience at Eden, this hotel was amazing! While the food itself in Eden was absolutely delicious and very artistically presented, it was the service that was most outstanding. We had a very special experience which we will never forget. Thank you to all of the people at the Rimrock for making this a memorable weekend for us!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Front Office Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Rimrock. Eden is truly a remarkable experience! It is also the only AAA 5 Diamond restaurant in Western Canada. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy all the great dining areas of the hotel. We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Rimrock!

Cordially,

Nathan Adair
Front Desk Manager
403.762.1808
nathan.adair@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a great hotel and it isn't a tourist trap. This hotel is well done great staff and the best hotel lounge in the area. It has comfortable beds and a top notch spa. Restaurants are fantastic. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Front Office Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to share your experience of TripAdvisor. I love the title of your review and I can not agree more! Did you know that The Rimrock is 5550FT above Sea level? That's more than 700FT higher than the Town of Banff. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Cordially,

Nathan Adair
Front Desk Manager
403.762.1808
nathan.adair@rimrockresort.com
Rimrockresort.com offers the best rates...Guaranteed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

A high end facility with lots of wow factor. An exceptionally comfortable lobby with a fabulous view, lots of overstuffed sofas and seats. Fireplaces and lobby service were also very nice. The rooms were large, well appointed and comfortable. The staff was very young but attentive and energetic. A nice coffee shop and a very good but expensive restaurant. All in all it is a place I would look forward to returning too.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Front Office Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank You for posting your experience on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of the Larkspur Lounge, as you mentioned it is exceptionally comfortable and most certainly boasts spectacular views. We hope to welcome you back to The Rimrock soon.

Cordially,

Nathan Adair
Front Desk Manager
403.762.1808
nathan.adair@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My friend and I went to create special memories as she is fighting cancer. The staff arranged a beautiful room for us with incredible views.
.
A very special thank you to everyone at the Rimrock Resort for a fantastic weekend.
.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Unfortunately we never actually got there due to my clumsiness. I fell on the way to the car on our way to Banff. But the people I spoke to on the phone, especially Nathan, where superior in attitude and respect. When I can run and jump agin it's off to the Rimrock Resort in Banff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband had decided to surprise me with a trip to this hotel for my birthday. He had high expectations as did I as to what the hotel would be like. The hotel itself was ok, seemed slightly dated and not up to a 4 star rating. However, the views are amazing! The gift shop or jewelry store was never opened, it almost seemed like no one else was there but us which seemed a little strange. The biggest dissapointment was eating at their restaurant as he had told them it was a special birthday dinner and was hoping to have great service etc. It was a terrible experience! The waitress pretty much ignored us, nothing was said or done to make it a pleasant dining experience. We've had a better time at a Tony Romas. When he expressed his disappointment in the service etc to the hotel manager, again, nothing was said or done. We really expected more from a supposid high end hotel. I wouldn't waste your money on this one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Front Office Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. It is disappointing to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations. Although it seems you stayed with us last April, I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Cordially,

Nathan Adair
Front Desk Manager
403.762.1808
nathan.adair@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel
Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.