We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with stunning vistas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Banff
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel with stunning vistas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a premium suite in January, Thurs-Sun. The hotel was quiet despite the weekend, which we appreciated very much. The staff were helpful and friendly, particularly the doorman, who would frequently conjure up a conversation with us on several mornings while we waited for tour pickups. Although the Rimrock was a little way out from the main townsite of Banff, we found the free shuttle service convenient and easy to use. Also make sure to eat at Eden, what a gastronomical experience!!!!

Room Tip: book at least a premium suite, the view wont disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Happy to read that you enjoyed your stay! It is a pleasure to read that you were able to experience the service from our Doorman while you were with us, they all have a great passion for the guest experience. Be sure to visit us again in the Spring to experience the new Eden menu!

Please let me know if I may be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,790 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    987
    480
    192
    79
    52
See reviews for
417
832
39
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I wanted to give it 4 stars, I really do, but there are a few set back.

The good:
- The location is amazing. The hotel is surrounded by mountains and breath taking view. Imagine waking up to mountains and sunshine outside your window.
- It's also near the hot spring, which is very relaxing

The bad:
- The hotel charges for every little thing you might have taken for granted. Internet is $15, parking is $16 (I mean I can park at Motel 6 free of charge), and the little things. There's no breakfast included, (the premier room rate is $300/night btw).
- The pool is rather dark and tiny, with lots of people
- The room is common, the tub is tiny, and that was it. Typically just a 3 star hotel room with a view.

So, if you want to spend $300 for a stunning view out the window and a great night with someone special, that's it. Otherwise, I'd recommend some of the more rustic lodges in town.

I'd say 3.5 stars, but definitely not 4, yet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton/Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We live in Calgary, so Banff is only 1.5 hrs away. Our choice hotel in Banff has always been the Fairmont Banff Springs. But this time we were going with a group of people and a couple of people had always wanted to try the Rimrock and we were guilty of that too. So we made our reservation and we really do regret it.
We found that there was a communication problem during check in, the front staff that was helping us did not speak English well and we had to repeat ourselves at least three times. Later on we heard from someone at the hotel that they hire a lot of foreign workers to save some money.
The rooms are average; the views in Banff are great. Get a room in a higher floor if you are going to book at this hotel.
The food was below average and the service was slow. I remember that we wanted to drink eggnog, so we ordered for everyone at the table, and it basically was the carton that you get at the grocery store, I asked them if this was homemade or if it was the carton from the grocery store, they told me it was from the carton and that they had to do it that way because they don't have enough man power to prepare the real thing. What I couldn't understand is that if it was from the carton then why was it so expensive.
I found that we had to compromise on too many things at this hotel. We like food and we don't mind expensive food. However we do mind when we are paying high prices for food and the food is so poorly done.
I live in Calgary so we go to Banff fairly regularly. But if this is your first time going to Banff and if you are only going to be there once and not come back again, or if you are going for a special occasion then I would recommend you stay at the Fairmont Banff springs, sure you pay a bit more but it is so worth it. The service that you get is so much better, the rooms are much nicer, and the hotel is absolutely charming. If you still choose to stay at the Rimrock then at least go to the Fairmont Banff Springs for one of the castle tours that they do, they are free and they do them every day, at least that way you get to admire this beautiful landmark.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We live just 1.5 hrs away, and this is out weekend getaway hotel. Its one of the top ones in Banff (maybe #2 or #3), and its roughly $100/night cheaper then the top one Banff Springs. It has everything you expect in a 4+ star resort.

Pros: Good restaurants, several to chose from, nice views from room, price is reasonable.

Cons: Parking is expensive, location is a bit out of the way.

Overal, a good pick if you find the Banff Springs a "bit" out of your price range.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor, it will get you out of the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I, as well as another close friend couple stayed here over Christmas for a getaway out of Calgary. The hotel is well appointment and quite nice but lacks the charm that the Fairmont Banff Spring brings. I suppose there has to be limitations as the Banff Springs is older and more prestigious.

We had all of our meals during our stay at the Primrose Dining Room. We had heard from others that while the Eden is the more eloquent of the two, that the overall dining experience is better in the Primrose. I would have to agree as I am not a fan of small portions for overpaid prices. I am past all that glory of pretending to be super rich.

The rooms are clean and the experience in the winter is great as you want to go to the hot springs which are a short walk away. Go first thing in the morning to warm yourself up and to avoid the bigger crowds in the evening (lots of skiers go after their time on the hill). Have the hotel call them and find out what time they open in the morning. It can be -30ºC outside but you'll be quite comfortable in the pool. Take coins for the locker and don't forget your swimsuit or towel and remember to leave your valuables at home.

We booked our package on the Expedia App on our iPad and got the best price this way during the holiday season. Try to get a package which includes parking (heated underground is available) and internet. Have a great time in Banff, it is definitely one of the gems in Canada.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room at a higher floor to get a view of the mountain valley from your room. But in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I always have stayed at The Rimrock. I have always rented grandview rooms and this time I rented a suite with a adjoining parlor room at a rate of $650.00 a night! I stayed 4 nights and my bill was $2700.00.....not worth it! During this stay I found it very disappointing to learn they allow pets to stay at once was the classiest hotel in Banff...not no more. I understand other hotels do offer pet stay...but this is The Rimrock! Upon my arrival I found dog pee stains all across the front of The Rimrock in the snow....so disgusting to see! One time at the front doors inside there was a dog barking for 2 mins straight while we were waiting for the bus....i can imagine what the customer on the phone wanting to book was thinking!Every night we went skating at the skating rink at the hotel and to get to rink I have to walk across the deck. Non stop people with pets taking them to the bathroom. Every night we went skating I crossed the dog poop and pee stains! VERY DISGUSTING! This is what I expect out of a Days Inn or Travelodge! The dog poop was never cleaned up during my stay! I can imagine the smell come spring! Ewwwwwww! The Wifi in The Rimrock is the WORST I have ever experienced! I phoned front desk to voice my concern and she said it was overwhelmed. The next day at 2pm the WiFi still did not work and the hotel and parkade were completely empty...I phoned front desk and told her the hotel is empty and it can't still be overwhelmed! She said she would try to reboot the router......it did nothing so we had NO WiFi during out stay! The next problem was the toilet. The very first time we used it it plugged! It would plug with just flushing water! The toilet plugged 6 times and we called 6 times and they only showed up 5 times. After 1 hour of waiting we called the front desk to ask..she said we didn't call. Yes we did call cause we had NO toilet! We went to rent a movie the first night and it said SOLD OUT! I have never seen SOLD OUT ever before in my life lol! I phoned the front desk and said I don't wanna see SOLD OUT while I'm paying $650.00 night! I phoned the front desk to speak to the manager about all the problems and the WiFi charges I'm gonna get on my cell phone bill...she said he was gone til Jan 17/2013 and that he would call me on my cell phone.....1 month later I'm still waiting for his call! After all this..... they called me to move my Dually truck in the parkade cause it was busy and they needed the space!!!!! I said u need the space??? How about giving my the services I have paid for before u start asking me for something! VERY sad to see the Rimrock lower their standards....having pets allowed to stay is gonna kill the prestige of the hotel. I expect to see animals at The Days Inn and Travelodge but not at The Rimrock! All in all very disappointing stay....save your money and stay at a lower class hotel cause the Rimrock is no longer the classy hotel it once was!!!! The best thing about this hotel is Jeff in Concierge! He is a super great guy always doing what is best for The Rimrock! The Rimrock needs to make Jeff the new manager cause he knows Customer service! Thanks Jeff!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations on your recent trip, and thank you for your candid feedback in regards to it. It is unfortunate that your stay involved witnessing the exposure of the pets in the snow. The Rimrock is pleased to be pet friendly, allowing all family members the opportunity to partake in vacations and special occasions. The team at The Rimrock does its best to ensure that constant monitoring of the ground is completed and any "messes" are addressed immediately. Thank you for the opportunity to learn from your other concerns as well.

Please contact me if you wish to speak in regards to anything further.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is very nice in Banff. Location is a bit off the main downtown area, but they have regular bus service into town. Rooms are typically nice, have a nice bar called the Larkspur. It is an expensive place to stay, definitely wouldn't stay here for every visit, as we are from Calgary and go to Banff regularly. They charge extra for parking no matter if you self park or valet park, and the distance from the parking to the rooms can be significant. Definitely are other places you can stay in Banff for less money that still provide a great experience, and closer proximity to the downtown. Having said that, if you are going to stay at the Rimrock, I would recommend spending the money for the views, which are quite nice. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
Free internet...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#5 of 33 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,402 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
2.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
City Center, Bu...
Show More
2.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.