We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Ski in/out Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sunshine Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   One Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ski in/out Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

You are right at the Village and the ski lift is 20 steps away. Very good buffet breakfast they have on the weekends or when the hotel is busy enough. Recommend you come up the friday night to ski saturday / sunday. They will take all your luggage back to base and will be waiting there end of the day. Rentals are both at the base and top of hill. Rooms where nicely completed and had that chalet atmosphere. Front of lodge rooms faced ski hill which was extra bonus and back rooms faced mountain. Dining area had a well stocked liquor, nice fireplaces with some large couches to make your time comfortable. Hot tub was large and relaxing and they had a family room where you could watch movies, play board games or just relax. Staff service levels where excellent and would exceeded my expectations from the front desk to the breakfast service staff. Will be going back sometime soon.

Room Tip: Ask for ski facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hello dexxa11,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We take pride in offering a stress-free vacation for all of our guests and it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'm so glad you could take advantage of our closeness to the ski lifts. We think it's pretty great to wake up as well.

We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed the couch seating in front of the fireplace-- it's a perfect spot to enjoy an apres-ski cocktail, or grab some dinner.

On behalf of the staff and myself, let me say that we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sunshine Mountain Lodge again very soon.

Best,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    43
    14
    10
    7
See reviews for
38
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Sunshine Mountain Lodge is a modern, luxurious property just steps away from the Mount Standish chairlift for ski-in, ski-out access. The rooms are large with a fireplace and large bathroom with shower and bath and a balcony. The lodge's large hot tub is a great place to soak away sore ski muscles and there is a choice of restaurants for dinner. Staff are friendly and helpful and there is a daily evening activity although my husband and I were happy to just soak, dine and relax. We stayed one night and would happily have spent longer, a few nights in Banff for shopping and nightlife followed by a few nights at Sunshine for easy access to the slopes is a great combo. The hotel is great value too with a next day lift pass per person included in the rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi Skichickcharlie,

Thanks so much for writing a review on your recent stay at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed the hot tub-- it's one of our favourite things about staying up at the resort as well.

We're also happy to hear that you took advantage of our on-mountain restaurants. Did you have a chance to try the great desserts? If not, make sure to next time.

Thanks again for the review and we can't wait to welcome you back!

Cheers,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had an excellent stay here. It was fantastic to be able to ski in and out, and the property itself is very comfortable. The different food options were good and reasonably priced and there are different events organised like movies, bingo etc. The hot tub was great as well - although the size means that there might be large, rowdy groups of people there, detracting somewhat from the idyllic setting. The service was generally excellent - the front desk staff and concierge were super, we had a bunch of different luggage issues that were handled very well.

The "could be better" bits:
The website is not up to date - some "policies" appeared to have changed. Good: The wireless is free. Bad: there is no ski "valet" service.

As others have mentioned, the rooms are small (we had a "deluxe" room but it felt pretty standard) and the internet is very slow. There is not much storage space so if you are staying there for more than two or three days I think it would feel very cramped. Also, there seems to be minimal sound proofing, so you can hear everything happening in the hallway from your room - in our case, this included a group with five small children who enjoyed racing up and down the hall.

On the other hand, you are staying on a mountain in the middle of a beautiful national park, so this setting is hard to beat.

Breakfast in Chimney Lounge: All the staff from the check-in at the gondola base through to staff in the sports bar were really friendly and helpful with one notable exception. On our last morning, we checked out around 8.15 am, and were looking forward to a big breakfast before hitting the slopes for one last, full day. We went to the Lounge, where we had had an enjoyable dinner the previous evening. It was quite quiet, and we were waved in to sit wherever we wanted. We then waited about 10 minutes with no service - I even got up to grab menus for us. A number of servers went past our table and made eye contact without bothering to actually stop. Instead, they seemed more interested in joining the other 3/4 servers chatting behind the bar. I was really surprised, it was real contrast to the excellent service over dinner. After being studiously ignored, we went downstairs to the Java cafe where it is much busier, and the servers still manage to be more professional and friendly. This was our last (attempted) meal at the lodge so it unfortunately left a sour note on our stay.

Games room: We liked the amenities in the games room but it seemed like an afterthought and could definitely be made more welcoming and comfortable. There's a pool table, table hockey and a Wii (I think - we didn't try it), which are great - but they've been placed arbitrarily in a soul-less room with office lighting and mismatched bits of orphaned furniture and, when we were there, a random microwave sitting in the middle of the floor. The room seemed poorly thought out given the attention that has been paid to other parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello Bearcare,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The hot tub is definitely a favourite of ours as well.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the food. We appreciate the feedback about the Chimney Corner and we will be sure to pass this feedback on to our food & beverage team.

Thanks again for sharing all of your views about the hotel and we look forward to inviting you back again soon!

All the best,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I've been skiing for 40 years and coming to this area for the same number. I've skied around the globe but this year we tried New Years Eve on the hill. It was a bit uneven at times, but overall an excellent experience.
First, one must remember this Lodge operates in a National Park, which creates unique challenges for its owner/operators/managers. The Lodge is under continuous scrutiny for its business model and its ecological impact must be managed with this in mind.This is not Verbier, Tahoe or even Whistler for that matter. It's a bit austere - don't expect a long hot shower! However, the rooms are comfortable, warm, and clean. Ski storage in the provided lockers and a boot drying area are well conceived. Logistics are very well managed and all the staff are well trained, informed and empowered to be helpful.
The mountain atmosphere in the main lodge is anchored by a huge stone wall with two gorgeous fireplaces. Ample seating, a varied menu of top quality food at good prices provides couples, singles and families alike with plenty of choices.
For our special evening, apres ski was fireside and we thoroughly enjoyed the live musician, Shane Phillip who is tremendously vesatile and talented. For dinner we took a late sitting for the fixed price offering in The Eagle's Nest dining room. It was heavily subscribed and perhaps slightly understaffed but the food was worth waiting for. Overall, we were very pleased - especially as one of our party didn't eat meat/fish and our waitress accomodated a menu selection from the a la carte menu from the adjacent restaurant. This is the kind of gracious flexibility that wins!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Good morning windsandandstars,

Thanks for sharing your experience at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge with us. We are so glad you enjoyed the closeness to the slopes and your New Year's Eve dinner at the Eagle's Nest Restaurant.

I'm glad you felt the staff was helpful as this is something we consistently strive towards.

Thanks again for choosing our resort to ring in the new year and all the best in 2014!

Cheers,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro-Brazil
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I believe we were some of the first to book for the holidays period, back in August. We were very excited and had high expectations about everything - they were all far exceed!
We had an amazing suite (I mean, amazing - it took us some good 20 minutes to believe we had that room and that view!). Room was very big, with a super king-size bed and small living room+gas fireplace. We had a nice size balcony and two sets of windows almost floor to ceilling - you couldn't believe the views!
The bathroom was also large, not huge, and had a nice jacuzzi, good pressure shower, good amenities, heated floor and good hairdryer. The bath robes were of excellent quality and you could take them to the EXCELLENT, big outdoor heated pool they have for all guests.
Food - we had the continantal breakfast every day (CAD14/Person) which had pretty much all you can imagine. We always had lunch at the coffee near front desk, serving very nice crepes and sandwiches (around CAD 7 each). At night we had dinner at their finest restaurant on Christmas eve (The Eagle's Nest) and food/service was very good - we paid CAD 120 for a 3 course meal+bottle of wine+tips. The rest of the days we had dinner at Chimney Corner, also nice food at very reasonable prices (pizzas at around CAD 15). Service was always good with very polite and friendly people from around the world.
Skiing - they have a locker room and each room is given a locker key - enough to store all gear of a small family. From there is not more than 20 steps to the snow. Leaving the lodge you are some 15 meters (50 feet) from the first lift! Skiing in Sunshine is amazing and will be review of=n a different post.
Check-in and check-out were very effective - when arriving you leave your heavy stuff on the base and it will be taken to your room within 3-4 hours. Your skiing gear will be stored directly to your locker.
The atmosphere around the lodge was always friendly and family - we don't have kids, but loved to watch them having the time of their lives there. The hotel has some night activities like snowshoe and tobogganing (Thank you Kristin for the wonderful time we had!) - all managed by very lively people!
My especial thanks for all staff who provided us with such an unforgatable experience, everyone: the check-in ladies, the spot-on house-keeping, all mountain staff and guys at the restaurants - thank you! I hope to see you all again in the future!

Room Tip: If you can, go for the suites - I saw the deluxe rooms and they are also quite nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi Chris,

Thanks so much for your review. It's so great to have visitors like you from around the world visiting our resort.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay-- we can't get over the views either and we live here!

I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and beverage facilities, your dinner at the Eagle's Nest restaurant on Christmas Eve sounds great!

The ski-in, ski-out option is something we hold near and dear to our heart's and we're so glad you had the opportunity to take advantage of our handy ski lockers and our closeness to the chairlifts.

Thanks again for your feedback and maybe we'll see you back this way again soon!

Take care,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate to be invited to a wedding at Sunshine Mountain Lodge and the setting was spectacular. Although we are not skiers, from the moment we arrived we were made to feel comfortable. The staff from top to bottom were incredibly professional and courteous and we enjoyed speaking with many of them. The wedding and reception were very well organized by the planners and the setting of course was breathtaking! Koodos to you all for a very pleasant weekend!

The best tip I received was to bring a blanket for the gondola!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hello Sydney414,

Thanks for your feedback about our hotel. We agree that the views are stunning and we're glad to hear the staff helped make your stay memorable. It's great to hear that non-skiers enjoy the mountain too.

Congrats to the newlyweds and we hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed for the week for our anniversary. Upon the arrival to the base we were allowed to park in the closer VIP lot. We were able to check right in and opted to take our luggage with us up the gondola to the lodge. We were offered the option to have our luggage brought up for us. Dress for the gondola ride cause it can be cold.
The room was nice and clean. The humidifier was a necessity. The bed and pillows were comfortable. There aren't any refrigerators in the room but you can bring dry goods to snack on during your stay.
There are several restaurants up on the hill but the dinner food selection was fairly limited which is understandable since everything has to be brought up via gondola or Sunshine Suzy.
There are more selections available for food during breakfast and lunch.
The food is reasonably priced especially for being up on hill all week. The food portions were big and we even had to split several meals.
Each guest who stays at lodge gets a complimentary locker for gear.
The ski area is truely ski in and ski out. There are several flat spots on the mountain but after going down the runs one time, you figure out where they are and adjust accordingly. The skiing area was large enough that we never waited in line for a chair lift and weren't bored after skiing the same resort for four days. The views were awesome. Taking the continental divide chairlift is a must even if you aren't a excellent skiier.
The large outdoor hot tub and indoor sauna were a big hit after long cold days skiing.
I can't say enough about how friendly the entire staff was. From the time we arrived until the time we departed, they were phenomenal. We always felt as though the staff were going out of their way to make sure everything was taken care of. The day of our departure it was too cold for the gondola to run in the morning. Since we had a flight to catch, they were more than willing to give us a ride down the mountain in Sunshine Suzy.
Thanks for a great week, wish we lived closer.

Room Tip: Watefall rooms don't have much of a view but if you're skiing all day, who needs a view. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello CJpoolsillinois,

I want to thank you for your feedback on our hotel and ski resort.

We're so glad you enjoyed the ski runs, the views and the hot tub (nothing beats a soak after a day on the slopes)!

Thanks again for taking the time to write to us.

We'd love to welcome you back again soon!

Best,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Address: One Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#12 Family Hotel in Banff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high in the Canadian Rockies in Canada’s oldest and most famous national park, this eco-boutique hotel delivers extraordinary luxury surrounded by breathtaking scenery. It is place unlike anything you have ever experienced.World-famous dining. Opulent rooms . Friendly, courteous staff. Outside, a sky so full of stars you won’t believe your eyes. And some of the best skiing you’ll ever find, just footsteps from your room. The Sunshine Mountain Lodge is the ONLY ski-in, ski-out hotel in the Mountain National Parks. It offers casual and fine dining, the area’s largest hot tub, spa services and family friendly activities. Our new West Wing offers rooms with in-floor heating, jetted tubs, large-screen LCD TVs, all in a rustic mountain theme.It’s the vacation you and your family will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunshine Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Mountain Hotel Banff
Sunshine Mountain Resort
Sunshine Village Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.