We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in the mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in the mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Rimrock in Banff. The hotel is tucked slightly outside of town up Sulphur Mountain. The views from the hotel are fantastic. This hotel is a first class hotel and I would highly recommend it. The couple small details that keep me from giving it a five are as follows:
- the rooms are very nice with terrific views. The bathrooms are fine - clean, large enough, etc but the bathtubs are small and this dates it.
- The room was quite hot at night and we had a bit of difficult with the thermostat.
- the pillows are not 5-star pillows and anyone who has read any of my reviews knows I am a stickler for wonderful pillows.
- the coffee shop which is very nice and a real treat at 6:30 am was not open one morning. This was a problem for us as we needed to be on the ski hill and had relied on this being open for breakfast. Not a big deal if you are not time constrained. All other days it was open. The first day on Thursday morning the muffins were fresh and warm. On the Saturday they were cold and just not quite as wonderful - another tiny detail.

Overall - the restaurant menus are fantastic - the food is very good in all the restaurants, the lobby is very cozy with the huge fireplace - a great meeting place for drinks. The gym and pool are very good. The service is very good.

With a bit more attention to those tiny details, I would give them a five.

Room Tip: You will need a car if you stay here or a shuttle to down town Banff. It is too far to walk on a reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,004
    481
    194
    79
    53
See reviews for
422
844
40
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

THis hotel is virtually in my back yard, about a two hour drive. If you have never been to banff, you owe it to yourself to go! The city is beautiful Quaint. Almost like a Swiss village, perhaps Zermatt. And just across the ricer up towards the mountain and Cable car sits the beautiful RimRock hotel. Surrounded by tall pines, this hotel is unique in The world. The lobby is beautiful, very much like a modern Mountain Chateau should be like. The rooms are modern and luxurious. Not really a bad view, as you are surrounded by the Canadian Rockies! Don't be surprised to see a herd of Elk walking amongst the tree's or even in the parking lot. Big Horn Sheep, and the odd Moose. The food is superb, the restaurants both comfortable and elegant. It tends to be on the higher end price than most others, but it is well worth it. A gem in Canada's Rockies. And in my view the best hotel in Banff. OH and don't forget, Skiing is all around you. 40 minutes to Sunshine, a bit further to lake Louise. And you come home to total luxury. Sumer time, hiking, biking, golf, banff has it all!

Room Tip: Ask what the view is. But you can't miss our Mountains! And it is always good to ask sq. footage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Dear Readers Welcome to the gateway to paradise on earth to be specific the Rimrock Resort Hotel,Alberta,Canada.The very address of the hotel tell you that it is on a mountain and the viiew is just fantastic.From your room you can see the "Rocky Mountains" and pines on th e slopes of the snowcapped mountains.The Gondolas plying so smoothly between the mountain tops is breath taking.The warm room with all the amenities you can imagine on the mountain top are there.The courteous service the dinning room ,the lounge and of course the menu left nothing to imagination.Although there are many hotels in Banff this one scores over all .You have to visit to believe it.Believe me toy will not regret it.Long live Canada

Dr Syed Naim Zahir

Room Tip: 3rd or 4rth floor room will be excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Friendly and top notch service. Amazing views!! Close to the hot springs and other attractions. An elegant and wonderfully relaxing establishment. Very romantic as well !!! The rooms are spacious and very well equipped with all you need. We will go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We will be back! Excellent service, wonderful hotel. Breakfast buffet with children's option is really family-friendly. Amazing views from the north wing. Away from the bustle of downtown, close enough to sights and events. We had a wonderful Christmas holiday!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Beautiful location. We needed three beds so we had a family room, It didn't have much of a view but it was very large and had a sitting room. It was better for entertaining than the Jr suite that others in our group had. There was not a separate bedroom so it had more room for a group. The property is kind of spread out and a little confusing if you have a large group and are not all in the same area. One of the party had a suite which was basically two rooms. While it was very nice it was kind of broken up and I really didn't think it was as nice as it should have been for the money. One thing I found a little odd was there was no shoe buff or shower cap in the room so be sure to take them if you need them. The banquet room staff were very pleasant and accommodating. There was a 45 minute delay in the evening meal and it would have been nice if they had given us some info as to why and when they would be serving. The hot breakfast for the group in a meeting room was very nice and view fabulous. Overall it was very nice,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Me and my girlfriend had spent our 6 month anniversary at this wonderful establishment and it was by far the best hotel experience that I have ever had. The conceirge ( Sean ) was very helpful with his knowledge of the surrounding area and was able to recommend a couple great restaurants downtown for dinner. The front desk agent ( Simone ) was very professional and was able to help us with whatever we needed. Briar one of the bell hop girls was very helpful and polite as she had brought our luggage to our room and even informed us of the dining room outlets. Briar went above and beyond and made sure we had a bucket full of ice and a couple of rock glasses so that we could enjoy our night to the fullest. Later on after dinner the conceirge/front desk and reservations team contributed to a wonderfull letter that they had delivered to our room that congratulated us on our 6 month anniversary.
We also had dinner in the magnificent Primrose Restaurant and our server ( Rob ) was amazing and was able to recommend several items off of the menu that he liked and several that he really liked. The service and the atmosphere was spectacular and I highly recommend to anyone who hasent seen the view of the rockies to do so.
All the staff are well trained and very professional.

Will recommend the hotel to everyone that is looking for a great stay in Banff.

Room Tip: Never book a standard category room and if you are booked in a standard category room pay for the up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.