We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere and Food, but its the Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Banff
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Food, but its the Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We give these comments to travelers and management. First, we need to mention that we travel frequently to high-end quality resorts and restaurants, and usually do research before we travel to new places. Moreover this was not our honeymoon, we have been married 41 years and gone to many places, so this is a fair and balanced assessment.

Now the Rimrock is truly a five star hotel with all the amenities as one would expect of such a resort. It has comfy elegant rooms with grand views and its interior décor is gorgeously romantic, with of course a spa and gym, for those who use such things on vacation. It even has a small skating rink. Moreover, its room prices are very reasonable considering its beauty. The location of the resort is terrifc, being about three miles from the town (we rented a car), and ten minutes by bus which conveniently runs every forty minutes back and forth. So, if you want to be near the shops and noise of the small town, perhaps this is not the hotel for you. Yet, if you are looking for great service and a wonderful staff and like being treated as king or queen or the person who owns the resort, this is the place for you.

The concierge desk is located to the left near the front door. Standard practice is smile and a welcome going in or out. The concierge is your life line to an enjoyable stay. They can pre-arrange on your itinerary with adventures like dogsledding (great), snowmobiling (terrifc), sleigh rides, and of course skiing. They even open your car door when arriving and leaving. In addition, they know great places to eat. Yet, don’t be surprised if the recommend their own “Eden” for dining. It’s a fabulous five star restaurant with all the trimmings. You’d thing it was expensive, but we ordered its four course dinner and paid $200 US, including a bottle of wine and tip, and our dinner will certainly be put on our top five all time list (don’t miss the lobster appetizer and the steak). Their dishes are small yet absolutely delicious, and they keep coming with extras and extras. We were stuffed when we left.

And there is something more to Rimrock. This is their pleasant can do attitude. Their one objective is to make your stay fantastic. And they do other things like changing activity times if you oversleep or changing dinner times if you late from enjoying your outdoor activities, or even after you return home having left your scarf at the last restaurant in town, they’ll get it and send it to you. Indeed, we put them through the tests, and each time they came up roses. Our best to Sean and Scott, Jeff, and others, they became our friends.


Sincerely,
Alan John Meister
CEO and President
Travels Review Company

Room Tip: Make sure to go the the "Eden Restaurant" for a night never to forget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,921 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,070
    505
    204
    83
    59
See reviews for
460
896
42
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Hoping to avoid the Christmas vacationers, we stayed for two nights the week prior to Christmas (Dec.17 & 18). The Rimrock is a lovely resort hotel, a short drive from the town of Banff. It sits nestled between mountains with wonderful views in each direction. Walking directly into the main lobby you are struck by the beauty of an open lounge area with a huge wood burning fireplace and a wall of windows - a lovely place to kick back and relax in the sun. Because the hotel was slow, upon check-in, when we inquired about internet and parking, the front desk waived the fees and provided us with both at no charge. The customer service was awesome - always a good morning/afternoon/evening when entering or leaving the hotel, the concierge and bellman were knowledgeable and helpful always anticipating our needs. Our room was clean, well appointed and had everything we could need. Our reservation came with a breakfast coupon for both days. The service in the dining room was impeccable and the food was delicious. Coffee was provided in a thermal flask and tea in a teapot. When breakfast was complete, we were provided with take-away cups for our unfinished coffee/tea - something you don't find very often. During our stay we took the opportunity to visit the Sulphur Mountain Hot Springs, just a short walk from the hotel. Just under $10.00 a person will gain you admittance to the pool and a towel. It was a nice way to spend a couple hours. Although we had our own vehicle, one could easily catch the bus, which stopped right at the front door and ran about every 40 minutes. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in late November and were lucky with lots of lovely fresh snow and not many tourists. The hotel is out of town which is a downfall, but if you have a car or use the hotel shuttle, it is fine and definitely worth it. If we were going all the way to the Rockies, then I wanted to see the Rockies out of our window, and see them indeed we did. Stunning. Our kids had a ball playing snowball fights outside the hotel and we loved sitting in the cozy lobby lounge at night by the huge fire. All the Christmas decorations were up too which helped add to the magic. My only complaint is that our room was next to a function room and on our last night, there were loud parties that didn't end till 2am. Very disappointing and definitely bad management to put a family in this location. Lodged a complaint and got a discount on the last night but it did leave a bad taste in the mouth. Great hotel if you get a room NOWHERE near the function rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Location is little out of town but shuttle bus is excellent. Stunning view of mountians & a short walk to the Hot Springs, which are lovely to relax in, water was 38degrees. We enjoyed every minute & would love to visit again .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The location is stunning. I've stayed here a few times over the years and I still get a kick out of the location.

Rooms here are frequently discounted, but once you arrive its obvious why. The parking garage must be a profit center. In a world where 4 and 5 star hotels offer free WIFI throughout their hotels that's not the case here.

The rooms are spacious. Dinner is a good bargain. Well prepared and more than ample servings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Terrible front desk service. I ordered twenty rooms for a conference. I required one room to be ready a little earlier than check in time (4pm which is ridiculous). Then they temporarily lost my luggage. I went to have a shower and there was no hot or even luke warm water.

Beautiful views, but totally not worth the price for such poor service.

Little FYI, they don't check parking. No point in paying 16 dollars (self parking) for half stalls underground or above ground parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It was one of the best resort hotels I've been in. The room we stayed in was humongous, with a king size bed, very clean and with all the ususal amenities. The best part about the room, which wa on the 4th floor (the lobby of the hotel being on the 7th!), has a very convenient balcony, where you can chill and enjoy the snowy mountains in the distance, absolutely breathtaking!
We had the buffet breakfast in the morning, which was also pretty good. . I wished they had a wider variety in the food menu tho, but can't complain, becasue the excellent service from the staff really makes you feel like home! Will definitely go back every year, the location being so close to the Banff Gandola and Sulphur Hot Springs.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms on the 4th floor have the personal balcony option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.