We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rimrock Quiet Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rimrock Quiet Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our excursion to Banff included a quiet stay at the Rimrock Hotel. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. They seem to go out of their way to grant your wishes. The better rooms had both a ever-changing view of the Banff valley, the far mountains and Mt Rundle. Eating on the small lounge terrace was exhilarating as you're one of three tables on a small balcony on the 7th floor. The food at the Eden was exquisitely presented and well worth the extras. Getting to town was effortless as the the ROAM bus stops in front of the hotel frequently. And when the rental car agency did not pick us up as expected, the Concierge provided their own transportation to town to pickup the car. We were able to walk up the road to the Tram that took us to the top of the mountain. From there, the 360 degree view was magnificent. Also up the road was the hot springs.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a view of the Banff Valley - exhilarating everchanging views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    529
    207
    84
    60
See reviews for
478
937
43
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We checked out this past Sunday and i would have to say it was a weekend that i will never forget! The room was perfect,clean,maintained,breathe taking view,comfy bed,clean bathrooms and much more.Service was top notch, i have not one complaint on their amazing and respectable staff. There was little marks here and there and yes the carpet was a little worn on the edges of the stairs but really there service,rooms,multi dining options/great food, spa/fitness center and location make up for those tiny things in my mind. My now husband to be proposed in the primrose this weekend due to his other plans falling though and the primrose was more then accommodating and willing to help him last moment.We are so pleased with this hotel that we are thinking of getting married there this coming summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a deluxe queen room for a wedding we were attending. The room was fine, a beautiful view but the bathtubs are impossible to lie down in. Shallow, long and no sloping back. If you like baths - make sure you get a room with a more modern tub!

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous - we had drinks in the lobby lounge - the best martini ever (the $20 one) and the service was great. We didn't eat any other meals at this hotel.

We did walk up to the gondola and did some hiking around the hotel. Lovely trip.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a modern tub if you love baths!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our family has stayed in a number of places in Banff over the years and yet the Rimrock is our favorite by far. We have stayed here many times over the years (including for a few conferences) and have been very satisfied every time. It is a little out of the way from the town site of Banff, but that is part of the appeal as far as we are concerned. The rooms have always been clean and well kept. The onsite restaurants are also excellent. Even the small cafe has good breakfast snacks and coffee if you're in a rush. Overall, we have never been disappointed during any of our stays at the Rimrock.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the higher level rooms; better views and worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We recently stayed (checked out yesterday) here, and we're disappointed with the little things like, paint needed on the trim in the hallways and around the doors, old mounting screw holes in the bath room wall, lack of curved shower bar for space, carpet down to he Primrose restaurant was worn to the floor. These little things make you wonder what the Preventative Maintenace schedules are like for the rest of the hotel. The staff were impeccable with service, but be careful that the eggs benedict are fully cooked in the Primrose restaurant. Views are amazing.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I recently stayed at the Rimrock Resort Hotel for a few nights.

The hotel was impeccable. The staff were friendly and accommodating. And, the food was quite good all around.

Considering the busy Summer season just ended, the property is in great shape. I'd have to look hard and be extremely nit-picky to find a fault.

I'd recommend this hotel / resort to anyone looking for a classy get away. It's a bit remote, ie. a fair distance from down town Banff, so if you like to walk everywhere - prepare yourself for a good hike to get to & from Town.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are rooms that aren't great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have stayed here several times before, both in a regular room and in a premium suite. This time we stayed in a "junior suite" and felt it was the best value for dollar for a family who prefers a bit of space. Premium suites are quite a bit more expensive (for which you may get a fireplace and a small balcony) and a regular room is much cheaper but is standard size (2 beds in same small space). But the Junior Suite had a fully separate, very large living room area with it's own tv, nice leather sofa bed and chairs, and plenty of room for an extra cot too. For our family it gave us the separation and space we wanted without the premium cost.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimrock Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.