We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunshine Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   One Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at this amazing location over the Christmas break 2013. What an experience! As soon as we arrived at the base station we felt so cared for. The staff were wonderfully helpful, taking our bags up to the hotel for us and guiding us through the checking in process with a friendly smile. It's such a special place, our room was small but wonderfully cosy, the restaurants were relaxed with lovely staff, the hot tub was superb and the hotel being ski in/ski out just completed our dream holiday! Well done Sunshine Mountain Lodge - such a special place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Wow—what a lovely review all the way from the UK!

We are so happy to hear that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay in December 2013.

We are committed to having friendly, hard-working staff at Sunshine Village and it’s so nice to hear that they were able to make your stay more enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, Pip and family.

Warm regards,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    42
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
38
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane Alberta
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

There was once a time when the guests on international packages were getting a far better deal than we locals. I think many locals haven't yet realized the value of a Sunshine Marmot ski card. Since this only works if you live nearby it is a welcome deal for the locals. Sunshine is providing a significant discount on their standard rooms to card holders. As a result ourselves and other retired folks often decide on a quick break and stay up after skiing for a night or two. We certainly feel welcome by the great staff. The standard rooms in the old part of the building may not be five star and sometimes after several days the menu needs more variety. However look where you are!! It is heaven!! Love soaking in the hot pool as the mountain tops turn pink and everyone heads home

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Barb,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are lucky to live in such a naturally beautiful place!

I am glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the great deals that the Sunshine Marmot card offers and take a quick “ski-break” and enjoy Banff’s largest outdoor hot tub.

We look forward to your next visit to the Sunshine Mountain Lodge.

Best regards,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Our family of four arrived on Friday after the slopes were closed, so it was quite in the village. After the gondola ride up and short the walk over to the lodge, I really felt like I was in a special place.

We were up early the next day to hit the runs as soon as we could. It's so convenient staying up at the lodge and being ahead of the morning rush.

The skiing was awesome, loved the great variety of terrain. I’m just a beginner and really enjoyed the green run off the Strawberry lift. My husband and kids explored many areas, but ran out of time to get to Goat’s Eye. We all downloaded the Alpine app. It was great fun comparing stats at the end of the day.

Staff were friendly and welcoming everywhere we went; front desk, rentals, coffee shop, lift operators, burger bar. Good quality burgers were a nice delight (in my experience it's rare to have such good eats at the day lodge).

Truly a unique Alberta winter experience, one that won’t be soon forgotten.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi Marney,

Thank you for the lovely review of our resort.

We are so happy to hear that you and your family had a great stay at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge and that you all enjoyed the slopes as well!

We agree that our ski-in, ski-out hotel makes a unique winter get-away and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm regards,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the Lodge for 6 nights. We had never snowboarded or skied before so didn't have any expectations or even know how things worked.

You had to check in twice, once at the bottom of the mountain to get your bags sent up (This can take up to 4 hours so if there is anything you need put it in a day pack) and again when you reached the Lodge (after a stunning 25 minute gondola ride).

We were staying in a Deluxe mountain view room which was a decent size and clean- don't expect any flash furnishing. The view of the slopes was nice and if I came in for a break I could watch the family on the green run.

Food was delicious, although we did get a bit sick of the same thing by the end of the week. We found the food and drink very well priced considering the location (we are from Perth, one of Australia's most expensive cities so we may not be a good judge. I did hear some American's complaining about the price). Approx $7 for a beer, $13 for breakfast and $50 per person for dinner including drinks and multiple courses.

The hot tub was a blessing after a long days work out! It was a definitely a novelty sitting in the tub whilst it was snowing!

We all snowboarded and our equipment hire was fast, easy and looked in good condition. We had some clips break and they replaced them quickly. I'd recommend hiring a helmet as well- it saved us all from some nasty injuries.
(Also if you're a beginner look at buying some wrist guards in Banff!! They definitely helped me!)
We had 4 days of continuous snow, which meant it didn't hurt so much when you fell over!! Everyone was going nuts over the powder!

My Con's about the Lodge:
There seemed to be no one in charge, staff were friendly but most didn't go that extra mile. No one informed us upon check in that we needed lift passes and house keeping didn't come around until 3pm. Most of the staff were Australian and I'm sorry to say our hospitality skills aren't as good as Canada or America. They stuffed up our dinner order almost every night and even when the Lodge was quiet we ended up having to wait the longest for service. Having said that Lyndsey was fantastic, provided exceptional service and even came to see how our day was on her night off!

We booked a package through SkiMax and most of the staff didn't know what to do with the vouchers!

My biggest gripe would be with the ski school. On our first day we were meant to have a lesson and it was a COLD day -30C!. The lifts weren't open until midday and I called the ski school that morning to see if we should postpone our lessons to the next day. I was told we could do them that afternoon if we wanted so we said yes not realising that the conditions would make it harder to learn in- no one told us and never seeing snow before I didn't think to ask. We also had an instructor that didn't want to be there as it was too cold, all of his mates had their classes cancelled and got to home whilst still getting paid. Needless to say our first experience wasn't fun! When we complained to the director we were rudely shut down!
The next day we cancelled our lesson as it was still cold and were told to request a different trainer by another guest. Taran was AMAZING! Really made our trip and got my confidence back after the first horrible lesson.

Apart from that we had a great stay and LOVED snow boarding! Even though the Lodge had it's faults it was definitely worth staying there! Who wants to spend 45 minutes plus getting back to Banff with all your gear?!? Just stay at the Lodge- by the time the other boarders get home you've had a session in the hot tub and are sitting by the fire with a beer, watching the mountains get dark- bliss!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

From Calgary it is nice to spend a night on the hill or more if one can. In the old days you would get to ski on the day you arrived and the next day which was great. Now you only get next days skiing (VIP parking included). This helps but the price is still up there so we can only do it once or twice a season. Meals: The Owl's Nest was OK (sea food platter was a little salty) Mad Trappers good clam chowder and chill, Goats Eye sausage was more like a hotdog but good. Like others have said the food is lacking when compared to the resort. The room (suite) was lovely, kingbed, jet tub, fireplace, flat screen, robes and more. One of the best thinks is the hot tub outside, very nice after a day of skiing. On the Monday we were welcomed to a sunshine day, still a little cool, cold, but a very good skiing day. Sleep: well you got groomers and snow machines on the go through the night, I don't know if they woke me or I was awake anyway but I could hear them off in the distance. There is still lots of season left so maybe we can do it again.

Room Tip: I would consider midweek a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks for the review, J & W.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your suite at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge—and we agree the hot tub feels great after a day on the slopes!

As for your feedback about the food—our Food & Beverage team is doing a mid-year review where they will look into the items you mentioned here.

We’re wide open until May 19th, so there is still lots of time to stay with us again!

Best regards,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We spent a couple of days on the hill. The skiing was great the hotel and hotel service was good but the food was terrible. We had dinner at the Eagles Nest. The dining room seems like an afterthought. We had salads for starters and they were not very fresh. I had the Elk osso bucco and it was so tough I could not eat it. The accompanying risotto and veggies were ok. They were gracious enough to take it off my bill but I wondered how the chef could let that out of the kitchen. Others at the table thought the meal was fair. Lunch the next day was not much better. A friend ordered the beef dip that was so past well done it was unacceptable. I had the beef and mushroom pie that tasted good at first but was so laced with salt that I could only get through half of it. Maybe the people at Sunshine think they have a captive audience and have no need to improve the food but I would think twice before staying there again.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello Ray S,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our resort.

We pride ourselves on offering all of our guests an exceptional dining experience and it sounds as though we missed the mark in your case.

Our General Manager of Food & Beverage, Steve Novak, would like to connect to learn further details about your experience. He can be reached at steve.novak@skibanff.com.

Warm regards,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have to say that for the first time in our life we had one of the most relaxing, satisfying and enjoyable stays at Sunshine Mt Lodge. The staff went beyond to please us. Service in The Eagles nest was prompt, the food and wine was perfect, and the chef came out and made us a special champagne sorbet and said he hopes we have a wonderful time. The ROOM was SPECTACULAR. Great view of Standish chair lift and the mountains. Clean and comforting. Breakfast the next day was delicious, our server was solo sweet to us so early in the am! The snow conditions were epic. We found power in the trees and the groomers were so fun to ride. The second night we stayed, we enjoyed dinner in the Chimney Restaurant, where Amanda, the server gave us EXCELLENT service! I can't stress enough how much it means to go to a place and be treated with such kindness and service! We tipped well to all the servers and maids, because they went above and beyond for us. Didn't want to leave- and look forward to going back- next time with our two children as it is very child friendly as well!

Room Tip: We had the King Bed suite, and it was perfect! Huge Jacuzzi tub, very modern and spacious. Big comfy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hi Sora B,

Thank-you for the glowing review of your recent visit, as we are thrilled that you were able to experience the uniqueness of staying slopeside in the heart of Banff National Park!

We will definitely pass along your kind words to Amanda and the rest of the hotel team as we do strive to deliver an exceptional customer experience and do hope you return soon with the rest of your family. The lodge is such a great place for kids with activities like snowshoeing, tobogganing and scavenger hunts to explore after the lifts close.

See you again soon,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Address: One Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#12 Family Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high in the Canadian Rockies in Canada’s oldest and most famous national park, this eco-boutique hotel delivers extraordinary luxury surrounded by breathtaking scenery. It is place unlike anything you have ever experienced.World-famous dining. Opulent rooms . Friendly, courteous staff. Outside, a sky so full of stars you won’t believe your eyes. And some of the best skiing you’ll ever find, just footsteps from your room. The Sunshine Mountain Lodge is the ONLY ski-in, ski-out hotel in the Mountain National Parks. It offers casual and fine dining, the area’s largest hot tub, spa services and family friendly activities. Our new West Wing offers rooms with in-floor heating, jetted tubs, large-screen LCD TVs, all in a rustic mountain theme.It’s the vacation you and your family will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunshine Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Mountain Hotel Banff
Sunshine Mountain Resort
Sunshine Village Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.