We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st rate service & stunning views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Banff
Luton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“1st rate service & stunning views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Location is little out of town but shuttle bus is excellent. Stunning view of mountians & a short walk to the Hot Springs, which are lovely to relax in, water was 38degrees. We enjoyed every minute & would love to visit again .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,011
    482
    194
    79
    53
See reviews for
426
846
41
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The location is stunning. I've stayed here a few times over the years and I still get a kick out of the location.

Rooms here are frequently discounted, but once you arrive its obvious why. The parking garage must be a profit center. In a world where 4 and 5 star hotels offer free WIFI throughout their hotels that's not the case here.

The rooms are spacious. Dinner is a good bargain. Well prepared and more than ample servings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Terrible front desk service. I ordered twenty rooms for a conference. I required one room to be ready a little earlier than check in time (4pm which is ridiculous). Then they temporarily lost my luggage. I went to have a shower and there was no hot or even luke warm water.

Beautiful views, but totally not worth the price for such poor service.

Little FYI, they don't check parking. No point in paying 16 dollars (self parking) for half stalls underground or above ground parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It was one of the best resort hotels I've been in. The room we stayed in was humongous, with a king size bed, very clean and with all the ususal amenities. The best part about the room, which wa on the 4th floor (the lobby of the hotel being on the 7th!), has a very convenient balcony, where you can chill and enjoy the snowy mountains in the distance, absolutely breathtaking!
We had the buffet breakfast in the morning, which was also pretty good. . I wished they had a wider variety in the food menu tho, but can't complain, becasue the excellent service from the staff really makes you feel like home! Will definitely go back every year, the location being so close to the Banff Gandola and Sulphur Hot Springs.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms on the 4th floor have the personal balcony option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saanich
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at the Rimrock for a 2 day conference and have to say what a great place. It is located a little ways out of town ,,,, 15 min drive or $12.00 cab ride but the location gives you a fantastic view if the mountains and the piece and quite of the wilderness.

The hotel has everything you could ask for, great restaurants, nicely decorated and comfortable rooms, poll/hot tub facilities, lots of meeting room space and even an outdoor skating rink. As soon as you walk in the front doors you are immediately greeted by an incredible view from the floor to ceiling windows in lobby and the smell of the crackling fire. The check-in staff was very helpful and had no problem accommodating a change of room request. The rooms are large and well-appointed with new furnishings and an extremely comfortable bed. The in room wifi works well and is available to multiple devises at no extra charge.

I highly recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway or business conference ,,,, you will not be disappointed either way.

Room Tip: Lobby is on the 7 floor so request a room on the 5th or 6th floors to get the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Hotel is set in the Mountains with views to "die" for..The rooms have beds that make you feel like you are "Sleeping Beauty"...The staff is very polite and extremely helpful.The Hotel has a bus service into town for free and makes it very easy to sight see and get around without a car.The food was delicious and I would recommend this Hotel to anyone.They also have a fabulous steam-room,pool and hot-tub area that looks directly at the mountains.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Dear Rimrock

We love you dearly, and visit every chance we can. We were married in your hotel and so it holds special memories for us. The last few times though we have been too hot and not able to sleep. There is no a/c (who would expect you'd need a/c in the mountains?!) and the thermostats in the room only go down to 17degrees Celcius. We did get a fan from housekeeping, and had the window open from the moment we walked in the room, but unfortunately it didn't help lower the temperature.

We noticed that the temperature in the parkade to be hot as well- our vehicle showed it was 31 degrees Celcius!

Perhaps you can provide the option to turn down the heat, to provide more comfort while sleeping?

Hope to see you again soon.

J&B Hagen

Room Tip: The end suites (700/800) have the best, unobstructed views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.