We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$500p/n rooms no so modern or updated..BUT Gr8 Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Banff
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“$500p/n rooms no so modern or updated..BUT Gr8 Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Im from Toronto n' visited Calgary for few nts, than me & friends spent the weekend of Feb 22nd at the Rimrock. The concierge was somewhat quick to greet us etc. The reception staff could have been a little more professional and sophisticated etc. other than the one gentlemen who I think was senior level. But overall all staff were pretty friendly and helpful. Its a pretty decent property and a great hotel location somewhat remote nestled away from the village etc.. and mountain valley views were quite spectacular and blew us away in our grandview signature suite (6th floor) 600sq/ft+ rooms we stayed in. I was dissappointed that the reception didnt educate us and promote & tell us about the fact that the hot springs and gondula was seconds away from us before it was too late and we were checking out. 2nts was rather short as well and we wished we stayed at least 3nts which we will do next time hopefully. Whether or not the hot springs are few minutes away, all resorts in BANFF especially this one should have a large OUTDOOR hot tub for guests to enjoy till 12-1am or so. I means youre in a hotel nestled in the mountains with valley views etc and you must have a hot tub outside for people to enjoy, or romance, or indulge and take in the beautiful crisp mountain air n views etc AND JUST RELAX. with a glass of wine or cognac etc. on such a private property. Also I was rather surprised how dated our room was..it was basically a year 2008-2010 sheraton looking room at most. It was a grand room as in it was very large, lots of windows, and 2nd room was loungy and could throw a 20 people party with extra couches, a fireplace, 2 washrooms and seperate entrance which can come handy in "special situations". I expected a room that was closer to something more state of the art or alot more modern sheik which it wasnt in any way and rather more traditional. The curtain were too thick and chunky and pushing it to the furthest point they still covered too much window space.The power cords etc. under the tables were dusty dirty grimy and you didnt want to touch as well as some other parts of the room etc. The power wall plug outlets should be more plentiful and much easier to access as they were hidden and very hard to get to and you had to reach far or move furniture. The room needs alot of freshening up. The rooms were pretty clean at most. The washroom sink & tubs and tiles etc. should be sparkling n shining clean. I especially wasnt crazy about the Aveda mint evergreen or whatever shampoo..I cant imagine most consumers liking that scent. The towels could be a little better quality like superior Turkish cotton. I Would have preferred a real fireplace in my room rather than an artificial gas one. Next time a balcony is a must! For a giant room like ours with an already very high premium being paid with 2 queen beds and 2 seperate large rooms attached they should not be charging more for a 3rd or 4th guest and luckily we didnt. Also you would expect coffee brewing pots like this in a holiday inn etc. I have to say the parking and seperate parking lot is very lax and welcome to other guest who are visiting even for extended periods and was rather nice to save $$ and not have additional fees for use. The main lounge in the lobby with the giant fireplace had a very nice ambience and the piano playing was a rather very nice and homey and perfect to chill over drinks and good conversation. The internet wifi service in the room was weak and slow. The VIP features such as 15%off, free valet, and internet was nice to have. It seemed like they were giving 15%off to non "vip" rooms as well. We didnt get to try the 5star diamond restaurant Eden or any of the other restaurants unfortunately. The coffee shop had pretty damn good coffee though. The lounge menu food n drinks seems to be a little pricey but expected. Overall we enjoyed our stay and look forward to updated rooms etc..but I will definately be back..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience on TripAdvisor ~ and providing great feedback on what we can do to make your stay more enjoyable on your next visit! It is certainly an added benefit that we are"base camp" for both the Hot Springs and Banff Gondola. To your point, we will continue to promote this to all our guests, to ensure that you are able to experience the surronding area! I hope that you are able to come back soon and see our refreshed guest rooms. A 2013 project of replacemement of carpetings and furnishings is underway as we speak.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    815
    427
    175
    68
    49
See reviews for
357
708
35
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I had supper at the Eden restaurant. The food was above average, but not outstanding. I had the duck and found it a little on the tough side. My wife had the sea bass and said it was very good, but again not outstanding. BUT, the service was impeccable. Overall, it's a little pricey but well worth it.

Room Tip: Request a table by the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Rimrock over the Alberta Family Day long weekend in February 2013. It was a sold out weekend at the hotel and although it was busy the staff was warm and friendly. Very courteous in delivering our car quickly and helpful hints of where to dine/things to do in Banff were a great help. The rooms were well appointed for a family of four and we had no problems with noise. Eating at the hotel was somewhat pricey but saved us time -- which was worth it. We had wonderful views out our window...picturesque! The pool was quite busy and a few too many young kids ie-under the age of 5. Will definitely make the Rimrock our new place to stay as it has all the perks of the Fairmont with half the price. Fairmont was our last hotel and it is in need of some serious makeovers! Stay at the Rimrock you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed for one night and wished we had stayed longer..... its very clean, warm parking garage so what if you have to pay for parking.... the service is incredibly wonderful .... its worth the stay for the price and just drive into town or to the ski hill.

Room Tip: For a family of 4 we stayed in a room with a king bed, a pull out sofa and a Murphy bed. Perfect an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We wish you had stayed longer too! So glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait for your next visit.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

the hotel is great, the facilities are great, location is great. Door people and the concierge were fantastic. you walked close they help you right away. Valet service for parking is a little extra, but its well worth it.
Front desk was another issue very business like forget the friendliness. Beware of what their doing with your credit cards ask in advance. We had an issue. one thing i can say is the hotel handled very well, with good follow up.
The food was all excellent. The evening meal the servers were excellent very attentive. The cooks for the buffets were very good. The young fellow making the omelets in the morning was very good and friendly. Larkspur lounge we could only get a seat during off hours.Its family friendly kids all over the lounges The Diva lounge was nice but go for the nice seats the strait chairs are not built for comfort.
swimming pool and whirl pool very nice.
The disappointment was trying to find a quiet spot - look for little nooks. One lady was eating by the elevator.
i think it would be fantastic around the hotel in the summer. Winter they had a small skating rink outside lit up and small bon fire. just a real neat place.

Room Tip: lower rooms view is not as good if that's important. the rooms are all good i don't think yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Glad that your welcome was so inviting ~ sorry to read that the service felt short of expectation at the front desk. We pride ourselves on having a team that is passionate about the service provided to our guests. Please know that I have followed up with the Front Desk team to ensure that this presented to each guest.
I am happy to ready that you enjoyed the food at the hotel, and hope that you were able enjoy the rink and the bon fire.

We look forward to your next visit. Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The is a great hotel for a weekend stay in Banff. It is located a short drive from the Banff town site. It has a wonderful lounge just off the lobby (minors allowed) that has good food/drinks with beautiful mountain views.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for three nights with another couple over the busy family day weekend. Upon arrival, we were greeted very warmly by the excellent staff. The other couple's room was ready, so we had all our bags brought to that room until our room was ready. We ate in the Larkspur Lounge for lunch while waiting for our room. Let me tell you, this lounge is magnificent. Huge windows with a magnificent view over the bow valley and Sulphur mountain, as well as comfy couches and lounge chairs and a huge fireplace in the centre. (When I say huge I mean massive, we watched the staff climb into the fireplace to start it). The lunch was delicious, very large portions, and for myself, gluten-free club sandwich, which was fantastic.

Upon arriving at our room, it was spacious, beautiful view, and the beds were magnificent. We stayed in a Grand View room on the 8th floor. Grand view rooms allow VIP treatment, which includes valet parking and 15% off at all restaurants in the hotel. Valet service was prompt and the concierge desk was a great help for all our needs. The hotel's beds and feather pillows and duvet were so cozy. After a long day of skiing and a wonderful dinner, you would pass out instantly.

Each morning we would eat at the Primrose Restaurant, which had buffet and a la carte breakfast. We did the buffet every morning, which included pastries, fresh and dried fruit, yogurts, cheeses, smoked salmon, omelette station, and the usual pancakes, sausages, scrambled eggs, poached eggs, bacon, french toast, etc. The fresh squeezed orange juice was delicious and the coffee was excellent as well.

Speaking of coffee, the hotel has a great little cafe where the americano's and latte's are fantastic, and you can pick up any essentials, snacks, or magazines. The highlight here was the amazing chocolate truffles by the in-house chef from the Eden restaurant (which you MUST eat in).

Overall, our stay was excellent. Check-in and out was smooth. The beautiful piano music from the pianist in the Larkspur Lounge in the evenings was so welcoming, and the food and service was excellent. Staff was very helpful and very prompt. My husband tried entering the code into the safe too many times and caused it to bring up an error mode. We called the concierge, and they sent someone up immediately.

The pool and hot tub were a little outdated and smelled a little too strongly of chlorine, but there was a beautiful skating rink outside with a fire pit that guests seemed to enjoy. The gym was excellent, and the spa looked very nice (sadly, we didn't have the chance to use any of the services).

Lastly, the hotel is very close to (walking distance) the hot springs and gondola. Overall, excellent views, location, and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Love to hear that you had a great stay with us, and that you were able to indulge in almost all of our dining outlets. Next time, ensure that you treat yourself to Eden Dining room ~ Western Canada's only 5 diamond dining experience. From the locally celebrated menu, to the culinary perfection on your plate ~ not to mention that wine pairings, you will not be disapointed.

I look foward to your next visit. Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel
Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.