We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn is the only ski in/ ski out hotel in Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sunshine Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   One Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 hotels in Banff
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“The Inn is the only ski in/ ski out hotel in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

I have been staying at Sunshine for 38 years and have experienced many situations, some good and some pretty awful.
Matt McCormack has been the Inn Keeper for 9 years and has brought about some amazing changes. He is practically always on site with his door open and a welcoming personality.
The rooms are renovated to reflect the mountain environment and contain every necessity found in a modern hotel. My only complaint is that there is no room with 2 twin beds so unless you want to share a queen bed, one guest must sleep on a very hard pullout couch.
The staff are super,lots from "down under" including several from Perth who met for the first time at Sunshine. They are all friendly,polite and helpful which is a huge improvement over past years.
The food is excellent, prepared under the guidance of a swiss chef and meals are well priced.
The check in/check out area at the base is well staffed and efficient. It's too bad the luggage is not delivered more promptly to guests on arrival.

This is a hotel for all ages-my family of 10 spent New Year's here, the 3 year old in Mountain School, the 6 year old in ski school all day and the grandparents, parents and 2 teens skied in excellent conditions.

I hope to continue my visits to Sunshine as long as my legs hold out

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    41
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
36
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lloydminster
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2006

It was amazing, the one thing I didn't like about it was leaving. The food was THE BEST. The people were super nice and the rooms where beautiful and not to metion they weren't pricy. I got a massage, it felt like I was in heaven. If you're reading this and you haven't yet gone to this hotel and telling you GO!!! The snowboarding is great!

  • Liked — what is not to like?
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — no
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHX, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2006

We stayed in probably one of the best rooms, right on the corner with an awesome view of the mountains. The lounge was a nice place to have a meal and hot drink and the fireplace adds to the feeling of a snow resort. They don't have room service, but you can call the lounge and order a meal then pick it up. They even package it all for you so it's easy to carry.
I don't have a complaint, Banff is beautiful and the resort was clean, nice and updated.

  • Liked — Great mountains for every level. The resort was clean, nice, comfortable and updated.
  • Disliked — No room service
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early since the resort fills up quickly for the season, otherwise your stuck staying in Banff (not too bad, but kind of a hassle to get back & forth).
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2006

A year ago I gave this hotel a poor review as the rooms were filthy and the service was less than stellar. We returned again this year and to our surprise the room we stayed in had been redecorated and the staff seemed pleased to be there.

The rooms really are gorgeous with new carpeting throughout, a flat screen TV, and a fresh paint job. The room set-up has been adjusted and the bathroom was completely renovated as well. A strong showerhead with new tiles, light fixtures etc is excellent after a long day on the slopes!

I know the hotel has no control over the noise issues but if you're a light sleeper I suggest you get a room on the third floor so you don't have noisy ski boots thumping overhead as early as 6 AM. Bring earplugs though, and sleep shouldn't be a problem.

Some of our colleagues stayed in the terrace rooms, which still haven't been redecorated. We heard from them that the rooms/noise/cleanliness issues haven't been resolved yet.

The skiing in early April was getting a bit slushy at the base and icy on some days at the top.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon, London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2006

I stayed for a Friday night in January, and was very impressed by the whole set-up. The efficiency on arrival, with valet parking, and being able to go skiing straightaway while someone else dealt with my luggage was fabulous.

The evening offered sitting by log fires in the hotel, or an evening in the lively bar 30m across the piste.

Breakfast yielded some of the biggest pancakes ever seen - just right for a day's hard skiing.

I could not extend my stay over Saturday as the hotel was not surprisingly full, but the manager went out of his way to book another hotel for me in Banff. All the staff (many of them English) were polite and very helpful.

The hotel has two sections, and the older one where I stayed was looking a bit worn and did have thin walls - better for the partying crowd! However, the price I paid including 2 days lift pass was unbeatable, and the only choice for a serious skiier. Once fully modernised the price can only head upwards quickly - stay while you can afford to!

If you're looking for all mod cons, make sure you're in the more modern section, but expect to pay a bit more.

If you're a shopper / commuter not a skier, stay in Banff, spend your money on tacky souvenirs and get stuck in traffic jams on your way the resort.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2005

Date: April 2005
Reviewer: A tripadvisor traveller

We stayed in the Inn at this resort for 4 nights in April 2005. We booked one family room with 2 Queen sized beds. This is a fantastic ski resort with wonderful skiing. We chose to stay at the Sunshine Village Inn which promised great ski in and ski out facilities.

Good points: It has a wonderful outside hot tub, the restaurant is reasonably priced and has a varied menu offering good value. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Thats all I can say thats good about it I'm afraid.

Bad points: The hotel was built and designed in the 1970's -has the worst decor I've seen anywhere. The carpets need to be seen to be believed!!!The rooms were small and cramped and the bed sheets on my bed were torn and the blanket on my daughters bed had holes in it.

The lobby area was used by families on day trips camping out who brought their own picnics and sat there eating them - as were all the landings by the lifts on all floors - carpets throuhout as a result were soggy wet and the lifts smelt of damp dog and cheesy feet. The supposed "guest only" sitting room was also wet and the sofas in it were broken. There seemed to be no policy of "no ski boots inside". For the cost of the rooms it was expensive and of very poor quality and I for one will not go back there and I would recommend that convenience for skiing access does not justify the price for staying in such a dingy, dark and unappealing hotel.

I regret that their exclusive position has made the owners complacent. The whole hotel needs some serious investment and modernisation. I wonder if they have researched repeat visits by guests. I would doubt that many come back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2005

We only stayed one night at the inn and had two days skiing. The inn is great. Located at 7000 feet, you are in and on the Canadian Rockies. Nicely decorated. Service was great. The restaurant and bar , located on the ground level, were excellent and had a nice rustic atmosphere. The huge hot tub was great as well. The only downside is the gondola stops running 8-8:30 so if you want to have dinner in Banff you need to be back before the lift closes. That can also be a plus to some people. The skiing is good but a lot of flat spots.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunshine Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Address: One Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#12 Family Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high in the Canadian Rockies in Canada’s oldest and most famous national park, this eco-boutique hotel delivers extraordinary luxury surrounded by breathtaking scenery. It is place unlike anything you have ever experienced.World-famous dining. Opulent rooms . Friendly, courteous staff. Outside, a sky so full of stars you won’t believe your eyes. And some of the best skiing you’ll ever find, just footsteps from your room. The Sunshine Mountain Lodge is the ONLY ski-in, ski-out hotel in the Mountain National Parks. It offers casual and fine dining, the area’s largest hot tub, spa services and family friendly activities. Our new West Wing offers rooms with in-floor heating, jetted tubs, large-screen LCD TVs, all in a rustic mountain theme.It’s the vacation you and your family will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunshine Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Mountain Hotel Banff
Sunshine Mountain Resort
Sunshine Village Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.