We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for free!
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Me and my girlfriend had spent our 6 month anniversary at this wonderful establishment and it was by far the best hotel experience that I have ever had. The conceirge ( Sean ) was very helpful with his knowledge of the surrounding area and was able to recommend a couple great restaurants downtown for dinner. The front desk agent ( Simone ) was very professional and was able to help us with whatever we needed. Briar one of the bell hop girls was very helpful and polite as she had brought our luggage to our room and even informed us of the dining room outlets. Briar went above and beyond and made sure we had a bucket full of ice and a couple of rock glasses so that we could enjoy our night to the fullest. Later on after dinner the conceirge/front desk and reservations team contributed to a wonderfull letter that they had delivered to our room that congratulated us on our 6 month anniversary.
We also had dinner in the magnificent Primrose Restaurant and our server ( Rob ) was amazing and was able to recommend several items off of the menu that he liked and several that he really liked. The service and the atmosphere was spectacular and I highly recommend to anyone who hasent seen the view of the rockies to do so.
All the staff are well trained and very professional.

Will recommend the hotel to everyone that is looking for a great stay in Banff.

Room Tip: Never book a standard category room and if you are booked in a standard category room pay for the up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,390
    635
    248
    99
    68
See reviews for
582
1,158
48
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent a week at the Rimrock for our first anniversary. We loved our stay and would definitely stay here again. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Banff!
The bell staff and the concierge were wonderful. They assisted us in planning all our excursions and made all our dinner reservations. The concierge and bell staff were very knowledgeable and able to recommendations on activities, hiking, restaurants, etc.
Our room was nice and clean. It was what I would expect from this type of hotel. It also had a beautiful view.
Although the location is somewhat out of town, it easy to hop on the bus (or take the short walk) into town. The bus is free when you show your room card. On the weekends the bus ran every 20 minutes however during the week it was every 40 minutes. The only time I ever found this to be inconvienent was at dinner time. I wish the bus would run more frequently during the dinner time hours, so we didn't have to plan dinner around the bus schedule.
We only ate at the restuarant for breakfast one day which was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent 4 wonderful days at the Rimro ck over Christmas 2012. The hotel & the staff were warm & welcoming. The location magnificent. We highly recommend it & we would stay there again. We took advantage of the pool & hot tubs there. I especially enjoyed the steam room. The concierge people could not have been more helpful with planning our Dog Sled experience. What fun! The waiters, front door men, & the bell men were always ready with a friendly smile and efficient service. My family & I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. JJ

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The front desk staff and management needs to brush up on their customer service skills. Sometimes staff forget where their check comes from. Overall The Rooms and facilities are great! You can't get a more beautiful setting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a dream escape - from the lobby to the room to breakfast!

We booked a room for New Years Eve through Hotels.com in early December. It was one of the last rooms available to accommodate 4 people. This is a pricey hotel (less than the Banff Springs), but worth the expense if you can split the cost. During peak times this hotel is recommended.

The Lobby has an old world classic charm - dark wood, large chairs and windows with oversized flower decorations. Nothing overdone - perfect scale. We arrived early and was soon taken to our room. The room was beautifully decorated with breathtaking views of the mountains and forest. Sunrise was spectacular. The room was well equipped with all the modern luxuries. Unfortunately wifi came at an extra cost! Parking (at an extra $16) was easy and close to the hotel entrance ways.

We enjoyed some time in the very large indoor hot tub and pool. Don't take towels - there are plenty at the pool. Showers and bathrooms are neat and clean. This area also has a spa and gym. If you stay on the west side of the building, know that the spa area is located on the very far east side!

The reception/concierge was very helpful with hints for the New Years Eve transit/taxi options. Even the bellboy gave us some tips! I'd recommend using the free (with your room card) public bus to get to downtown Banff. Very convenient, clean and safe and stops right in front of the hotel. It runs till around 11:30pm.

The next morning we went for breakfast - what a delight. Very affordable and probably one of the best in the Banff hotel scene. Our server was very professional and made our time in the dining room refreshing. I would recommend breakfast here, even if you are not a guest!! Btw don't forget that you get coffee on the go (in the most convenient recyclable cups Ive come across lately) before you leave.

The hotel is walking distance from the Banff Upper Hot Springs and gondola. I could recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing classy atmosphere for a special event.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Room was clean, decent and fresh. Stayed here before, came back because of the gorgeous skating rink and view from below the lobby area by the fireplace. Excellent brunch is served at the Primrose dining room. We asked for a seat by the window which offered wonderful views!!!!!! Also was very nice having a few different dining options. Will be back again!
*can't comment on the spa, we didn't use it. We went to the hot springs instead!

Room Tip: The higher up the room, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Alberta
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Last minute we decided to take a trip to the mountains coming up to New Years. Every thing we looked at was booked. We walked into the Rimrock, for the first time, and inquired about a room. The young man that waited on us was very friendly. They had two available for New Years Eve and so we took the Premium Room with a View. Well were we surprised when we opened our room door. The view was spectacular. The room was very nice as well. The hotel looks very classy with the doorman in their top hats and long coats. And everyone that works there seemed soooo very nice. Everyone! We sat at two of the different lounges. First one is close to the lobby, and we choose to sit out by the open fireplace area on the couches. After we left there and went down to their skating rink and sat outside by the firepit. Very nice touch. Then back inside to try out the Diva Lounge. Well that is where we stayed til we went up to our room just before midnight to ring in the New Year. The Diva lounge is very nice looking and a nice size. The staff are very very nice. I had wanted something to snack on but didn't want to order a full meal. So we asked the waiter if we could just order Fries (not on menu) and he said, yes, and so we did. In the morning we had Room Service bring us breakfast as we wanted to enjoy the view as much as we could. Food was good. Checking out was fast and easy. Would definately go back, definately.

Room Tip: top floor premium view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.