We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always enjoy ourselves...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Always enjoy ourselves...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've been to this Hotel many times and always enjoy ourselves. The Jr. Suite was very spacious--and we loved the down pillows and duvets. Bar prices are VERY reasonable--we enjoyed ourselves without the $16 cocktail price we often find in Calgary.

The pool is underwhelming, but we don't go there for that. We are repeat customers for a reason...it is a great spot!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,266
    587
    226
    90
    65
See reviews for
516
1,063
47
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just got back to the UK following a ten day stay. The Rimrock is an excellent hotel situated a little way outside town and if you are skiing you will need a car to get to and from Sunshine and Lake Louise as we found the transport links inadequate for our needs despite reports to the contrary. Courtesy bus (free transport on showing room key) is ok to town. Every aspect of the hotel was excellent and the food of a high standard. Car park got a little packed at times (for which there is a charge) but overall a memorable stay and would return tomorrow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heber springs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We just returned from spending Christmas at this hotel. What a fabulous place. The staff couldn't be nicer. Our room was spotless and had a wonderful view of Mt. Rundell. The linens were top notch. This was our third time to say and we are still totally pleased. I even surprised my wife with a diamond ring for Christmas and made arrangements for delivery to our room with breakfast room service. The staff was fantastic and the surprise was a hit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Rimrock Dec. 22-26/12 for Christmas. We have never gone away for Xmas but as both my parents passed away this year I did not want to be home. We have 2 small dogs that are 13 and have never been boarded so we wanted to take them with us. I booked a pet room in September and was told they were the same quality etc. and actually had extra soundproofing. When we walked into the room I couldn't believe it. I was paying +$300 per night for this room as it was a premium room and expected a premium room.. The carpet was almost threadbare in spots, there were small chips in the sink and the best part is someone must have locked their dog in the bathroom as the bottom of the door had scratch marks all over it and down to the wood. I guess they don't believe in keeping the pet rooms updated and maintained because there will be dogs in the rooms. We were there 4 nights and I don't believe our room was vacuumed even once. I was paying the same rate plus a dog fee for a premium room and expected the room to be comparable with the premium rooms in the rest of the hotel. I have stayed in hotels for $150 per night that had nicer rooms. On the plus side you couldn't have asked for better service. Everyone we dealt with was wonderful. The public areas of the hotel are also very well kept and the times we ate at the hotel the food was exceptional. I am only giving an average rating as I was so disappointed with the quality of the room for what we paid. I did leave a feedback card but don't expect to hear anything as I don't think pet people are high on their list.

Room Tip: If you have a pet go somewhere else for less money and more value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I'm currently a guest in the Rimrock hotel. We checked in today for three nights. Upon check-in the bell staff, porters and housekeeping were all excellent in every respect. I would have rated cleanliness higher unfortunately when my parents entered their room there was a pill on the floor. We booked two rooms, 1 room to accommodate three adults & one to accommodate two adults. On check in I enquired as to both the size and views from each room, to assist us in deciding which room would better accommodate three. I was advised the rooms were identical. On checking in this is clearly not the case. Whilst the sq. ft. measurement may be similar the layout makes one living area larger than the other (unfortunately not the room the three of us checked into). The view is completely different. I contacted the guest relations supervisor to provide the feedback that I was mis-informed on check in and he advised me that I was not mis-informed and continued to debate the room size. Not something that helps me enjoy the experience. He also stated he had already had this conversation earlier (either my father or husband must have already raised the concern). This response from a supervisor is pretty disappointing. This aside the views all round are fantastic and service in the bar has been great so hopefully the hotel will read this review and see the opportunity to develop their staff and supervisors in providing guests with accurate information and customer service respectively. Our stay in the Rockies so far has been great and we look forward to enjoying Banff over the next three days. Will try and update my review in the next few days.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Hotel is nice. Location is beautiful. Lounge is comfortable ....but...

We booked the Christmas Buffet and I expected that the buffet would be outstanding for the location , time of year and price but was disappointed . As my child said 'pretty bad quality...whole family could of had steak and lobster at the Keg for half the price....'.

I would recommend hotel but not the buffet..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The hotel its self is stunning in architecture. Starts off as a two storey at the reception and drops off the mountain to become nine storey on the other side.
Owing to its location on the edge of the mountain the view is to die for!
The down side was that most of the staff were (I think) part time or new to the town and were therefore not very helpful on general information.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the valley have an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.