We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Place to relax and excellent service"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Great Place to relax and excellent service"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Traveled there during the winter, was great atmosphere and a nice hotel with great views of Banff town. All hours room service made it great for a place just to relax and enjoy being there. The service was excellent and the staff were great. Would recommend it to anyone who was looking to get away from it all.

Room Tip: One with a window view facing banff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    587
    226
    90
    65
See reviews for
515
1,062
47
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night on my 30th birthday and it was beautiful! We had the Grand View room which gave us VIP treatment like valet parking, 15% off at the restaurants, bar, and room service and a beautiful view of the mountains from our room. The hotel is a 3 minute walk to the gondola and 5 minute walk to the upper hot springs. There is a bus stop across from the entrance and I think that was complimentary to ride. There was a pianist playing in the lobby area and 2 restaurants to choose from (one is very pricy fine dinning). I wanted to live in this hotel. But it was expensive, I wish the room had a little extra something for that price like a fireplace or hot tub. The view made it worth while.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
The view from your room ~ fantastic! The views are certainly the top of what sets The Rimrock apart from others in the area. It is also great to read that you were able to take advantage of the Grandview amenities while with us. Next time you visit, be sure to ask about the Signature Grandview guest rooms ~ complete with all the Grandview amenities, the room is also a minimum of 600 sqft and comes complete with a fireplace (some woodburning) and a jacuzzi soaker tub with a view.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance and I look foward to your next stay.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Need a girls get away, romantic weekend, family time, team building, any excuse to go to the Rimrock is good. I love the Rimrock and everything about it. I have been lucky enough to dine at the Eden and I will never forget it...Amazing!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I find an excuse to get to The Rimrock everyday ~ I work here! Thank you for your kind comments in regards to the hotel, it is great to read that you love us and everything we have to offer. Eden is certainly in a class of its own, I hope you will be able to come out and join us when the new menu is rolled out for Spring.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance!

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay thoroughly. The friendliness and professionalism of the staff set the resort apart from most of the others in the area. From the warm greeting at the door to the exceptional check in experience to the great service we received in the lounge and spa, everyone seemed to have a common goal of making our short overnight stay as comfortable as possible. I especially want to thank Jessica for assigning us a beautiful room and for going out of her way to locate a power cord for my laptop first thing in the morning. We will definitely return....hopefully for more than one night

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Rimrock Resort for your recent trip to Banff. It is amazing to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and that our team was able to contribute to your stay. It is an absolute pleasure to share your comments with all of them; especially Jessica.

I look forward to your next visit, please let me know if I may be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a premium suite in January, Thurs-Sun. The hotel was quiet despite the weekend, which we appreciated very much. The staff were helpful and friendly, particularly the doorman, who would frequently conjure up a conversation with us on several mornings while we waited for tour pickups. Although the Rimrock was a little way out from the main townsite of Banff, we found the free shuttle service convenient and easy to use. Also make sure to eat at Eden, what a gastronomical experience!!!!

Room Tip: book at least a premium suite, the view wont disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Happy to read that you enjoyed your stay! It is a pleasure to read that you were able to experience the service from our Doorman while you were with us, they all have a great passion for the guest experience. Be sure to visit us again in the Spring to experience the new Eden menu!

Please let me know if I may be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I wanted to give it 4 stars, I really do, but there are a few set back.

The good:
- The location is amazing. The hotel is surrounded by mountains and breath taking view. Imagine waking up to mountains and sunshine outside your window.
- It's also near the hot spring, which is very relaxing

The bad:
- The hotel charges for every little thing you might have taken for granted. Internet is $15, parking is $16 (I mean I can park at Motel 6 free of charge), and the little things. There's no breakfast included, (the premier room rate is $300/night btw).
- The pool is rather dark and tiny, with lots of people
- The room is common, the tub is tiny, and that was it. Typically just a 3 star hotel room with a view.

So, if you want to spend $300 for a stunning view out the window and a great night with someone special, that's it. Otherwise, I'd recommend some of the more rustic lodges in town.

I'd say 3.5 stars, but definitely not 4, yet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton/Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We live in Calgary, so Banff is only 1.5 hrs away. Our choice hotel in Banff has always been the Fairmont Banff Springs. But this time we were going with a group of people and a couple of people had always wanted to try the Rimrock and we were guilty of that too. So we made our reservation and we really do regret it.
We found that there was a communication problem during check in, the front staff that was helping us did not speak English well and we had to repeat ourselves at least three times. Later on we heard from someone at the hotel that they hire a lot of foreign workers to save some money.
The rooms are average; the views in Banff are great. Get a room in a higher floor if you are going to book at this hotel.
The food was below average and the service was slow. I remember that we wanted to drink eggnog, so we ordered for everyone at the table, and it basically was the carton that you get at the grocery store, I asked them if this was homemade or if it was the carton from the grocery store, they told me it was from the carton and that they had to do it that way because they don't have enough man power to prepare the real thing. What I couldn't understand is that if it was from the carton then why was it so expensive.
I found that we had to compromise on too many things at this hotel. We like food and we don't mind expensive food. However we do mind when we are paying high prices for food and the food is so poorly done.
I live in Calgary so we go to Banff fairly regularly. But if this is your first time going to Banff and if you are only going to be there once and not come back again, or if you are going for a special occasion then I would recommend you stay at the Fairmont Banff springs, sure you pay a bit more but it is so worth it. The service that you get is so much better, the rooms are much nicer, and the hotel is absolutely charming. If you still choose to stay at the Rimrock then at least go to the Fairmont Banff Springs for one of the castle tours that they do, they are free and they do them every day, at least that way you get to admire this beautiful landmark.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.