We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ski in ski out experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sunshine Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   One Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 hotels in Banff
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect ski in ski out experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a work retreat here and it was wonderful! Staff were very helpful from taking our luggage at check in at the base of the gondola, to organizing a great breakfast, and answering any questions we had. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    41
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
36
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here for three nights, and had an overall good experience.
The best part is being able to wake up, have breakfast, put on your ski stuff, and be one of the first ones out on the hill. And then be able to ski up to the hotel at the end of the day, get in the hot tub, and not have to worry about driving anywhere.

We had two beautifully sunny mornings, with fresh powder, and being able to get out and ski first thing was really amazing.
The downside is that you are stuck there at night, and unfortunately the food at the restaurant is pretty mediocre. It's not bad...it's just not good either. Not that surprising since they have to send everything up a gondola, but that got old by the second day. Would recommend bringing a lot of your own snacks at least.

The rooms were pretty nice. We had one of the basic rooms in the main lodge the first two nights, looking towards the trees in the back, which we actually really liked. Small-ish, but has everything you need, and it was nice, and quiet, and enjoyed just watching the snow fall on the trees.
We had to move the third night because those rooms were all booked when we reserved. We originally moved to the newer wing to a 'deluxe' room. That room was fine.. a bit bigger, but still only a queen bed, and the windows looked right out to the lift only maybe 20ft away. I guess that's a nice view..but didn't feel nearly as private. The second floor of that wing is off the ground and has much bigger windows..those rooms may be worth the extra money, but the first floor certainly isn't in our opinion.

And I think the walls are thinner over there. We had a group of young guys in the room next to us there intent on partying..which we were really not excited about.
We called to complain about the noise and asked to move. After some discussion, they ended up handling it well and professionally - the hotel was almost full that night but they moved us to a suite back in the main lodge, which was on the floor we had been on before. Much better.

All in all a really nice time. Some great skiing, beautiful views, and time relaxing in the hot tub and sauna. Wouldn't recommend staying more than 2 or 3 nights just due to the lack of food options.

Room Tip: see review - would recommend the rooms in the main lodge actually, especially the ones that face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi Sara,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the fresh powder and sunny skies that Sunshine Village is known for.

I am also glad that you were able to switch rooms when the noise got to be a little much.

Please feel free to share more details about your dining experience with our General Manager of Food & Beverage, Steve Novak at snovak@skibanff.com.

On behalf of everyone at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge, we sincerely hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have stayed at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge before and this most recent stay was exactly what I expected. I come to stay here around two or three times a year, and this is a trip I always look forward to for many reasons. The main reason I come is for the skiing - you just can't beat the location. I love the fact that from the ski locker room, once you step outside you can put your skis on straightaway and one of the lifts is immediately there so that you can start skiing your heart out. The staff is always pleasant and it's great to chat with the various employees who come from all over the world - hear their story, why they're here and what they've got planned after the ski season is over. The rooms have comfortable beds and I believe the showers are the best here with consistent water temperature and pressure. I also love the planned activities for guests each evening. There is always something to do here, as well there is a gym, hot tub, etc. The food in the on site restaurant, The Chimney Corner, is excellent. If there is any complaint I could make it's that often I find the service to be slow in the restaurant, but I'd rather this is my only criticism and that at least the service is friendly and the food is delicious. I will most definitely be back...at least a few times every year to come.

Room Tip: There are various room selections depending on the luxury you are seeking in your trip. I have staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thanks for the glowing review of our resort, Selena!

Being the only ski-in, ski-out hotel in Banff National Park, we pride ourselves on offering exceptional experiences for all our guests.

We’re so glad you enjoy all that the Sunshine Mountain Lodge and Sunshine Village have to offer.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best regards,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My fiancé and I are season pass holders and this was our first experience with the Sunshine mountain lodge and we had a few issues with our stay.

Upon arrival, we checked in at the mountain base where they took our bags and informed us they would be transferred directly to our room. The hill was quite busy on the day of our arrival and there was limited parking. We were told there would be valet service for us. The staff member who parked our vehicle moved all 3 mirrors, adjusted the steering wheel, moved the seat, changed the height of the seat belt and lowered both sun visors causing papers to fall out and land on the wet floor mats and it all seemed unnecessary considering the vehicle was moved 15 ft. at most. Also, our vehicle the next day had 3 new dings on the passenger side of the vehicle. We are positive these dings occurred during some point after leaving our vehicle in Sunshine’s hands because they scuffed the dirt off the door along with the paint. We are very unimpressed by this aspect of our stay and we will be refusing any form of valet service in the future.

After checking in at the base, we went to the top of the mountain and proceeded to ride for the day! After the lifts closed, we went to the lodge and checked into our room where our bags had been conveniently placed. The room was average, nothing special. The view however was spectacular; we were overlooking the Standish chair with a great view of the runs! We booked our stay during the shoulder season and if we hadn’t received a deal on the room because we are season pass holders, we would have never stayed here. The lodge is hugely overpriced; it’s just not worth it. The walls are paper thin and when our neighbour’s engaged in intimacy in the evening, we heard every thrust and moan and in the AM we heard our neighbour’s conversations without missing a word and if they read this: we sincerely hope you were able to locate your goggles and you should have had the eggs benedict instead of the pancakes, they were delicious. We could also hear the muffled sounds of multiple TV’s and the stomping around on the floor above us and through the hallways reminded me of my first apartment.

After snowboarding we enjoyed a few drinks at trappers before heading to the hot tub for a soak! When we were booking our stay, we were informed multiple times that bringing alcohol from home was NOT permitted and we followed the rule. We were disappointed to see how many others did not follow this rule and while soaking in the hot tub beerless, we regretted it. A lot of the hotel guests had brought their own alcohol. After our soak, we went for dinner and enjoyed the buffet! It was extremely delicious! In the morning, we ordered breakfast to our room which was also delicious! The service was as expected however not exceptional.

At the end of our stay, our bags were conveniently transported to the bottom of the hill.
All in all, we are glad we gave the lodge a try however we found it wasn’t worth it for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our hotel, Bri.

We are sorry to hear that we missed the mark on some areas of your stay.

I invite you to send me a direct email to me at mark.bell@skibanff.com to discuss any other concerns you may have.

Please also include the dates of your stay and the make and model of your vehicle, so we can look into this matter further.

We appreciate and value all of our guest feedback and we look forward to hearing back from you.

Best regards,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

If you LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE to ski all day...and not much else, this is the place for you. We stayed in the older part of the hotel and the room was very basic and small. I heard the loft suites in the newer building were quite a bit nicer and larger. Bed and bathroom were fine...nothing special. Staff was decent...a few hygiene issues with some people at the front desk and in the restaurant but hey, most of the employees are ski bums so...Food was just alright...never really hot....and not much flavor but they kind of have you because you can't leave the mountain after 5 pm. The gym was tiny and not very clean...there is no spa...the hot tub was okay but felt dirty. If you like a holiday with some skiing and better food, stay in Banff and ski at Sunshine for a day or two.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi Mishamee,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read about the challenges you faced with the meals during your stay. We pride ourselves in providing excellent quality and it seems we missed the mark in your case.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Please feel free to share more details about your dining experience with me directly at snovak@skibanff.com.

Warm regards,

Steve Novak, General Manager of Food and Beverage, Sunshine Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We have stayed a couple of times now and this time stayed in a loft unit. They are bigger than the individual bedrooms but you need to stay with family - you can of course hear everything. It worked well to bring the little ones as they had a bit more room to play. Of course it is great to be able to ski out from there and/or watch your group ski down from the balcony view. The food in the restaurants is great. Crepes at coffee shop are the best!!!

Room Tip: The loft units are fun and obviously bigger - just remember you can hear everything so no secrets so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Brenda,

Thanks for choosing our hotel this ski season!

We’re so glad you and your family had a lovely stay in the loft suite and happy to hear that the little ones had lots of room to play.

We agree that the crepes in the Java Lift are delicious and paired with a hot chocolate or latte-- it’s a tough-to-beat après-ski snack.

On behalf of everyone at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have stayed at the lodge numerous times, and this was by far our best experience. We arrived in the afternoon at the base, checking in was easy as ever. VIP lot was full so left keys and they parked our vehicle for us. Took gondola up to the hill and headed straight for the hotel to drop off our day pack, our room was ready so that was a nice suprise as it was only 1pm, and check in is usually 4pm. Front end staff was very helpful and extremely pleasant to deal with. After a few hours of skiing we headed back to our room, and there was a nice welcome back note from Ed (Thank you). We look forward to staying at the lodge again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Good afternoon from the Rockies,

We are elated that you have selected the Sunshine Mountain Lodge as a regular vacation spot and look forward to having you return again soon.

I will pass on your kind words to Ed and the rest of the team as I'm sure they’d be thrilled.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunshine Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Address: One Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high in the Canadian Rockies in Canada’s oldest and most famous national park, this eco-boutique hotel delivers extraordinary luxury surrounded by breathtaking scenery. It is place unlike anything you have ever experienced.World-famous dining. Opulent rooms . Friendly, courteous staff. Outside, a sky so full of stars you won’t believe your eyes. And some of the best skiing you’ll ever find, just footsteps from your room. The Sunshine Mountain Lodge is the ONLY ski-in, ski-out hotel in the Mountain National Parks. It offers casual and fine dining, the area’s largest hot tub, spa services and family friendly activities. Our new West Wing offers rooms with in-floor heating, jetted tubs, large-screen LCD TVs, all in a rustic mountain theme.It’s the vacation you and your family will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunshine Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Mountain Hotel Banff
Sunshine Mountain Resort
Sunshine Village Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.