We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Banf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for free!
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
318 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Banf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a company meeting. The room is very comfortable and well maintained, the food was great and the service prompt and friendly. The views of Banff Valley and Mountain Rundle are great. The hotel gym and pools are worth visiting. The hotel is a short walk away from the Banff Upper Hotsprings (a must in my books) and the Sulphur Mountain Gondola (great on a sunny day). I would stay again at this hotel for a meeting or a personal vacation.
There is a bus shuttle to downtown Banff. I did not take the shuttle, but it appeared to run on a fairly regular basis.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We pride ourselves on the service our staff provides, and it is always a pleasure to read that we were able to show our guests what our staff are able to provide. Next time you will have to head into town and use the Complimentary Shuttle Service, provided by ROAM transit system.

I look forward to your next visit! Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,709
    742
    281
    110
    73
See reviews for
704
1,400
59
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed at Rimrock and i can honestly say that this hotel is super overpriced, not much new for banff park. If you really want to save money dont stay here, staff are good however rooms are small. The view is pretty good, the food was oily and not within budget. I hope people really do there research if deciding to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We hope that you can come back and try out the new menu options, including our lifestyle menu ~ featuring gluten free and vegetarian options. The Rimrock is also under the process of completing guest room refreshments, based on feedback from you ~ our guest.
Please let me know if I can be of any assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,
Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
Cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great ambience, great dining, specially Eden restaurant, great spa and workout facilities. Really good overall value and service. Better view than the Banff Springs hotel in my opinion. The Eden restaurant was by far the best dining experience we ever had.

Room Tip: There are 4 suites available 700, 702, 800, 802 I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Front Office Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to share your experience. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Eden is the only 5 Diamond restaurant in Western Canada and it truly is a magnificent dining experience. Visit our website for great specials including our inaugural Maple Fest in March. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Cordially,

Nathan Adair
Front Desk Manager
(t) 403.762.1808
(e) nathan.adair@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here in January 2013, we stayed here two years ago too and simply fell in love with the place. The Rimrock I would say is one of the best places to stay, the other being Banff Springs. The rimrock's views are simply amazing but only if you book the right type of room grade, I noticed that some rooms overlooked the multi storey car park so just bare that in mind when booking.
Rooms are comfortable and the staff are generally very nice, our check in wasn't the warmest of check ins but concierge more than made up for it being very friendly.
I'm a keen swimmer and one factor that I loved about the hotel when we stayed two years ago was that it had a swimming pool, I used the pool a few times during the stay but had to stop as there was sand/grit in the large hot tub at the bottom (I'm not being picky- it seemed that someone had dumped a bucket of sand in it) and the swimming pool was seriously murky and made my skin itch like mad - funnily enough the hotel closed it shortly after for a few day's.

Generally I would advise you give the rimrock a go, they have some massive pluses such as the complimentary roam bus which gives you a lift into downtown Banff every forty minutes but be weary at weekends as the hotel is always full!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Front Office Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank You for posting your experience of The Rimrock Resort Hotel. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! After a fresh snow, it is always a pleasure to look out the windows at the majestic snow-capped mountains. I would like to apologize for the closing of the pool, there minor difficulties with the pump which I am happy to report have been rectified. I trust you had a safe trip home and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Rimrock soon! Don't forget to checkout our website for great rates and specials!

Cordially,

Nathan Adair
Front Desk Manager
(t) 403.762.1808
(e) nathan.adair@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The location is wonderful! outside Banff Avenue with a spectacular view! To go downtown a car or a bus is necessary! With the card of the room showed to the driver the bus is free!The staff of the hotel is very efficient and polite ( as everywhere in Alberta). The connections with the Lake Louise and Sunshine ski resorts are also efficient and free using the 3 areas skipass!The bar has a good coffee and chocolates! The Primerose Restaurant has a Lobster Pappardelle dish really tasty, delicious and special!!! To be pedantic one could say that the turkish bath could be improved as comfortable! The days spent at the Rimrock Resort Hotel will remain as a relaxing, pleasant holiday. Thanks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Front Office Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself! We are truly fortunate to live in such a beautiful area that offers phenominal skiing. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Canada and trust that you will be able to make it back soon.

Cordially,

Nathan Adair
Front Dsek Manager
(t) 403.762.1808
(e) nathan.adair@rimrockresort.com
~Check out our website for the latest Specials & Promotions~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel from the outside looks amazing and the indoor spa, pool, lounge, restaurants look amazing. THEN you get to your room and it's average or even less. There was wallpaper coming off, the treats left were awful, and the room attached was open so the person next door could easily walk into our room. The safe did not work, the remote did not work.
WOULD not stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Last August, my family and I travelled with Brewster Transportation from the Westin in Calgary to the Rimrock Resort and Hotel in Banff, Alberta, located within Banff National Park, where I had not stayed in almost 20 years. The resort, nestled in a “sea” of conifers on the side of Sulphur Mountain. Right on Mountain Road, is arguably blessed with the best view among all other hotels in Banff. It has a panoramic view of Rundle Mountain to the East; Tunnel Mountain, Bow River Valley and parts of Banff to the North-North-East, and a mountain chain to the North.

Check-in was tardy, but when we entered our attractively-furnished rooms with comfortable beds, we enjoyed the same stunning view we had already seen prior to check-in. After we had regained our “bearings”, we had a late lunch in the Primrose, one of the resort’s two dining rooms, followed by a drink in the Larkspur lounge, one of two lounges.

At check-in we learned that, if one presents the Rimrock room keys, one may ride free of charge the hybrid-electric Roam buses. Route1 buses operate from/to downtown Banff to Sulphur Mountain, in other words the Rickrock. They operate until 23:00 h. We made ample use of them.

Although he resort has an indoor pool and a whirlpool, we decided to visit the large outdoor thermal pool of The Banff Upper Hot Springs, fed by heated water deep in the earth’s crust. The “Springs” are located a hop and skip just above the resort across Mountain Road. The Pool is open daily from 09:00 to 23:00 h. Adult admission is $7.30 ($6.30 for those 65 and over). Swimsuits, towels and lockers are for rent at $1.00 each. One can theoretically swim in the pool, were it not for the large crowds of bathers, using the pool as a socials gathering place like the ancient Terme di Caracalla in Rome.
Fortunately, we only had to queue for about 15 minutes, compared to an hour or more at peak times. The resort allows its guests to use room towels, when visiting the “Springs”.

After a restful night, we enjoyed breakfast (a la carte or Buffet) in the award-winning Eden fine-dining room, before pick-up by a Brewster Transportation van that took us to the Brewster Bus terminal, where we boarded a luxury bus for a full-day tour (“Mountains, Lakes and Waterfalls”), a most enjoyable and worthwhile event, which we.
highly recommend.

On our second day, we dined in the Eden and were fortunate to obtain a table by the panoramic window, offering the same view we had already enjoyed in our rooms. The dinner and wine menus are extensive, designed to please the most demanding palates. The staff is courteous, efficient and knowledgeable. I ate venison, while my family members enjoyed Alberta beef. The only challenge is that, while sitting by the window and admiring the stunning scenery, one has to tear oneself loose from the scenery, lest the food becomes cold. To gain the necessary “bed-weight”, we spend time in the Larkspur Lounge.

The next morning, I enjoyed the extensive and varied breakfast buffet, while my family, still sated from the prior night’s dinner, decided to the visit The Rimrock Café for juice, croissants and coffee.


Check-out was quick, and our bill correct. What us always impresses when visiting western Canada is the friendliness of its denizens, mirrored only in Atlantic Canada.

While we were somewhat sad to leave the report, the anticipation of riding the Rocky Mountaineer from Banff to Vancouver consoled us, together with the hope to return to the Rimrock

Room Tip: Try for any rooms on the resort's east side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
2.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
2.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 801 reviews
2.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.